Research Databases
Subscription Databases
American Fisheries Society Journals Online/Fisheries InfoBase
Access: Restricted to participating USACE Districts.
Coverage: 1970-current
Format: Full-text available
Content: AFS Journals Online plus access to the AFS Journals Archive.
Army Libraries Reference Center (via AKO)
Access: Requires AKO username and password.
Coverage: Varies for each title
Format: Full-text available
Content: Use your Army Knowledge Online (AKO) password to access dozens of full-text databases and reference resources.
ASCE Online Journals
Access: Restricted to participating USACE Districts.
Coverage: Varies for each title, abstracts
Format: Full-text available
Content: The American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) online journal collection includes access to 30 titles published by the ASCE. All journal articles are presented in PDF format and may be browsed or searched, either individually or collectively.
ASCE Civil Engineering Database
Access: Open Access
Coverage: 1973-current
Format: Some full text, abstracts
Content: This database is an additional feature of ASCE Online Journals. It covers ASCE documents published since 1970 and provides access to over 80,000 bibliographic and abstracted records of all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers.
DENIX Defense Environmental Network and Information Exchange)
Access: Restricted to DOD. First-time users must register.
Coverage: Varies for each title and database
Format: Full-text available
Content: Provides full-text access to a number of government publications and databases, including annual reports to congress, environmental publications, and more.
FirstSearch Database (OCLC)
Content: FirstSearch is a collection of electronic databases and indexes from OCLC which can be used to locate books, periodical and newspaper articles, theses, films, computer software, recordings, and other types of material on a wide variety of topics. Please contact your local library staff for access to this valuable resource.
IHS Specs & Standards, CatalogXpress
Access: No password required. Restricted to USACE. Choose Non-Government Standards on dropdown list under Corps logo.
Content: This USACE-wide initiative provides limited access to non-government standards and commercial catalogs, including ASTM, DOD, ASME and others.
JSTOR: The scholarly journal archive. JSTOR is not a current issues database.
Access: Restricted to participating Districts.
Coverage: Archival. From 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
Format: Full-text available
Content: Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR., databases and conference proceedings all searchable from one interface.
Knovel Research Library;
Access: Restricted to participating USACE Districts.
Content: Full-text reference materials from multiple publishers including McGraw-Hill, Wiley, Springer and Elsevier. The package includes books, databases and conference proceedings all searchable from one interface.
Web of Knowledge
Access: No password required. Restricted to participating USACE Districts.
Format: Full-text available
Content: This USACE-wide subscription includes access to three databases: Web of Science (Science Citation Index Expanded 1998-Present), Journal Citation Reports (Science Edition 2003-2005), and Current Contents Connect. The CCC database delivers up-to-date information and full-text articles in engineering, computer technology, biology, life sciences, physical, chemical and earth sciences, agriculture and environmental sciences as well as electronics and telecommunications.
Public Databases
Construction Criteria Base Online
Content: CCB is an extensive electronic library of construction guide specifications, manuals, standards and many other essential criteria documents, published on the Internet by the non-profit National Institute of Building Sciences (NIBS).
NSSN Standards Database
Content: NSSN, the National Resource for Global Standards, is an outstanding open web resource for locating standards from around the world. It contains some 250,000 references to standards from over 600 national, foreign, regional and international bodies worldwide including ISO, IEC, ASME, SAE, ASTM, ANSI, DIN, JIS, CSA, CGSB, and many more.
WorldCat
Content: WorldCat is the largest library network in the world. It helps you find items in libraries that you can borrow via your District Library. It is a great place to start your search for any information. At the heart of WorldCat is a database of information about the things libraries own that is constantly updated by information professionals. Whether you're searching for something yourself or a librarian is working on your behalf, WorldCat makes it easier to find and obtain reliable, validated information.
PERIODICAL DATABASES (good sources for article citations)
Find Articles
Ingenta
AGRICOLA
U.S. GOVERNMENT DATABASES
DOE Information Bridge - This database provides full-text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.
Defense Technical Information Center - Indexes and abstracts unclassified scientific and technical reports available from the Defense Technical Information Center. Unclassified and unlimited distribution index available.
EPA Publications Database - This database includes access to bibliographic information and publications, many which are available in full-text.
Flood Hazard Mapping - FEMA - A part of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration's Hazard Mapping Division maintains and updates the National Flood Insurance Program maps.
Forest Service Publications, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture - This online resource provides access to publications of each Forest Service unit. Some of these publications are available in full-text.
GrayLit Network: a Science Portal of Technical Reports - "The GrayLIT Network is the world's most comprehensive portal to Federal gray literature. By offering a mode of communication for this hard-to-find class of literature, the GrayLIT Network enables convenient access by the American public to government information."
Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (MUTCD) - This Web site is devoted to information about the Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (MUTCD). The MUTCD contains standards for traffic control devices that regulate, warn, and guide road users along the highways and byways in all 50 States. Traffic control devices are important because they optimize traffic performance, promote uniformity nationwide, and help improve safety by reducing the number and severity of traffic crashes.
NIST Data Gateway - Provides access to NIST scientific and technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. The Gateway includes links to selected free online NIST databases as well as to information on NIST databases available for purchase.
NOAA: National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration - NOAA, which is part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, has responsibility for managing coastal and ocean resources in addition to providing weather information.
National Climatic Data Center - Access the "world's largest active archive of weather data" at this web site.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) - This database provides access to information products in all formats from Federal agencies available for purchase. The database indexes the titles of Federal technical reports added since 1990.
PLANTS Database - Maintained by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Includes names, checklists, automated tools, identification information, species abstracts, distributional data, crop information, plant symbols, plant growth data, plant materials information, plant links, references, and other plant information.
STINFO (Scientific and Technical Information Network) - STINET provides access to all unclassified, unlimited citations to documents added into DTIC from late December 1974 to present. There are also full-text versions of all unclassified, unlimited documents recently added into DTIC technical reports collection from September 1998 up to the present.
Science.gov - "Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results."
USGS Water Resources Reports Online USGS reports on water resources including Circulars, Digital Data Series, Fact Sheets, Open-File Reports, Hydrologic Atlases, Professional Papers, Scientific Investigation Reports, Water Data Reports, and Water Resources Investigation Reports.
Water Data Storage and Retrieval System (WATSTORE) - "WATSTORE consists of several files in which water data are grouped and stored by common characteristics and data-collection frequencies. Files are maintained for the storage of (1) surface-water, quality-of-water, and ground-water data measured daily or more frequently, (2) annual peak values and peaks above a base flow for streamflow stations, (3) chemical analyses for surface- and ground-water sites, (4) geologic and inventory data for ground- water sites, and (5) water use summary data."