Databases

Physiotherapy Choices provides a user-friendly interface for the Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro).  Designed for use by consumers of physiotherapy services, Physiotherapy Choices contains references to selected clinical trials, reviews, and guidelines that have summaries in "plain English."  It is an initiative of the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, which is based at The George Institute for Global Health.

The world's largest database on reproductive health, POPLINE provides nearly 370,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, books, and both published and unpublished reports. Subject coverage includes population law and policy, family planning methods and programs, fertility, health communication, STDs, and more.  An excellent source of demographic and public health information, especially for developing countries.  Searches can be limited to peer-reviewed journal articles; some free, full-text documents are provided.  POPLINE is maintained by the K4Health Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded primarily by the United States Agency for International Development.

An open-access repository for scientific protocols, focused on biological and biomedical research.  Users can search the protocols by keyword or browse by subject, date, publication type, and other criteria.  Protocols are posted directly by their authors; many, but not all, are peer-reviewed.  Protocol Exchange is sponsored by the Nature Publishing Group, and some of the protocols deposited there are eventually accepted for publication in Nature Protocols.

PsycBITE (Psychological Database for Brain Impairment Treatment Efficacy) was developed to help clinicians quickly identify, evaluate, and implement evidence-based interventions for psychological issues experienced by people with acquired brain impairment.  It indexes systematic reviews, clinical trials, case series, and single participant designs.  These studies are rated for the quality of their methodology.  PsycBITE contains 3,100 citations, some with abstracts, but no full-text articles. 

Provides 550 full-text publications, including more than 400 that are also indexed by PsycINFO.  Almost all are peer-reviewed. This database covers subjects such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, observational and experimental methods, mental processes, and anthropology. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection, dating back to the 1940s.

This research database from the American Psychological Association provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments, as well as descriptive information about the tests and their development and administration. More than 2,400 tests are described, dating from 1910 to the present, and 75% of the records include the actual test instrument.  Both commercial and non-commercial instruments are included, with a permission field to indicate whether or not permission is required for use.  PsycTESTS is updated monthly.

This subset is designed to limit PubMed search results to citations from a broad spectrum of dietary supplement literature including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition and animal models.  The  Dietary Supplement Subset is a collaboration between the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements and the National Library of Medicine.  It replaced the International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database.