A Guide to the Microform Collections: V

Vergiliana collection. -- Elmsford, N.Y. : Pergamon Press, 1980- . -- [10] microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 86/2497

Only part 6 is available, consisting of about 400 pamphlets (commentaries, papers, and bibliographies) relating to Vergil's major and minor works. Filmed from holdings of Phillips Academy, Andover Mass.

LCCN: 86-894262

GUIDE: 112, [The Virgiliana] Divided into six sections: a) Bucolics, Georgics, the Aeniad; b) Minor poems; c) Scholen, Donatus, Servius, and Minor Works; d) Explanatory Works, Erklarungen, Questiones Virgiliana: Bibliography; e) Virgil in relation to others; and f) Miscellaneous pamphlets.

Each of these sections lists authors and titles of the microfilmed pamphlets for that subject area; the pamphlets themselves are in the range of European languages.

For a work that is designated in the guide as appearing on "reel 194 - B14," all that is necessary for retrieval is the reel number.

1. Virgilius Publius, Maro--Criticism and interpretation.

Verhandlungen. Stenographische Berichte. -- Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, 1971- . [187] microfilm reels ; 35 mm. On film: General Register (1867-1895), 1871-1918. -- Microfiche. Washington, D.C. : Microcard Editions, 1963- . [ca. 2,800] microfiches; 8 x 13 cm. On film: 1881-1933.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 30425

Roughly equivalent to the Congressional Record and the Serial Set in one, this title began in March 1871 and ran through 1933. It is the collected edition of proceedings issued daily during each legislative session of the body which succeeded the Reichstag of the North German Confederation. Each session's debates ("Stenographische Berichte," including question and answer periods and plenary decisions) are accompanied by supplementary volumes with the title "Anlagen." These include legislative bills, reports of committees and party groups, formal inquiries and responses, etc. Most of the Anlagen are numbered with the main volumes (1887-1889/90 also carry separate numbers; 1890/91-1905/06 are numbered separately only). Volumes for 1907-1933 are called volumes 227-458, in a continuous numbering scheme originating with proceedings of parliamentary bodies antedating the German Reichstag, and including both the debates and volumes supplementary to the debates. Volumes 326-458 (1919-1933) relate essentially to the Weimar Republic, and include proceedings of the National Constituent Assembly (volumes 326-343, 1919-1920) which wrote the Weimar constitution.

GUIDE: 90, [Germany. Legislative Publications, March 1871-1933] Describes this and related holdings in the Microform Reading Room. Arranged by volume and year.

1. Germany--Politics and government--1871-1933.

Vietnam and Southeast Asia, 1946-1976 / Paul Kesaris, editor. -- Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1982. -- 7 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 86/214

Reports of a very broad scope, including foreign policy of the U.S. and other countries, activities of individuals and groups, specific battles, specific policies, biographies, prisoners of war, activities in specific provinces, and organization of governments and military organizations. (For guide description, see next entry)

LCCN: 86-893447

GUIDE: 105-66a, CIA Research Reports, Vietnam and Southeast Asia, 1946-1976.

Vietnam and Southeast Asia. Supplement / Robert E. Lester, editor. -- Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1987. -- 6 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 86/214

Reproduces memos, intelligence estimates, status reports, cables, reports, and messages of the Central Intelligence Agency, dealing with very specific events in the conflicts in Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos from 1949 (dealing with developments in French Indochina) through 1979 (concerning U.S. POWs and MIAs). These are excellent source materials for detailed study of the Vietnam War. Most of the items are only a few pages in length. A source note in the guide explains that the items in this collection are copies of declassified/sanitized texts, acquired from the Information and Privacy Division of the Central Intelligence Agency under provisions of the Freedom of Information Act.

LCCN: 87-10395

GUIDE: 105-66a and 105-66b, CIA research reports. Vietnam and Southeast Asia. Lists documents chronologically with brief descriptions of each document, indicating also the length of each document. The subject indexes at the end of each guide provide additional access to the documents.

1. United States--Foreign relations--Vietnam. 2. Vietnamese Conflict, 1961- 1975.

Vietnam and Southeast Asia : special studies, 1960-1980 / Paul Kesaris, editor. -- Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1982. -- 13 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 86/2009

Reproduces reports of U.S. government officials, from the Headquarters of the U.S. Army in Vietnam, and private and public research institutes and agencies. Many of the reports deal specifically with military aspects of the Vietnam conflict, while others focus on the historical background to political events in the area. A few deal with the impact of the Vietnam War on the American public and the American political scene in general. The reports are dated from 1967 to 1980, and vary in length from 15 to 482 pages.

LCCN: 86-892118

GUIDE: 105-52, Vietnam and Southeast Asia, 1960-1980. Entries in the guide contain abstracts summarizing the contents of individual items; there is also a subject index to the reports.

1. Vietnamese Conflict, 1961-1975--Sources. 2. United States--Armed Forces-- Foreign service--Vietnam--Sources.

Voice of America [Scripts]. -- [Washington, D.C.] : Voice of America, [195-?]- . -- [ ] v. -- Microfilm. [Washington, D.C.] : Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, [1974-1976]. -- [ ] microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 01769

English transcripts of all radio broadcast scripts available to the Library of Congress from the U.S. Information Agency, from 1953 on. Subjects of broadcasts include news and news analysis, American culture, reviews of literature, arts, and entertainment, reports on music and musicians, excerpts from magazines, reports on scientific developments and new consumer products, religion, labor, sports, health, and agriculture.

GUIDE: 82, [Voice of America: English Transcipts of Daily Broadcasts]. Lists titles of program series being broadcast in 1980. Each year begins with an index, arranged by program title, which gives short titles of each segment broadcast, in chronological order. The transcripts are arranged in the same order (by program, then chronologically).

1. Voice of America.

Voices from Ellis Island : an oral history of American immigration : a project of the Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation. -- Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1987. -- 185 microfiches : negative.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 91/7049

Transcriptions of interviews with 185 individuals, the majority of whom were immigrants sometime between 1904 and 1929. Other interviewees include former Ellis Island employees. Major facets of the immigrant experience are described. They include life in the country of origin, travel conditions during the voyage, the immigration process upon arrival in the U.S., and settlement and assimilation in America.

Request by fiche number.

NOTE: A microfilm edition of this collection (Microfilm 20,741) is available in the Manuscript Division.

LCCN: 91-955600

GUIDE: 279, Voices from Ellis Island: An Oral History of American Immigration. Arranged in three sections: fiche/reel index, name index, and country index.

1. Immigrants--United States--Interviews. 2. United States--Officials and employees--Interviews.

Von Rohden collection. See: Europaische zur Geshichte des Weltkrieges II, 1939-1945: Luftkrieg.

Vozrast i sostoianie v brake naseleniia SSSR / Age and marital status of the USSR population {Added title page title}. Minneapolis : East View Publications, c1992. 14 microfiches : negative.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 97/8

Consists of 2 parts: ch. 1 (7 fiches), ch. 2 (7 fiches).

LCCN: 97-119106

GUIDE: None.

1. Age distribution (Demography)--Soviet Union--Statistics. 2. Marital status--Soviet Union--Statistics. 3. Soviet Union--Census, 1989. 4. Soviet Union--Population--Statistics.