The
Library of Congress >> Especially
for Researchers >> Research
Centers
A Guide to the Microform Collections: E
Earl Warren oral history collection. -- Sanford, N.C. : Microfilming Corporation of America, 1981-1982. -- 140 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm. LC Call Number: Microfiche 83/316 Transcripts of 45 interviews conducted in two phases with persons active with Earl Warren in public life in California.LCCN: 83-175751 GUIDE: AI3.O7 No. 3, New York Times Oral History Program, Oral History Guide No. 3, p. 108. 1. Warren, Earl, 1891-1974--Friends and associates--Interviews. Early American history research reports. -- Alexandria, VA : Chadwyck-Healey, 1990-1992. -- ca. 1600 microfiches : ill., maps. LC Call Number: Microfiche 93/249 A general historical research collection about Colonial Williamsburg compiled over 60 years and divided into five major subject areas: archaeology (AK); architectural history (AR); decorative arts (DA); historic trades (TR); and history (HI). LCCN: 92-9251 GUIDE: 383, Early American History Research Reports from the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation Library: Guide to the Microfiche Collection. Individual reports are inaccessible without the printed guide which provides access to the microfiche in three ways: by report number; title; and author. Report numbers are arranged alphabetically by subject abbreviations and thereunder numerically. The title and author lists are arranged alphabetically, with cross references for multi-author titles. All the entries in the guide cite the report number, author, title, and lot number. 1. Williamsburg (Va.)--History. 2. Williamsburg (Va.)--Antiquities. 3. Architecture--Virginia--Williamsburg. 4. Decorative arts, Early American--Virginia--Williamsburg. 5. Industrial arts--Virginia--Williamsburg--History. Early American imprints, 1639-1800. -- New York : Readex Film Products, [1984]- . - - [ ] microfiches : ill. ; ll x 15 cm. LC Call Number: Microfiche 85/431 This collection, based upon Charles Evans' American Bibliography, includes more than 40,000 English language books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in the United States from 1639 through 1800. It also includes many government documents for this period and about 100 theses from Harvard University, about 40 from Yale, and several from Princeton. It does not include serials, but the publishers corrected many Evans errors and added several thousand titles not in Evans. The collection is arranged chronologically by Evans number and is continued by Early American Imprints (Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819). LCCN: 84-142517 GUIDE: Z1215.S495 (2 vols.), National Index of American Imprints through 1800: the Short Title Evans is a combined index to all the items in the collection, arranged alphabetically by main entry. Z1215.E92 (14 vols.), American Bibliography: A Chronological Dictionary... gives more complete bibliographic descriptions of many of the items in the collection. 1. United States--Imprints. Early American imprints, 1801-1819. -- New York, N.Y. : Readex Microprint Co., 1964-1982. -- ca. 50,000 microopaques: ill. ; 16 x 23 cm. LC Call Number: Microfiche 90/7049; Opaque 90/7000 This collection, based on Ralph Shaw's and Richard Shoemaker's American Bibliography, continues Early American Imprints (based on Charles Evans' bibliography) and follows the chronological arrangement and numbering sequence of the Shaw-Shoemaker bibliography. Only non-serial titles are included and the material is in English. The collection covers a wide range of subjects and types of publications including many government documents. It contains more than 50,000 titles. LCCN: 90-956074 (fiche) GUIDE: Z1215.S48 (23 v.), American Bibliography: A Preliminary Checklist for 1801-1819. (Volume 23 has LC call number: Z1215.N58 1983). Items should be requested by entry number. The first 19 volumes list the works alphabetically by main entry year by year. Volume 20 contains addenda, a list of sources, and a list of library symbols. Volume 21 lists all titles in the previous 20 volumes with few exceptions. Volume 22 contains an extensive list of corrections and an author index. Volume 23 contains a printer, publisher and bookseller index, a geographical index, and a list of omissions. 1. United States--Imprints. 2. Books on microfilm. Early American periodicals index to 1850. -- New York, N.Y. : Readex Microprint Corp., [195-]. -- 1074 microopaques ; 23 x 16 cm. LC Call Number: Opaque 84/8 A partially revised, incomplete WPA project which has separate indexes for fiction, book reviews, poetry, general prose, songs, and subjects. It covers some 350 periodicals published in the U.S. from 1730 to 1850 and, in a few cases periodicals which were published up until 1860 and 1870. Approximately 650,000 entries are included. LCCN: 84-208131 GUIDE: Not in LC. 1. Periodicals--United States--Indexes. Early British periodicals. -- Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms, [197-]-1979. -- 902 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. LC Call Number: Microfilm 05419 More than 160 periodicals published primarily in the 18th and 19th centuries. The titles were chosen because they are scarce in American libraries, and because of their value to researchers. The subjects represented are immensely varied, ranging from literature, religion and economics to slavery, folklore, and specialized areas of interest or scholarship. Researchers may also be interested in the following collections: English Literary Periodicals (Guide No. 56), The Little Magazine Collection (Guide No. 80), and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts (Guide No. 54). LCCN: 83-207046 GUIDE: 55, A Guide to the Early British Periodical Collection on Microfilm with Title, Subject, Editor and Reel Number Indexes. Provides access by title and date, editor, subject, and reel number. 1. Periodicals--Great Britain. Early English books, 1475-1640. -- Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, [1938]- . -- [1782]microfilm reels ; 35 mm. LC Call Number: Microfilm 040 Based primarily on A. W. Pollard's and G. R. Redgrave's Short Title Catalogue (STC) of books printed in England and English books printed elsewhere from the advent of printing in England in 1475 through 1640. Almost all the titles in the STC and many more not listed there will eventually be included in the completed collection. Because of the intended scope of this collection, most books are in English, but there are a number in other languages. The books cover a very wide range of subjects and include numerous ancient and medieval authors. Each reel contains several titles arranged in STC number order, but the filming has not been systematic from beginning to end. Instead, books have been filmed as they have been located in various libraries. Published guides for each unit filmed are periodically cumulated as well as the Cross-lndex from STC number to reel number. This collection is continued by Early English Books, 1641-1700. LCCN: 84-127515 GUIDE: Z2002.P7 and Z2007.P7 suppl., A Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland and of English Books Printed Abroad, 1475-1640. Microfilm reel guides. 1. English imprints. 2. Books on microfilm. INTERNET ACCESS TO THE ENGLISH SHORT TITLE CATALOGUE (ESTC): The ESTC, available through the online service EUREKA by subscription, can be used as an index and reel guide to the items in this collection. Instructions: 2) Select "Change Files" and click on ESTC. If your search brings up many entries, it is possible to limit the search to microfilm so that the reel numbers can be found more easily. 3) Once you do a search by author, title, keyword, etc. to find references to the particular items you want, click on the limit button at the top of the screen. You can limit by date ranges or can ignore the date limit and click on "Other." 4) Highlight the word "tag" in the box and type in "note." Then highlight the word "value" in the next box and type in "microfilm" to replace it. 5) Click on the "Apply Limit" button and you should arrive at a set of records which corresponds to these big microfilm sets. Note the name of the microfilm set and the specific reel number. Early English books, 1641-1700. -- Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, [1961]- . -- [ ] microfilm reels ; 35 mm. LC Call Number: Microfilm 05018 Based on Donald G. Wing's A Short Title Catalogue from which selected titles are filmed. A number of new titles reported since the bibliography was published are also to be included. Titles are not filmed in Wing number order, but are filmed as they are located in various libraries. This collection covers a wide range of subjects, primarily in English, but also includes some books in other languages. Published guides and cross-indexes from Wing number to reel number for each unit filmed are periodically cumulated. The collection is a continuation of Early English Books, 1475-1640.LCCN: 89-894010 GUIDE: Z2002.U586 1981, Accessing Early English Books, 1641-1700; also, Z2002.W5, A Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British America, and of English Books Printed in Other Countries, 1641-1700. NOTE: This collection partially duplicates the Thomason Tracts collection; guides to the Thomason Tracts include a cross-index from Wing number to Thomason tract number. 1. English imprints. 2. Books on microfilm. INTERNET ACCESS TO THE ENGLISH SHORT TITLE CATALOGUE (ESTC): The ESTC, available through the online service EUREKA by subscription, can be used as an index and reel guide to the items in this collection. Instructions: 2) Select "Change Files" and click on ESTC. If your search brings up many entries, it is possible to limit the search to microfilm so that the reel numbers can be found more easily. 3) Once you do a search by author, title, keyword, etc. to find references to the particular items you want, click on the limit button at the top of the screen. You can limit by date ranges or can ignore the date limit and click on "Other." 4) Highlight the word "tag" in the box and type in "note." Then highlight the word "value" in the next box and type in "microfilm" to replace it. 5) Click on the "Apply Limit" button and you should arrive at a set of records which corresponds to these big microfilm sets. Note the name of the microfilm set and the specific reel number. The early letters and classified papers, 1660-1740 : from the Archives of the Royal Society.-- Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1990.---23 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. LC Call Number: Microfilm 95/4349 Included among the early letters are a large number of letters to the Society from its English and foreign correspondents. In addition to news, these letters provide information, observations, discoveries, and reflections on work by scientists in other areas. The classified papers provide information on more substantial contributions and scientific projects. GUIDE: 419. The guide provides an author index and reel guide. 1. Science--Great Britain--History--17th Century--Sources. 2. Science--Great Britain--History--18th Century--Sources. 3. Scientists--Great Britain--Correspondence. Early photographs from Egypt, 1880-1910 / Allard Pierson Museum Archive, Amsterdam. -- Leiden, Netherlands : Inter Documentation Co, 1988. -- 13 microfiches ; ill. LC Call Number: Microfiche 94-2125 Contains 534 photographs of Egypt and 48 of Greece and Turkey, all made from glass plates in the Allard Pierson Archive in Amsterdam. Although a few are damaged, most are of excellent quality and are annotated for subject, place, date, and occasionally also for time of day and developing process. LCCN: 93-630182 GUIDE: 332, Early Photographs from Egypt: 1880-1910. Lists all photographs and gives a one or two line description. 1. Egypt--Antiquities--Pictorial works. 2. Monuments-- Egypt--Pictorial works. 3. Architecture, Egyptian--Pictorial works. 4. Egypt--Social life and customs--Pictorial works. 5. Botany--Egypt--Pictorial works. 6. Zoology--Egypt--Pictorial works. Early printed Bibles : printed Bibles and Bible translations in the 15th and 16th centuries on microfiche / editors, Fritz Bsser and Christoph Weichert. -- Leiden, Netherlands : Inter Documentation Co, c1988-[c1994]. -- [2962] microfiches LC Call Number: Microfiche 94/2140 A comprehensive collection of 300 published Bibles and Bible translations from the 15th and 16th centuries, containing all significant editions of the complete Bible as well as the Old and the New Testaments separately. These Bibles are in original languages, including editions of the Hebrew Bible, the Septuagint, and the Vulgate, not only in the transmitted versions but also in the forms which humanists and reformers revised or published new editions. All major translations in modern European languages are also included, encompassing the authorized translations as well as those made by dissenters. This collection is noteworthy for those interested in the history of printing, the formation of European languages and the confessional diversity of the 16th and 17th centuries. Full bibliographic information is provided for each item. LCCN: 92-953056 GUIDE: 340, Early Printed Bibles. Printed Bibles and Bible Translations in the 15th and 16th Centuries on Microfiche. 1. Bible. 2. Bible--Versions. 3. Bible--Translating. Early Quaker writings from the library of the Society of Friends, 1650-1750.-- London : World Microfilms Publications in association with the Society of Friends, c1977. -- 25 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. LC Call Number: Microfilm 83/134 For description, see Early Quaker writings, second series, 17th century, Microfilm 83/134. (83-169360) LCCN: 83-166905 Early Quaker writings, second series, 17th century. -- London : World Microfilms Publications, 1978, c1979. -- 10 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. LC Call Number: Microfilm 83/134 A collection of printed notes in their original pamphlet form by many of the leading 17th century Quakers. The original manuscripts and printed versions of them are both extremely rare. LCCN: 83-169360 GUIDE: 67, Early Quaker Writings and Early Quaker Writings--Second Series. Two parts that list contents by reel. 1. Society of Friends. Early science fiction novels / Thomas Clareson, editor. -- Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1985. -- 382 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm. LC Call Number: Microfiche 85/232 Consists of ninety-eight science fiction novels published from the 1870s to the 1930s. The titles selected were drawn from two books edited by Thomas Clareson: Science Fiction in America, 1870s-1930s: An Annotated Bibliography of Primary Sources and Some Kind of Paradise: The Emergence of American Science Fiction. Both British and American titles are included. LCCN: 85-890045 GUIDE: 100, Early Science Fiction Novels: A Microfiche Collection. Consists of a catalog, with indexes by title, chronology, and by motif (e.g., "Lost Race," "Future War"). 1. Science fiction, American. 2. Science fiction, English. East St. Louis race riot of 1917 / Elliot Rudwick, editor. -- Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1985. -- 8 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. LC Call Number: Microfilm 85/270 Transcripts of congressional hearings by a House select committee following the outbreak of racial violence on July 2, 1917 in East St. Louis, Illinois in one of the most significant, deadly riots in U.S. history. Also included is the transcript of the criminal conspiracy trial of Dr. LeRoy Bundy, as well as other reports, records, and some photographs relevant to the riot. The hearings are arranged chronologically, preceded by a handwritten index of subjects and persons. LCCN: 86-893392 GUIDE: 105-82, A Guide to the East St. Louis Race Riot of 1917. 1. Riots--Illinois--East St. Louis. 2. East St. Louis (Ill.)--Race relations. 3. East St. Louis (Ill.)--History. Edgar Cayce readings. -- [Virginia Beach?] : Edgar Cayce Foundation, c1971-c1993. -- 379 microfiches : negative. LC Call Number: Microfiche 93/483 Transcripts of thousands of telepathic-clairvoyant readings by Edgar Cayce, the largest collection of psychically received data ever obtained from one man. The most frequent topic in the readings is physical illness, its diagnosis and treatment, but numerous other topics are also covered. Each reading is assigned a number representing the person for whom the reading was given and the reading's place in the sequence of that person's readings. Each reading is preceded by a brief index of topics covered.LCCN: 93-630307 GUIDE: Not in LC. 1. Parapsychology. 2. Psychics. Edgar Cayce readings. -- [Virginia Beach, Va.?] : Edgar Cayce Foundation, c1971. -- 36 microfilm reels : negative. LC Call Number: Microfilm 90/8023 For description see: Edgar Cayce Readings, Microfiche 93/483 (LCCN 93-630307). LCCN: 84-253469 1. Parapsychology. 2. Psychics. Educational reform in Japan, 1945-52. -- [California, MD] : Congressional Information Service ; [Tokyo, Japan] : Maruzen Co, [c1990-]. -- [461] microfiches : negative. LC Call Number: Microfiche 94/2129 Consists of selected U.S., Japanese, and Allied Nations documents that record the planning and implementation of educational reforms during the occupation of Japan. LCCN: 93-630115 GUIDE: Z5814.H57 E38 1990 pt. 1, Educational Reform in Japan, 1945-1952: Part 1. 1. Educational change--Japan--History--20th century--Sources. 2. Education--Japan--American influences--History--20th century--Sources. 3. Japan--History--Allied occupation, 1945-1952--Sources. Educational Resources Information Center : ERIC educational documents : Ed series ED 1-. -- Alexandria, Va. -- ca. [200,000] microfiches : negative ; 11 x 15 cm. LC Call Number: Microfiche 1007 More than 130,000 documents compiled under the aegis of the federal government by 16 clearinghouses in universities and professional organizations relating to career education, early childhood education, educational management, higher education, science, mathematics and environmental education, social studies and social science education, teacher education, urban education, counseling and personnel services, handicapped and gifted children, information resources, junior colleges, reading and communication skills, rural education and small schools, tests, measurement and evaluation, and languages and linguistics. LCCN: (No Library of Congress Online Catalog entry) GUIDE: Z5814.R4 C6, Resources in Education (RIE) is a monthly index, annually cumulated, with access by author, subject, and institution, which also provides abstracts for each document. See also the CD-ROM version. The Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors aids subject searching. Documents should be requested by the number which begins "ED." 1. Education--United States. Ehrensaft collection of Nigeriana. -- Chicago : Dept. of Photoduplication, University of Chicago Library, 1970. -- 7 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. LC Call Number: Microfilm 40823 A collection of Nigerian government documents from the late 1960s that includes selected bibliographies, economic reports, reports of tribunals of inquiry, etc. LCCN: 84-137100 GUIDE: Not in LC. 1. Nigeria--Politics and government--1960-1975. The Eighteenth century. -- Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, [1982]- . -- [ ] microfilm reels : ill. ; 35 mm. LC Call Number: Microfilm (o) 83/400 Based on the British Library's Eighteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) this collection (upon completion) will consist of approximately 200,000 titles selected from the 500,000 titles printed in Great Britain and its colonies or printed in English anywhere else in the world from 1701-1800. In addition, the collection contains a number of books by authors in languages other than English. It covers a wide variety of literary, historical, scientific, religious, military, and other subjects. As of this writing, the Library has nearly 6,500 reels. LCCN: 89-894004 GUIDE: 52, The Eighteenth Century: Guide to the Microfilm Collection. 1. English imprints. INTERNET ACCESS TO THE ENGLISH SHORT TITLE CATALOGUE (ESTC): The ESTC, available through the online service EUREKA by subscription, can be used as an index and reel guide to the items in this collection. Instructions: 2) Select "Change Files" and click on ESTC. If your search brings up many entries, it is possible to limit the search to microfilm so that the reel numbers can be found more easily. 3) Once you do a search by author, title, keyword, etc. to find references to the particular items you want, click on the limit button at the top of the screen. You can limit by date ranges or can ignore the date limit and click on "Other." 4) Highlight the word "tag" in the box and type in "note." Then highlight the word "value" in the next box and type in "microfilm" to replace it. 5) Click on the "Apply Limit" button and you should arrive at a set of records which corresponds to these big microfilm sets. Note the name of the microfilm set and the specific reel number. Eighteenth century short title catalogue / R. C. Alston, editor. -- London : British Library Reference Division, 1983. -- 113 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm. LC Call Number: Microfiche (w) 85/801 A listing of the 18th century imprints in the British Library. Entries are arranged by author (personal, corporate, or pseudonymous), with separate indexes by date of publication, by place of publication, and by five specific genres: almanacs, directories, single sheet songs and ballads, prospectuses, and advertisements. (These indexes are the most useful feature of this catalog, as they provide avenues of access to 18th century materials not available through the full Eighteenth Century Short Title Catalogue catalog.) LCCN: 85-113276 GUIDE: Not in LC. 1. Bibliography--Early works to 1800--Microform catalogs. Einstein, Albert. See: Einstein's collected writings Einstein's collected writings. -- New York : Readex Microprint, 1960. -- 185 microopaques ; 15 x 23 cm. LC Call Number: Opaque 84/1 A collected edition of over 600 of Einstein's works, published 1901-1956, done with the approval and assistance of Einstein's estate. The collection, limited to materials actually in print, was made as inclusive as possible at the time to include anything that Einstein ever published under his name regardless of period, language, country of original publication, and form of publication (book, journal, newspaper, etc.). The collection is divided into three parts: a) scientific writings, b) general writings, c) selected interviews. His original publications in German, English, and French are practically complete. Of the translations of his writings only those in German, English, and French are included. The collected material, however, also includes items in Spanish, Hebrew, Dutch, Italian, and Japanese. LCCN: 84-109013 GUIDE: Z8258.46 .B6, A Bibliographical Checklist and Index to the Collected Writings of Albert Einstein. 1. Einstein, Albert, 1879-1955. El Salvador : the making of U.S. policy, 1977-1984. -- Alexandria, VA : Chadwyck-Healey Inc ; [Washington, D.C.] : The National Security Archive, 1989. -- 870 microfiches. LC Call Number: Microfiche 90/7079 This set of documents focuses on United States policy towards El Salvador from the Carter Administration's formation of a new Central American policy in January 1977 through the Salvadoran Presidential elections of May 1984 that brought Napoleon Duarte to power. Major events in the period include: the military coup of October 1979; the agrarian reform efforts launched in 1980 and 1981; significant labor and peasant protest followed by a growing number of guerrilla actions by leftist organizations; a series of political slayings widely attributed to government affiliated forces including those of Archbishop Oscar Romero, The Democratic Revolutionary Front (FDR), four American churchwomen, and three land reform proponents. LCCN: 90-956118 GUIDE: E183.8 .S2 S25 1989, 2 v. El Salvador : the Making of U.S. Policy, 1977-1984. 1. El Salvador--Foreign relations--United States--1979-1992. 2. United States--Foreign relations--El Salvador--1977-1981. 3. United States--Foreign relations--1981-1989. El Salvador : war, peace, and human rights, 1980-1994-- Alexandria, Va. : Chadwyck-Healey, Inc. ; [Washington, D.C.] : National Security Archive, 1996. 220 microfiche. LC Call Number: 97/44 This collection consists of 1,384 U.S. intelligence, defense and diplomatic records, released by the Clinton Administration in November 1993 and August1994, concerning El Salvador during its civil war. The documents in the set date from 1978 to 1994, and chart the complete course of Washington's role in the war. Included among the most significant items in the collection are: NSC meeting minutes and position papers from the Carter Administration and early Reagan years; field reports from the CIA station in El Salvador on human rights, death squad activities, and the extreme right wing; and the 1981 "Women Report," an assessment of the Salvadoran armed forces by Gen. Fred F. Woener which became a blueprint for U.S. military involvement in El Salvador throughout the war. These documents serve as a crucial sequel to the National Security Archive's first collection, El Salvador : the making of U.S. Policy, 1977-1984. LCCN: 97-167584 GUIDE: 445, El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980-1994: Guide and Index. 1. El Salvador--History--1979-1992--Sources. 2. El Salvador -- History -- 1992- -- Sources. 3. El Salvador--Foreign relations--United States--Sources. 4. United States--Foreign relations--El Salvador--Sources. 5. Human rights--El Salvador--History--Sources. EMI-Pathe film library card catalogue to 75 years
of newsreels (1896-1970). -- London : World
Microfilm Publications, 1982. -- 56 microfilm reels ; 16 mm. LC Call Number: Microfilm 83/142 Consists of a card catalog to seventy-five years of newsreels, 1896-1970. The cards are filed by subject. There are nearly 200,000 cards, each with a description and title of the item (newsreel or motion picture), representing in all some fifty million feet of film. LCCN: 83-182468 GUIDE: Not in LC. 1. Newsreels--Catalogs. English literary periodicals. -- Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms, 1951-[1977]. -- 969 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. LC Call Number: Microfilm 01105 More than 340 titles published in England, Ireland and Scotland, 1681-1914. Literary reviews and miscellanies predominate, but also included are essays, book reviews, poetry, serialized fiction, and articles on contemporary subjects. Theatrical, humorous, political, religious, and women's magazines are also represented. Among the authors and editors are Defoe, Steele, Addison, Swift, Fielding, Johnson, Burke, Smollett, Coleridge, George Eliot, Dickens, Thackeray, the Rossettis, J. S. Mill, Hunt, C. Clarke, and Tennyson. Famous journal titles include the Tatler, the Spectator, the Guardian, the Rambler, the Monthly Review, Lloyd's Magazine, and the New London Magazine.LCCN: 83-205590 GUIDE: 56, Accessing English Periodicals. The title index includes a brief description of each title's contents and history, and reel numbers assigned to each year of issue. Related reference works: Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, A13.P7 1938, indexes 25 of the titles in this collection; The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, AI3 .W45, indexes 13 titles; also see English Literary Periodicals, PN5124.P4 G73; and Victorian Periodicals. A Guide to Research, PN5124.P4 V5. 1. English literature--18th century--Periodicals. 2. English literature--19th century--Periodicals. 3. Irish literature-- Periodicals. 4. Scottish literature--l8th century--Periodicals. 5. Scottish literature--19th century--Periodicals. Ethiopica on microfiche. Leiden, The Netherlands : IDC, {1993?}. 1,432 microfiches : ill., maps. LC Call Number: Microfiche 98/19 A collection of 183 important titles on Ethiopia, in some cases also covering Somalia, the Horn of Africa generally, or Eastern Africa as a whole, in such categories as travel, history, and literature and language. The majority of titles are from the 19th century, but some date as far back as the 16th century. The texts are in English, French, German, Italian, or Latin. LCCN: 97-198972 GUIDE: 458, Ethiopica on Microfiche, lists volumes by subject category, with an author index. 1. Ethiopia. 2. Somalia. 3. Africa, Northeast. 4. Africa, Eastern. Europaische Beitrage zur Geschichte des Weltkrieges II, 1939-1945 : Luftkrieg (European contributions to the history of World War II, 1939-1945: air war) / Hans Detlef Herhudt von Rohden, editor. -- Fourteen volumes; see notes in LC card in MicRR card catalog, under "Europaische Beitrage..." -- n.p. : 1946- . -- 13 microfilm reels ; 55 microfilm reels. LC Call Number: Microfilm 1750 Describes the Luftwaffe's participation in World War II. The collection is of unusual importance because most Luftwaffe documents were destroyed before Germany's defeat, and the original documents (commonly called the "von Rohden collection") were returned to West Germany in 1967. They have been difficult to access by American scholars since then. These films contain unique documents, especially after reel 13 of the document section. LCCN: mic55-3119 GUIDE: Not in LC. "Die Entwicklung des Projekts R" is on a separate reel. 1. Germany. Luftwaffe--History--Sources. 2. World War, 1939-1945--Aerial operations, German--Sources. Europe, 1946-1976 (CIA research reports) / Paul Kesaris, editor. -- Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1982. -- 4 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. LC Call Number: Microfilm 86/215 Includes CIA memos and reports about current events in Europe between 1946 and 1976. Of special interest are the biographical reports of prominent Europeans of that era which might provide information difficult to obtain elsewhere. LCCN: 86-893448 GUIDE: 105-72, CIA Research Reports. Europe, 1946-1976. Provides a detailed index by country, title, and subject. 1. Europe--History--1945- --Sources. 2. Europe--Biography-- Sources. Europe, 1950-1961 supplement (O.S.S./State Department intelligence and research reports) / Paul Kesaris, editor. -- Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1980. -- 11 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. LC Call Number: Microfilm 86/2096 Contains reports dealing with both Eastern and Western Europe. LCCN: 86-892231 GUIDE: 105-25, A Guide to OSS/State Department Intelligence and Research Reports. X. Europe 1950-1961: Supplement. Provides a subject and country index as well as a reel by reel listing of contents. 1. Europe. 2. Europe, Eastern. Europe and NATO : special studies, 1970-1980 / Paul Kesaris, editor. -- Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1982. -- 11 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. LC Call Number: Microfilm 86/2017 A compilation of reports from a wide variety of sources (including JPRS, the Rand Corporation, the Army and Navy War Colleges, the General Accounting Office, and the Library of Congress), concerning East and West Europe. LCCN: 86-892124 GUIDE: 105-60, Europe and NATO: Special Studies, 1970-1980. Provides a detailed listing by country and title as well as a subject index. 1. Europe. 2. Europe, Eastern. 3. North Atlantic Treaty Organization--Europe. Europe and NATO : special studies, 1980-1985 / [edited by Michael Davis]. -- Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, c1986. -- 12 microfilm reels ; 35 mm . LC Call Number: Microfilm 89/160 Reports from both public and private sources (RAND Corporation, Control Data Corporation, BDM Corporation, Naval Postgraduate School, Army War College, Army Command and General Staff College, and others), published from 1980 to 1985, that focus on public policy issues within and among the member states of NATO. A smaller portion of the reports deal with "nonaligned" and Warsaw Pact countries. LCCN: 89-894133 GUIDE: 105-60B, A Guide to Europe and NATO: Special Studies, 1980-1985. Summarizes each report and offers a subject index to the documents. 1. North Atlantic Treaty Organization. Europe and NATO : special studies, 1985-1988 : supplement. -- Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1989. -- 8 microfilm reels : 35 mm. LC Call Number: Microfilm 95/4550 For description, see earlier titles in this series. LCCN: 91-10036 GUIDE: 370, A Guide to the Microfilm Edition of Europe and NATO. 1. North Atlantic Treaty Organization. 2. United States--Military relations--Europe. 3. Europe--Military relations--United States. Europe and NATO : special studies, 1989-1991 : supplement. -- Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1992. -- 10 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. LC Call Number: Microfilm 95/4544 For description, see earlier titles in this series. LCCN: 93-21855 GUIDE: 363, A Guide to the Microfilm Edition of Europe and NATO. 1. North Atlantic Treaty Organization. 2. United States--Military relations--Europe. 3. Europe--Military relations--United States. European contributions to the history of World War II, 1939-1945 : The war in the air. See: Europaische Beitrage zur Geschchte des Weltkrieges II, 1939-1945. Evangelical academies and lay training centers of Europe and Great Britain / A. T. DeGroot, editor and compiler. -- Peoria, Ariz. : Ecumenism Research Agency, 196- . -- 11 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. LC Call Number: Microfilm (o) 83/312 One part of a series of collections that reproduce materials in English and several other languages, including historical sketches, conference programs, announcements, bulletins, study guides, and other representative publications concerning the 20th century worldwide ecumenical movement, its organizations, activities, publications, and records, as well as similar materials from a wide range of denominations and churches. This particular collection includes materials from academies and lay training centers in Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, and Switzerland. LCCN: 85-891180 Guide: 96, [Ecumenism Research Agency Collections]. Compiled by MicRR staff from indexes on microfilm reels. 1. Ecumenical movement--Europe. 2. Ecumenical movement--Great Britain Extracts from China mainland press publications (magazines). (24 April 1962 - ) --Hong Kong: American Consulate General, [1962]-.--On film:[24 April 1962-August 1964] For a description see Survey of People's Republic of China Press. LCCN: (No Library of Congress Online Catalog entry) |
|
 Top
of Page
|
| The
Library of Congress >> Especially
for Researchers >> Research
Centers August 15, 2003 |
Contact
Us: Ask a Librarian |