A Guide to the Microform Collections: S

The Sacco-Vanzetti case papers. -- Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, c1985. -- 23 microfilm reels.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 88/345

Contains approximately 2,000 papers relating to the case of Commonwealth v. Sacco and Vanzetti, spanning the years 1920 to 1928, including trial records, correspondence, memoranda, reports, legal documents, research notes, newspaper clippings, printed material, photographs, blueprints, and memorabilia from the prosecution and defense, the latter comprising the preponderance of material. Correspondents include Herbert B. Ehrmann, Felix Frankfurter, Dudley P. Ranney, Judge Webster Thayer, and William G. Thompson.

LCCN: 88-890659

GUIDE: 105-143, The Sacco-Vanzetti Case Papers/American Legal Manuscripts from the Harvard Law School Library.

1. Sacco-Vanzetti Trial, Dedham, Mass., 1921--Sources. 2. Trials (Murder)--Massachusetts--Dedham--Sources.

Sachkatalog der Deutschen Bücherei Leipzig. München : K.G. Saur, [1995] 738 microfiches. -- Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, c1985. -- 23 microfilm reels.

Contents: Contents: [1] [Monographien] 1913-Mai 1945 (531 fiches) -- [2] Zeitschriften 1913-Mai 1945 (fiche 1-61) ; Zeitschriften Juni 1945-1973 (fiche 62-127) ; Zeitschriften 1974 ff. (fiche 128-169) -- [3] Karten und Atlanten 1913-Mai 1945 (fiche 1-11) ; Karten und Atlanten Juni 1945-1973 (fiche 12-21) ; Karten und Atlanten 1974 ff. (fiche 22-38)

LC Call Number: Microfiche 97/35

LCCN: 97143082

GUIDE: 440, Sachkatalog der Deutschen Bücherei Leipzig: Index und Alphabetisches Register der Hauptschlagwörter zur Mikrofiche-Edition.

1. Deutsche Bücherei (Germany)--Catalogs.

The Sahel collection. -- Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1980. - - 2134 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 5357

More than 900 documents and 100 doctoral dissertations in English, French, and Portuguese from the Sahel Documentation Center at Michigan State University. The authors of the documents include individuals, universities, research institutes, government agencies, and international organizations. The principal subjects represented are agricultural technology and economics.

83-109008

GUIDE: Z7165.S23 S2, Sahel: A Guide to the Microfiche Collection of Documents and Dissertations. Provides indexes by subject, author, and title.

1. Sahel--Economic conditions. 2. Sahel--Agricultural innovation.

Saionji-Harada memoirs, 1931-1940 : complete translation into English. --Washington, D.C. : University Publications of America, 1977. -- 3 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 87/881

These memoirs were written by Baron Kumao Harada, liaison between Emperor Hirohito and Prince Kinmochi Saionji, one of the last political leaders of the Meiji Restoration. In English.

LCCN: 87-890032

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Japan--Politics and government--1912-1945.

Sangamon State University oral history collection. -- Glen Rock, N.J. : Microfilming Corp. of America, 1975- . -- [ 3 ] microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 49510

Transcripts of 159 interviews conducted for the Oral History Office, Sangamon State University in the 1970s. The interviews provide source material for the study of one-room schools, coal mining and trade unionism, agriculture, the experience of Blacks, Jews, and Italian-Americans, mental health care, banking, politics, family life, and railroads in central Illinois. The memoirs are arranged alphabetically by the name of the interviewee.

NOTE: Parts 1 and 5 are on Microfilm 49510; Part 6 is on Microfiche 5124.

LCCN: 82-223888

GUIDE: AI3.07 No. 1, New York Times Oral History Program, Oral History Guide No. 1, pp. 225-235. Lists the first 19 memoirists (part 1); Oral History Guide No. 3 lists the other memoirists.

1. Afro-Americans--Illinois--Interviews. 2. Jews--Illinois--Interviews. 3. Railroads--Illinois--Employees-- Interviews. 4. Italian Americans--Illinois--Interviews.

The Sarvodaya movement in India in the 1950s. Amsterdam : International Institute of Social History ; Lisse, The Netherlands : IMMF Publications, c1997. 253 microfiches : ill.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 98/3

A collection of 130 titles, mostly in Hindi, 20 in English, and one in Urdu, covering a wide range of subjects: traditional crafts, philosophy, Bhoodan, self-management, Sarvodaya movement conferences, education, spiritual songs, Gandhi, agriculture, economics, etc. Many of the works were written by Vinoba Bhave.

GUIDE: 455, Guide to the Sarvodaya Movement in India in the 1950s. A listing of titles with full bibliographic information. Order of listing is arbitrary. Author, editor, translator index. No title or subject index.

1. Sarvodaya movement--India--Sources. 2. India--Social conditions--1947- --Sources. 3. Land tenure--India--Sources. 4. Social movements--India--Sources.

Contents: Section A, Denmark, Iceland, and Norway; Section B, Sweden and Finland.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 94/2000

Biographical articles from more than 400 biographical works published from the 17th to the 20th century. Arrangement is by surname, with cross-references to other spellings, and under each surname articles are presented chronologically by date of publication. Persons listed represent every social rank and many professions, the criterion for inclusion being their contributions to the histories of the several peoples.

LCCN: 93-630015

GUIDE: 322 and CT1243.S24 1994 EurRR, The Scandinavian Biographical Archive. Parallel text in Swedish, Finnish and English.

Also indexed on the Internet: World Biographical Index (http://www.saur-wbi.de/).

1. Scandinavia--Biography. 2. Denmark--Biography. 3. Iceland--Biography. 4. Norway--Biography. 5. Sweden--Biography. 6. Finland--Biography.

Schlesinger Library vertical file for women's studies. -- Alexandria, Va. : Chadwyck-Healey Inc, [1990?]-. -- <475> microfiches.

Contents: Biographies.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 91/7006

A collection, alphabetically arranged by personal name, of primary and secondary materials mainly about 20th-century American women. There are newspaper and magazine articles by or about the women, obituaries, press releases, photographs, programs, and pamphlets. Women from all fields and viewpoints are included. A few items lacked citations; some were incomplete or poorly printed.

LCCN: 91-955271

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Women--United States--History--20th century--Sources. 2. Feminism--United States--Sources. 3. Women--Biography--Sources. 4. Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women

Schomburg Center clipping file, 1925-1974. -- Alexandria, Va. : Chadwyck-Healey, 1985. -- [9500] microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 86/15

Filmed from holdings in the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture at the New York Public Library. The collection contains one million newspaper and periodical clippings, typescripts, pamphlets, broadsides, programs, menus, etc., arranged under 6,950 subject headings relating to African-American activities. Some material in the file predates 1925; most is from 1925 through 1974.

LCCN: 86-890021

GUIDE: Z1361.N39 S373 1986, Index to the Schomburg Clipping File.

1. Afro-Americans--History--Miscellanea. 2. Afro-Americans-- History--Sources. (Described in field 500 of MUMS record)

Schomburg Center clipping file. Part II. 1975-1988. -- Alexandria, Va. : Chadwyck-Healey, [c1993]-. -- <2708> microfiches : ill.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 94/2135

Supplements basic Schomburg Clipping File collection, Microfilm 86/15, LCCN 86-890021. A microfiche version of the vertical file materials maintained by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, a division of the Research Collections of the New York Public Library. Selected by NYPL staff, the collection consists primarily of newspaper and periodical articles of reference value, but includes some typescripts, broadsides, programs, pamphlets, and other ephemera. It is especially strong for black theater, television programs, movies, jazz artists, black authors, and performing groups. The collection also contains materials on protests, riots, health, and international affairs. South African protests and the black AIDS epidemic reflect topics of special interest to the black community.

Arranged alphabetically by name and subject.

LCCN: 94-628508

GUIDE: 339, Index to the Schomburg Clipping File, Part II 1975-1988.

1. Afro-Americans--History--Sources.

Scots' Charitable Society. Papers. -- Boston, Mass. : New England Genealogical Society, 1987. -- 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm.

Contents: Part 1: Minutes, 1966-87; Part 2: Assessment books, 1970-85; Part 3: Constitution, by-laws, and membership, 1874-1962; Part 4: Records, 1896-1917; Part 5: Dr. Virgadamo's Colonial Charity; Part 6: Constitution and by-laws, 1896; Part 7: Annual reports, 1964-86; Part 8: Annual reports, Women's Auxiliary, 1971-75; Part 9: Anniversary brochure, Women's Auxiliary, 1876-1942; Part 10: Tartan Ball programs, 1974-1976, 1978-87; Part 11: St. Andrew's Night program, 1968-69, 1979-84, 1986.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 88/331

Records of the Scots' Charitable Society, founded in 1657 by Scottish immigrants in Boston for "benevolent and charitable purposes."

LCCN: 88-890645

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Scots Charitable Society--Archives. 2. Friendly societies--Massachusetts--Boston--Sources.

Scrap books. (Orville Wright) -- Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress Photoduplication Service : 1952? -- 10 microfilm reels ; 35mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 2987

Orville Wright's personal scrapbook of domestic and foreign newspaper and journal articles, miscellaneous publications, and other published mementoes from 1902 to 1948. The coverage includes the Wright brothers' first flight at Kitty Hawk, other early attempts at manned flight, the development of flight thereafter, and several aspects of Orville Wright's career. The early reels demonstrate the world's fascination with this new chapter in human and technological development. Social and political commentaries and cartoons abound and exhibit how quickly popular imagination was stimulated by the first successful airplane flight. One cartoonist pictured Teddy Roosevelt flagging down the Wright brothers' new plane for a flight to Africa to shoot big game animals from the air. The original scrapbook is in the Library's Manuscript Division, which also has it on 14 reels of microfilm.

LCCN: (sent to Spec. Mat. Cat. for MUMS record)

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Wright, Orville, 1871-1948--Biography--Miscellanea. 2. Wright Flyer (Airplane)--Miscellanea. 3. Airplanes--History-- Miscellanea.

Scrapbook containing pictures, newspaper and magazine clippings, playbills, programs, challenges, promotion and other materials illustrating the life and professional career of Harry Houdini, the American escapologist. -- Washington : Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, 1977. 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 49306

See also: Harry Houdini scrapbook..., (Microfilm 51273).

LCCN: 83-207047

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Houdini, Harry--1874-1926--Miscellanea.

Scrapbooks. (Susan B. Anthony) -- Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, 1975. -- 7 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 42106

Thirty-four volumes of Anthony's personal scrapbooks. At the suggestion of her father, Anthony began keeping scrapbooks in 1848. She continued to add "clippings from all sources on all questions" until 1900 when she was 80 years old. Her scrapbooks reflect her work in helping to advance women's suffrage and her concern with the temperance movement and the antislavery cause. The clippings are from newspapers and various ephemera representing wide areas of the Northeast, Midwest, and Atlantic states, e.g., The Boston Journal, The National Republican, The Chicago Herald, The St. Paul Globe, etc. Upstate New York papers are heavily represented in the early volumes.

LCCN: 84-114830

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Feminism--United States--History--19th century--Sources. 2. Women--Suffrage--United States--Sources. 3. Anthony, Susan B. (Susan Brownell)--Sources. 4. Women's rights--United States--History--Sources.

Scrapbooks kept in the Copyright Office, 1930-1982. -- Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, 1985. -- 3 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 85/664

Chiefly newspaper clippings involving copyright issues for years 1930-35, 1937-1940, 1957-1982.

LCCN: 86-893495

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Copyright--United States.

Select reports of the American Commission to Negotiate Peace. -- Arlington, Va. : University Publications of America, 1975. -- 8 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 85/262

Background reports on the history, politics, and economies of the areas to be discussed at the Versailles Peace Conference in 1919, written prior to the conference by scholars directed by President Woodrow Wilson. This is a collection of the major reports used by the American delegation as an aid in their negotiations.

LCCN: 85-891353

GUIDE: 105-3, A Guide to Select Reports of the American Commission to Negotiate Peace.

1. Europe--History--Sources.

Selected documents from records of the Committee on Fair Employment Practice in the custody of the National Archives : field records. -- Glen Rock, N.J : Microfilming Corp. of America, 1970. -- 117 microfilm reels.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 88/375

Collection of office records, case records, and miscellaneous records of 13 regional offices and numerous suboffices of the FEPC from 1943-1945. It includes records of complaints filed, follow-ups on the complaints, and disposition of cases. Good source of information on discrimination of all types against employees in the defense industry during World War II. Gives information on the names of private companies involved in defense, company addresses, type of industry, number of employees, original documents of complaints, nature of complaints, names of field officers to whom complaints were assigned, resolutions of complaints, statistics on cases, etc. Some typed and mimeographed records are almost illegible.

Request by reel number.

LCCN: 88-890711

GUIDE: CD3041.C65, Guide to the Microform Record of Selected Documents of Records of the Committee on Fair Employment Practice in the Custody of the National Archives.

1. Discrimination in employment--United States--Case studies. 2. World War, 1939-1945--War work. 3. Defense industries--United States--Employees--History. 4. United States. Committee on Fair Employment Practice--Archives.

Selected documents from records of the Committee on Fair Employment Practice in the custody of the National Archives : headquarters records. -- Glen Rock, N.J. : Microfilming Corp. of America, 1970. -- 86 microfilm reels.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 88/376

Collection of meeting agenda, summaries of meeting minutes, actions taken at meetings, weekly news digests, and newspaper clippings about the FEPC from 1942-1946. Sound recordings are not included. The collection provides information on the operation of the office of the Chairman of the FEPC. It also includes office memorandums, office files, press releases, field trip reports, agreements between agencies involved in handling disputes, lists of cases pending, teletypes, drafts of proposed Executive Orders, correspondence, Congressional testimony, and other matters of concern to the Committee. Some carbon copies of documents are illegible.

Request by reel number.

LCCN: 88-890712

GUIDE: CD3041.C6, Guide to the Microform Record of Selected Documents of Records of the Committee on Fair Employment Practice.

1. United States. Committee on Fair Employment Practice--Archives. 2. World War, 1939-1945--War work.

Selected documents from records of the Committee on Fair Employment Practice in the custody of the National Archives : index to cases, opinions, interpretations, agreements, policies, regional cases, names of complainants, U.S. Employment 510 reports, cases referred to War Manpower Commission, company files, important case activities, names of parties charged. -- Glen Rock, N.J : Microfilming Corp. of America, 1970. -- 3 microfilm reels.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 88/377

Indexes of collections of case records from the FEPC 13 regional offices and the cases referred to the Director of Field Operations. Cases were filed in the regional office of the area in which the offense occurred. Docketable complaints were handled by the fair practice examiner who interviewed the complainant and when a prima facie case existed visited the charged party and referred unsettled cases to the War Manpower Commission for resolution. These indexes are on 3" x 5" or 5" x 8" index cards.

Request by reel number.

See Guide, pages 29-32 for more detailed descriptions of items indexed on specific reels.>

LCCN: 88-890713

GUIDE: CD3041.C65, Guide to the Microfilm Record of Selected Documents of Records of the Committee on Fair Employment Practice in the Custody of the National Archives.

1. Discrimination in employment--United States--Case studies--Indexes.

Selected Japanese Army and Navy archives. -- [Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, 1957-1958]. -- 163 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 5041

In Japanese. Four hundred thousand pages of historical material selected from the archives of the Japanese Army and Navy Ministries; also included is a small collection from the archives of the Home Ministry and from other Japanese government agencies. Most of the documents deal with events in Eastern Asia between 1900 and 1945; some deal with events outside the area, and a portion with the Meiji period before 1900. The material includes reports on Korean uprisings against Japan in 1919, on the Mukden Incident in 1931 and subsequent events in Manchuria, on the Nomonhan Incident in 1939, and the military chronicles of the Reign of the Meiji Emperor, 1868-1912. There are also Japanese intelligence reports on China's Boxer Uprising, the Revolution of 1911-1912, Chinese warlords, and the growth of Communism in China. This collection supplements theArchives in the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Microfilm 5039.

LCCN: 83-200015

GUIDE: CD2164.Y6, Checklist of Microfilm Reproductions of Selected Archives of the Japanese Army, Navy, and Other Government Agencies.

1. Japan. Rikugun--Archives. 2. Japan. Kaigun--Archives. 3. Japan--History, Military--Sources. 4. Japan--History, Naval--Sources. 5. Japan--History--20th century--Sources. 6. Japan--History--Meiji period, 1868-1912--Sources. 7. Japan--History--Taisho period--1912-1926--Sources.

Selected manuscripts in the monasteries of Mount Athos / microfilmed for the Library of Congress and the International Greek New Testament Project, 1952-53]. --[Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, 1952-53]. -- 255 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 5042

Complete texts of 209 manuscripts and selected portions of 44 others from the various monasteries in Mt. Athos, Greece, ranging in age from the 6th through the 15th centuries. Biblical texts (mainly from the New Testament) constitute most of the collection, but there are also selected portions of apocrypha, the writings of several of the early Fathers, liturgies, and various books of Byzantine music and letters. Most of the manuscripts are in Greek but some are in Georgian and Armenian.

LCCN: 84-136816

GUIDE: Z6623.U6, A Descriptive Checklist of Selected Manuscripts in the Monasteries of Mount Athos.

1. Bible. N.T.--Manuscripts. 2. Manuscripts, Greek. 3. Manuscripts, Medieval. 4. Catholic Church--Liturgy--Texts-- Manuscripts.

Selected volumes from the Petrarch Collection at Cornell University. -- [Ithaca, N.Y. : Cornell University for the Library of Congress, 1957?]. -- 178 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 5038

Includes books by and about Petrarch covering several centuries of publishing. Materials are in Latin, Italian, Spanish, English, French, and German. Among the volumes filmed are a 1581 edition of Petrarch's complete works, a 1503 collection of his Latin works, and a 15th century Italian manuscript of his Rime.

LCCN: 83-242124

GUIDE: Z8676.C75, Catalogue of the Petrarch Collection Bequeathed by Willard Fisher.

1. Petrarca, Francesco, 1304-1374.

Selections from China Mainland magazines See: Selections from People's Republic of China magazines.

Selections from People's Republic of China Magazines. (15 Aug. 1955- ). -- Hong Kong : American Consulate General, [1950- ]. -- On film: [15 Aug. 1955-26 Sept. 1977].

LC Call Number: Microfilm 01326

For description, see Survey of People's Republic of China press.

LCCN: 80-646122

Selections from the works of Jacques Barzun. -- [New York] : Columbia University Libraries, 1972-1976. -- 8 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 49600

A collection of books, articles, prefaces, introductions, translations, and reviews by the historian and noted author in the fields of education, music, art, and literature. Some annotated typescripts are also included. The material is not organized and appears in English and French.

LCCN: 83-170125

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Barzun, Jacques, 1907- .

Senator Robert F. Kennedy presidential campaign, March 17, 1968 through August 1, 1968. --James J. Fahey, researcher and compiler. -- 3 volumes -- Waltham, Mass. : Graphic Microfilm, [1974- ]. -- [1] microfilm reel ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 42169

The collection consists of clippings of articles from Boston area newspapers, compiled by James J. Fahey.

LCCN: 87-890316

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Kennedy, Robert F., 1925-1968--Miscellanea.

Serie conflicto religioso. -- Mexico : Instituto Nacional de Antropología e Historia, 197- . -- 52 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 83/139

A collection of printed items and manuscripts from the 20th century dealing with the social history of Catholicism in Mexico. It includes speeches, correspondence, books, pamphlets, historical studies, minutes, newspaper and magazine articles, memoirs, reports, bulletins, etc. Among the topics covered are social, political, and military history; the founding of the Knights of Columbus in Mexico; the Cristero movement; sexual education; relations with the U.S.; and organized labor. The material has been filmed in topical and chronological order.

NOTE: L.C. has only reels 1-52 out of 63.

LCCN: 83-195799

GUIDE: 104, Archivos Microfilmados en la Biblioteca National de Antropología e Historia. Archivo Conflicto Religioso. Archivo de Gomez Farias. Archivos de Veracruz. Archivo Maximiliano de Hapsburgo. Archivo Franciscano. Archivo Francisco I Madero. Archivo Revolución Mexicana. Archivo Hemeroteca Historica Mexicana. Consists of a brief description of the collection, and a reel by reel list of the materials filmed.

1. Catholic Church--Mexico--History--20th century--Sources. 2. Church and social problems--Mexico--Catholic Church--History-- 20th century--Sources.

Seventh-Day Adventist retrospective periodical index : periodicals indexed. --[Takoma Park, Md.] : Columbia Union College, c1977. -- 565 microfiches : negative.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 90/11

Contains indexes for ten Seventh-Day Adventists periodicals published between 1868 and 1972. The first card of the set lists the periodicals included as well as years and volumes received and indexed. The greater part of the microfiche set comprises a subject index.

LCCN: 90-954007

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Seventh-Day Adventists--Periodicals--Indexes.

Sexual politics in Britain. -- Brighton, Sussex : Harvester Press, 1976-[1981]. --[370] microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche (o) 84/400

Documents the emergence in the late 1960s of the movements for social, economic, political, and ideological liberation of women and homosexual men in England, Scotland, and Ireland. The collection consists of magazines, newsletters, journals, minutes of meetings, conference reports, annual reports, memos, press releases, transcripts, manifestos, and other similar material, produced by approximately thirty groups and publishers. Among the groups included are Campaign for Homosexual Equality, Scottish Minorities Group, and Big Flame Women's Group. Some of the publications filmed include Red Rag, Spare Rib, Gay International News, and Gay News. Most date from 1972, but the earliest is 1967. Some of the microfiches are difficult to read either because of poor originals or poor filming. Catalog cards for most of the serials in the collection have been filed in the serials card catalog in the Microform Reading Room. Microfiches should be requested by year of collection and document code, as listed in the guides (e.g. 4KV1, or 4(1975)HM1). While some periodicals have tables of contents or indexes, most do not, and the guides provide access by date and title of the publication only.

LCCN: 84-121554

GUIDE: 87 and supplements, Sexual Politics in Britain.... In addition to listing the material filmed, the guides give descriptions of the participating groups and their publications, as well as descriptions of the unaffiliated publications, their staff, history, and significance.

1. Feminism--Great Britain--Sources. 2. Homosexuality--Great Britain--Sources.

Shakespeariana. -- Ann Arbor, MI : University Microfilms International, [1988- ]. --[850] microfiches.

Contents: Unit 5. Shakespeare's editors from Rowe to Alexander.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 90/7067

Also known as Bibliotheca Shakespeariana, this is a collection of editions of Shakespeare's writings that appeared from 1709 through 1956 and were compiled by notable editors. (Earlier printed editions will be released in later units of this project.) This collection is neither a comprehensive list of Shakespeare editions nor a comprehensive history of Shakespeare editing. Items are selected for textual importance, supplementary materials, or rarity. Editors included are Nicholas Rowe, Alexander Pope, Lewis Theobald, Samuel Johnson, Edward Capell, George Steevens, Isaac Reed, Edmond Malone, Henrietta and Thomas Bowdler, John Dover Wilson, Peter Alexander, and others.

LCCN: 90-956102

GUIDE: 259, Shakespeariana. Shakespeare's Editors from Rowe to Alexander. A Guide to the Microfiche Collection.

1. Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616--Bibliography.

Shaw, Bernard. See: Bernard Shaw...

Shelflist of the Library of Congress. -- Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1979. -- 3229 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 1016

In 1979 the Library filmed all the cards in its shelflist (catalog cards arranged by LC classification number), and they are now available on the microfiche in this collection. Researchers can scan the titles on the microfiche as though they were browsing the stacks. This provides a kind of access that was hitherto unavailable to the public. It also allows quick confirmation of call numbers and other bibliographical information.

LCCN: 82-188457

GUIDE: Z733.U57 L53, The Library of Congress Shelflist: A User's Guide to the Microfiche Edition.

1. Library catalogs on microfiche.

Sir Isaac Newton : manuscripts and papers / edited by Peter Jones. -- Cambridge, England ; Alexandria, VA : Chadwyck-Healey, 1991. -- 43 microfilm reels : ill. ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 95/4567

A comprehensive cumulation of the writings of Sir Isaac Newton, in both English and Latin. The collection includes commonplace books; working notes and drafts of his mathematical discoveries, his work in optics and dynamics, and his chemical experiments (including alchemy); shipbuilding blueprints; educational projects; ecclesiastical calendars; historical theology; interpretations of mythology; world geography; economic treatises; records of the Royal Mint; chronological and historical studies of ancient kingdoms; commentaries on Daniel and the Apocalypse; and medical treatises and potions. The predominate part of the collection contains the complete holdings of the three major collections, Cambridge University Library, King's College Library, and the Jewish National and University Library. The remainder consists of material from lesser known sources. The originals used range from the well-preserved to the fragmentary and barely legible.

LCCN: 94-137564

GUIDE: 410, Sir Isaac Newton: A Catalogue of Manuscripts and Papers. A reel index, with the items on each reel described and listed in the order in which they occur. The guide also appears on reel one of the collection. The contents of each reel are listed at the beginning of the reel. Request by collection number and reel number.

1. Newton, Isaac, Sir, 1642-1727--Archives. 2 Newton, Isaac, Sir, 1642-1727--Manuscripts. 3. Physical sciences--History-- Sources. 4. Social sciences--History--Sources.

Slave narratives : a folk history of slavery in the United States from interviews with former slaves : typewritten records / prepared by the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 ; assembled by the Library of Congress Project, Works Projects Administration for the District of Columbia, sponsored by the Library of Congress. -- Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress, 1941. -- 17 v. in 33 : ill., ports. ; 28 cm. -- Call number of original : E444.F27. -- Microfilm. [Washington, D.C.] : Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, [1941?]. -- 11 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 974

A collection of typewritten records of more than 2,000 narratives of ex-slaves, interviewed by workers on the Federal Writers Project, 1936-1938, in seventeen states; sparsely illustrated with photographs. The subjects touched on include family, work, relations of slaves and slave owners, the Civil War, life after emancipation, the KKK, folklore, religion, thoughts on the future, race, and slavery.

A list of informants begins each of 17 volumes, arranged by state. Request by state or volume number.

LCCN: 83-145588

GUIDE: 53, An Introductory Essay and Subject Index to Selected Interviews from the Slave Narrative Collection (doctoral dissertation, UMI Order Number 78-128). Related reference works: The Slave Narrative. Its Place in American History, E444.S8 1981; and Lay My Burden Down ed. Benjamin A. Botkin, E444.F26, a study of this collection edited by the director of the project.

1. Slaves--United States--Interviews. 2. Slaves--United States--Biography.

Slave trade Africa : FO 84, general correspondence before 1906, slave trade 1816-1892. --Millwood, N.Y. : KTO Microform, 1976. -- 1223 microfilm reels : negative ; 35 mm. -- (Public records of Great Britain series; 5).

LC Call Number: Microfilm 51561

Includes dispatches, drafts, telegrams, a few treaties, and other items of consular correspondence from consulates in European, Asian, African, and American cities to the Foreign Office in London. The Microform Reading Room has the correspondence section of the collection only, covering the period 1879 to 1888.

LCCN: 83-108535

GUIDE: 64, Slave Trade Africa. Part I lists correspondents by reference numbers, and Part II is a reel index. Find reference number first (e.g.,F.O. 84/1531) in Part I and then check Part II to get correct reel number for the reference number.

1. Slave trade--Africa.

Slavery. -- [Sanford, N.C.] : Microfilming Corp. of America, [1982]. -- 6720 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 1021

Primary printed sources on the subject of slavery. It includes pamphlets, books, and periodicals that pertain to slavery, primarily in the United States.

LCCN: 84-172245

GUIDE: Z7164.S6 M53 1983, Slavery: A Bibliographic Guide to the Microfiche Collection. Arranged by author or other main entry under 31 subject headings, each of which is assigned a letter code (e.g., SN = Slave Narratives, HF = Harpers Ferry, AS = Anti-Slavery). There are indexes by main entry, by title, and by subject. Each entry is assigned an alphanumeric code based on this subject code (e.g., SN 48) which is used to request that item.

1. Slavery. 2. Slavery--United States.

Slavery source materials. -- Washington, D.C : NCR, Microcard Editions, [197-]. --ca. 967 microfiches.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 93/35

A collection of 441 books and pamphlets written before the Civil War on the subjects of African Americans, slavery, and abolition of slavery. Many are by black authors; all are in English but not all are by Americans. Included are speeches, sermons, slave narratives, essays, treatises, letters, poetry, and memoirs.

LCCN: 93-630203

GUIDE: Not in LC. Fiche headers identify author, title, and, where applicable, LC card number. Fiche are organized alphabetically by main entry (usually the author's name).

1. Slavery--19th century--Sources. 2. Afro-Americans-- History--To 1863--Sources. 3. Antislavery movements--Sources.

Slavery tracts & pamphlets from the West India Committee collection now at the Institute of Commonwealth Studies. -- London : World Microfilms Publications, 1982, c1983. -- 28 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 83/425

Three hundred seventy-five tracts and pamphlets about slavery. The collection consists mainly of early l9th century publications published in England and the West Indies and includes works by George Canning; by the parliaments of Great Britain, Jamaica, the Bahamas, St. Vincent, and Barbados; by various bible societies; and by noteworthy proponents and opponents of the continuation of slavery in the West Indies. Some of the titles duplicate titles in the microfiche collection, Slavery, fiche 1021 LCCN 84-172245.

LCCN: 83-177226

GUIDE: 69, Slavery Tracts and Pamphlets from the West India Committee Collection (Now at the Institute of Commonwealth Studies): List of Titles and Index to Reels. Lists contents of each reel; each reel also begins with a list of contents.

1. Slavery--West Indies--Sources. 2. Anti-slavery movements--West Indies--Sources.

Social and economic development plans : microfiche project. -- Zug, Switzerland : Inter Documentation Co., 1969- . -- [ ] microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 5177 and 5182

Title taken from publisher's prospectus. Nearly 2,000 economic and social development plans from a selection of nations, dating from 1950s to the present. Each report is written in the language of the report title, as listed in the guide. These documents are primary source materials for the study of business and economics, sociology, political science, and contemporary history, particularly in less-developed countries.

LCCN: (No Library of Congress Online Catalog entry)

GUIDE: 4, National Development Plans. Lists plans by world area and country. Most of the plans currently held by the Library of Congress in microfiche are from Africa, the Middle East, Latin America, and the USSR. Plans not included in this collection may have been acquired in paper for the general collections; readers should check the catalogs and the Newspaper and Current Periodical Reading Room.

1. Social planning. 2. Central planning. 3. Economic policy.

Social and political status of women in Britain : radical and reforming periodicals for and by women. -- Brighton, Sussex : Harvester Press, 1983. -- 17 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 85/811

Covers the years 1870-1928. Consists of twenty periodicals filmed from the British Library Newspaper Library, reflecting a wide range of political viewpoints but sharing a common interest in women's suffrage. The titles fully document the growth of activities for women's emancipation between the passage of the Married Woman's Property Act in 1870 and the achievement of full universal suffrage in 1928. The dramatic impact on women of the first World War and the developments in attitudes and conditions relating to education, work, religion, temperance, and social reform are all represented in these periodicals.

LCCN: 85-890931

GUIDE: 167, [The Social and Political Status of Women: Radical and Reforming Periodicals for and by Women]. Consists of a brief introduction and reel guide.

1. Suffragists--Great Britain--Periodicals. 2. Feminism--Great Britain--Periodicals.

Social problems and the churches : the Harlan Paul Douglass collection of religious research reports. -- [Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, 1975] --2785 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 5135

A large collection of field research materials focusing on churches (primarily Protestant) as social institutions. The materials were deposited over the years at the Department of Research of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the U.S.A. from denominational or ecumenical sources. Among the wide variety of topics included are church trends, clergy recruitment and training, youths and young adults, race and ethnic issues, parish characteristics, individual church analyses, finances, urban and rural issues, and community characteristics.

LCCN: 83-132479

GUIDE: 33, Inventory of the Harlan Paul Douglass Collection of Religious Research Reports.

1. Sociology, Christian--United States.

Social welfare periodicals : sources for the history of social welfare in America. -- Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1970. -- 1605 microfiches : 11 x 15 cm.

Contents: 1. National Conference on Social Welfare. Social Welfare Forum. Official Proceedings, 1874-1969. 2. Child Labor Bulletin, 1912-1919, superseded by American Child, 1919-1955. 3. Lend a Hand, 1886-1897. 4. Charities Review, 1891-1901. 5. The Survey, 1897-1952, which includes Charities, Charities and the Commons, Survey Graphic, Survey Midmonthly, and Commons.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 5060

Five periodicals from the late 19th and 20th centuries provide sources for the study of American social change and social action.

NOTE: The Survey 1897-1952, is also available on Microfilm 39164.

LCCN: 84-109693

GUIDE: Not in LC. Request by title and date.

1. Public welfare--United States--Periodicals.

Solidarnosc collection. See: Polish independent publications, 1976+.

Sonnino papers. See: Papers relating to World War I....

Sotheby & Co. catalogues of sales. -- Ann, Arbor, Mich. : Xerox University Microfilms, c1972. -- [611] microfilm reels ; 16 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 06019

Ten thousand auction catalogs on 611 microfilm reels, filmed in 5 sections: I: 1734-1850; II: 1851-1900; III: 1901-1945; IV: 1946-1970, and V: 1971-1980. This collection contains the continuous record of Sotheby and Company, the world's largest, most active and prosperous art auction house from its founding in 1733 to 1980. The items auctioned are included in the following categories: autographed letters; art objects; pictorial art; books; coins; medals; Western and Oriental manuscripts. Each catalog on microfilm is preceded by a small contents card which lists the name of the owner of the item to be auctioned, date of sale, number of pages in each catalog, location of the copy that was filmed, and contents of the sale. Access is provided by a combined reel and chronological guide. The chronological arrangement of the catalogs on film is the same as the entries in the guide.

LCCN: 84-109221

GUIDE: 5, Sotheby and Company Catalogues of Sales; A Guide to the Microfilm Collection.

1. Sotheby & Co. (London, England)--Catalogs. 2. Auctions--England--London--Catalogs.

South Africa : the making of U.S. policy, 1962-1989. -- Alexandria, Va : Chadwyck-Healey, 1991. -- 439 microfiches.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 93/6

Approximately 2,500 documents, collected by the National Security Archive of the Fund for Peace, Inc., constituting the record of changing U.S. responses to historical events in South Africa. Substantial documentation on arms embargoes, economic sanctions, nuclear collaboration, and regional conflict. Major document sources: Department of State; United States Consulate General, Johannesburg; United States Embassy, South Africa; United States Mission to the United Nations; and United States Consulate General, Cape Town.

LCCN: 93-630211

GUIDE: 295, South Africa : The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962-1989: Guide and Index. 2 v.

1. United States--Foreign relations--South Africa--Sources. 2. South Africa--Foreign relations--United States--Sources. 3. South Africa--Politics and government----1961-1978--Sources. 4. South Africa--Politics and government--1978-1989--Sources. 5. South Africa--Economic conditions--1961---Sources.

Southeastern Utah oral history collection (1-34) / California State University, Fullerton. -- Glen Rock, N.J. : Microfilming Corp. of America, 1977.--1 microfilm reel : ill., ports. ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 49518

Transcripts of 34 memoirs, recorded 1971-1972, as a joint project of the California State University at Fullerton, and the Utah State Historical Society. Interviews 1-7 focus on Navajo sheep reduction (a federal program in the 1930s); interviews 8-34 cover the Mormon experience in Utah. Other subjects include the westward movement of settlers throughout the Southwest, goldmining, the cattle business, and cowboys. Some letters, photographs, and related documents are also included.

LCCN: 82-217434

GUIDE: AI3.O7 no. 2, The New York Times Oral History Program, Oral History Guide No. 2, pp. 97-98. Lists the memoirists and subjects covered by each.

1. Utah--History. 2. Mormons--Utah--Interviews. 3. Navajo Indians.

Southern Regional Council papers, 1944-1968. -- Ann Arbor, Michigan : University Microfilms, 1983. -- 225 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

Contents: Series I: Administrative records, 1944-1968; Series II: Central reading file, 1949-1971; Series III: Information & research dept., 1944-1968; Series IV: State councils on human relations, 1946-1968; Series V: Labor education program, 1948-1973; Series VI: Voter education project, 1954-1971; Series VII: Veterans services project, 1944-1951; Series VIII: Women's work and Fellowship of the Concerned, 1946-1968; Series IX: Urban planning project, 1954-1972; Series X: Voting and registration project, 1954-1969; Series XII: Help our public education, 1958-1961; Series XIII: Organizations assisting schools in September, 1955-1962; Series XIV: Community organization project, 1963-1967; Series XV: Operation opportunity, 1959-1964; Series XVI: Publications, 1944-1976; Series XVII: Foreign visitor sponsor and New South editor, 1955-1961; Series XVIII: Paperback book project, 1960-1967.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 88/328

Includes pamphlets, publications, and project information; some of this material is also included in the collection, Facts on Film. The Southern Regional Council served as the "pulse-beat" of the American Civil Rights movement after World War II. Through its publications, programs, and resources, it sought to disseminate information which improved race relations in the South.

LCCN: 88-890639

GUIDE: 131, The Southern Regional Council Papers, 1944-68. A Guide to the Microfilm Edition.

1. Southern Regional Council--Archives. 2. Race relations--Southern States--Sources. 3. Afro-Americans--Civil rights--Southern States--Sources.

Soviet biographic archive, 1954-1985. -- Alexandria, Va. : Chadwyck-Healey, in association with Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty Inc. and the Hoover Institution, 1986. -- 2812 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 88/209

Biographical clippings and abstracts arranged by name, according to the Russian alphabet.

LCCN: 88-890661

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Soviet Union--Biography.

Soviet Union / Paul Kesaris, editor. -- Washington, D.C. : University Publications of America, 1977. -- 8 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 86/2092

Reproduces reports of the Office of Strategic Services and the State Department, dating from 1941 through 1949. The reports vary in length, and cover a diversity of topics, but focus in particular on subjects such as the Soviet wartime economy, Soviet diplomatic relations with other countries, budgets, and internal political morale and orientation. Both European and Asian parts of the Soviet Union are covered in these analyses. Several of the reports are conjectural, e.g., assessing possible developments in the event of Stalin's death or disability, and the "potentials" of World Communism. Useful for the study of a wide range of issues in Soviet domestic affairs and foreign policy during these years.

LCCN: 86-892227

GUIDE: 105-21, A Guide to OSS/State Department Intelligence and Research Reports. VI. Soviet Union. Has a brief subject index identifying major subjects of the reports.

1. Soviet Union--Politics and government--1936-1953--Sources.

Soviet Union, 1946-1976 / Paul Kesaris, editor. -- Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1982. -- 5 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 86/211

Reproduces Central Intelligence Agency memos, reports, telegram texts, and letters dating from 1946 through 1976. Most of the items deal with aspects of Soviet policy or, less often, with aspects of the Soviet economy. Several items actually deal with other East European countries, often touching on their relations with the Soviet Union.

LCCN: 86-893444

GUIDE: 105-71, CIA Research Reports. The Soviet Union, 1946-1976. Has a brief subject index covering major topics.

1. Soviet Union--Politics and government--1945-1991--Sources.

Soviet Union : 1950-1961 : supplement / Paul Kesaris, editor. -- Washington, D.C. : University Publications of America, 1979. -- 6 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 86/2097

Consists of reports of the Office of Strategic Services and the State Department from 1950 through 1961. Most of the items deal with Soviet domestic affairs, both political and economic. The reports vary greatly in length.

LCCN: 86-892232

GUIDE: 105-26, A Guide to OSS/State Department Intelligence and Research Reports. XI. The Soviet Union 1950-61. Includes a brief subject index covering major topics.

1. Soviet Union--Politics and government--1945-1991--Sources.

Soviet Union : special studies, 1970-1980 / Paul Kesaris, editor. -- Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1981. -- 9 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 86/2010

Reproduces reports of government and private research institutes as well as universities, dating from 1970 through 1980. Most reports focus on national security concerns of the Soviet Union, Soviet military discrimination, and Soviet foreign policy. A few reports deal exclusively with internal affairs (Soviet politics, propaganda, and perceptions of the West; economic development; civil defense; minority problems). The length of the reports varies from 12 to 674 pages.

LCCN: 86-89219

GUIDE: 105-53, Soviet Union: Special Studies, 1970-1980. Provides a description of the contents of each item, as well as an overall subject index.

1. Soviet Union--Military policy--Sources. 2. Soviet Union--Foreign relations--1953-1975--Sources. 3. Soviet Union--Foreign relations--1975-1985--Sources.

Soviet Union : special studies, 1980-1982 : supplement / Robert Lester, editor. --Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1983. -- 8 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 86/2011

Consists of reports commissioned by the federal government but originating from various research institutes (public and private) and universities, from 1980 through 1982. The subjects covered by the reports vary, but focus especially on aspects of Soviet domestic and foreign policy, usually with special emphasis on military considerations. The length of the reports varies considerably.

LCCN: 86-892128

GUIDE: 105-54A, The Soviet Union: Special Studies, 1980-1982 Supplement. Contains informative annotations for the individual reports, as well as a subject index.

1. Soviet Union--Foreign relations--1975-1985--Sources. 2. Soviet Union--Military policy--Sources.

The Soviet Union : special studies, 1982-1985 : supplement / [edited by Michael Davis]. -- Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, [1987], c1986. -- 9 microfilm reels.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 88/2017

For description, see Soviet Union : special studies, 1980-1982 : supplement (Microfilm 86/2011. LCCN 86-892128).

LCCN: 87-8169

GUIDE: 105-54B, Soviet Union: Special Studies, 1982-1985 Supplement.

1. Soviet Union

The Soviet Union : special studies, 1985-1988 : supplement. -- Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1989. -- 10 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 95/4555

For description, see Soviet Union : special studies, 1980-1982 : supplement (Microfilm 86/2011. LCCN 86-892128).

LCCN: 90-28511

GUIDE: 377, A Guide to the Microfilm Edition of Soviet Union.

1. Soviet Union--Politics and government--1945-1991. 2. Soviet Union--Foreign relations--1945-1991.

The Soviet Union : special studies, 1989-1991 : supplement. -- Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1992. -- 13 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 95/4556

For description, see Soviet Union : special studies, 1980-1982 : supplement (Microfilm 86/2011. LCCN 86-892128).

LCCN: 92-41963

GUIDE: 377, A Guide to the Microfilm Edition of The Soviet Union.

1. Soviet Union--Politics and government--1945-1991. 2. Soviet Union--Foreign relations--1945-1991.

Spanish bibliographies of J. T. Medina. -- New York, N.Y. : Readex Microprint, 1961. -- Ca. 194 microopaques ; 23 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Micro-opaque 84/4600

A collection of national bibliographies of Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, and Venezuela, and the Philippines compiled by the Chilean scholar and bibliographer Jose Toribio Medina. The material cited is in Spanish, spanning the 15th through the 19th centuries.

LCCN: 84-221679

GUIDE: Z1004.M49 R6, Jose Toribio Medina: his life and works.

1. Bibliography, National--Latin America. 2. Bibliography, National--Philippines.

Spanish civil war : FO 849, Foreign Office, International Committee for the Application of the Agreement Regarding Non-intervention in Spain, 1936-1939. -- Nendeln, Lichtenstein : Kraus-Thomson, 1978. -- 24 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 85/247

Includes the documents of Public Record Office file, F.O. 849. It contains (1) the stenographic notes of the first through 30th meetings of the International Committee for the Application of the Agreement Regarding Non-Intervention in Spain (September 9, 1936-April 20, 1939), (2) the International Board for Non-Intervention memoranda (March 17, 1937-March 23, 1939), (3) Proceedings of the Chairman's Sub-Committee (September 15, 1936-October 15, 1938), and (4) Proceedings of the Technical Advisory Sub-Committee, plus (5) miscellaneous memoranda.

LCCN: 85-891328

GUIDE: Not in LC. Access is provided through a Public Record Office Register at the beginning of reel 1. It lists the collection number, inclusive dates, a description and a volume number. At the beginning of each numbered collection is a list and a description of the meetings and the date each was held. Items should be requested by reel number, then collection number; unfortunately there is no reel guide. The only indication of which collections are on which reels is on the reel boxes themselves.

1. International Committee for the Application of the Agreement Regarding Non-intervention in Spain--Archives. 2. Spain--History--Civil War, 1936-1939. 3. Neutrality--Sources.

Spanish drama of the Golden Age : The Comedia Collection in the University of Pennsylvania Libraries. -- New Haven, Conn. : Research Publications, [1971]. -- 86 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 51557

Approximately 3,000 early editions of significant works by more than 200 authors of the Spanish Golden Age (El Siglo de Oro). The collection forms part of the Comedia Collection in the University of Pennsylvania Libraries and includes works by Calderon de la Barca, Cervantes, Gongora, Lope de Vega (the Sancha edition of his complete works), Perez de Montalvan, Rojar Zorrilla, Mira de Amercua, Moneto y Cabanar, Gabriel Tellez, Velez de Guevara, Zamora, Lope de Rueda, etc. Also many anonymous works are included, some loas pasos, autos and entremese, as well as a few key non-dramatic works.

LCCN: 84-137935

GUIDE: Z2694.D7 R37, Spanish Drama of the Golden Age; A Catalogue of the Comedia Collection in the University of Pennsylvania Libraries. Lists plays in reel number order, with author and title indexes.

1. Spanish drama--Classical period, 1500-1700.

SRI microfiche library. -- Washington, D.C. : Congressional Information Service, 1980- . [ ] microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 1019

Covers the published statistical output of over 1,000 state government agencies, professional and non-profit organizations, business organizations, and university research centers, from 1980. Statistics are international in scope and cover a very wide range of subjects.

LCCN: 90-655077

GUIDE: Z7554.U5 S73, Statistical Reference Index (abstracts and index volumes). Annual bound volumes are supplemented by monthly issues, with quarterly index cumulations. The CD-ROM title, Statistical Masterfile, is also available for searching SRI items. Request by SRI index year, and accession number. Only about 90 of indexed publications are available in the SRI Microfiche Library. Check abstract for notation "filmed," "experts," or "not filmed."

1. Statistics--United States.

Stanford University Project South oral history collection. / conducted during the summer of 1965 by the Stanford University radio station KZSU. Glen Rock, N.J. : Microfilming Corp. of America, 1975. 68 microfiches.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 2479

A collection of interviews, speeches, and meeting transcripts relating to the civil rights movement, recorded in the South and in Washington, D.C., during the summer of 1965 by eight students from Stanford University. Some of the groups represented are the Congress of Racial Equality, the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party, the Ku Klux Klan, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, and the Southern Community and Political Education Project. Speakers range from Martin Luther King, Jr., to anonymous local residents. The collection documents a transitional period between the 1964 Freedom Summer and the 1966 call for Black Power.

LCCN: 84252475

GUIDE: AI3.O7 no. 1, The New York Times Oral History Program, Oral History Guide No. 1. Provides a detailed table of contents for the collection, arranged by "number" (subcollection, usually relating to a specific organization or group) and "chapter" (usually an individual interview or statement). Request fiche by number and chapter.

1. Civil rights movements--Southern States. 2. Civil rights workers--United States. 3. Afro-Americans--Civil rights.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 5061

Contains 29 serial titles from 13 states, issued by departments of factory inspection, boards of arbitration, and bureaus of labor statistics during the last quarter of the 19th century. The reports of statistical bureaus of 16 additional states, as well as annual reports of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, are also available in the Microform Reading Room under various film numbers (see guide). The collection contains reports that are important sources of economic, legal, and social data for the years of American's greatest industrial expansion. The data include wages by industry, size of working force, cost of living factors, hours of employment, home ownership and mortgage debt, child, female, and convict labor, factory and mine inspection, state labor laws, and trade union activities. There are also abstracts of foreign labor statistics, copies of answers to various surveys, histories of labor and of the collection of labor statistics, discussions of schools and schooling, and many other subjects related to social conditions and social legislation.

LCCN: 83-127049

GUIDE: Z7164.L1 U6 1970, Index of all Reports Issued by Bureaus of Labor Statistics in the United States Prior to March 1 1902. Indexes reports in some detail by subject. While only 13 of the states covered by the index are included in this microfiche set, almost all the other reports and states covered are also available in microfilm under various numbers. To check microfilm holdings and numbers, see Z7164.L1 U6 1970 Suppl., an annotated checklist of years and reports. Use supplement to check whether reports are on microfiche or microfilm; request by microform number, state, and year.

1. Labor--United States--Periodicals.

State of the churches. -- Alfred Thomas DeGroot, compiler. -- Peoria, Ariz. : Ecumenism Research Agency, 1974- . -- [54] microfilm reels ; 16 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm (o) 83/314

Official yearbooks, reports, and documents from a very wide range of denominations world-wide. The collection represents a portrait of the state of the churches in their own words. The documents are in three sections, corresponding to the regions Europe and Asia (1978), Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand (1980), and the U.S. and Canada. Several languages are represented. The documents are arranged chronologically by survey number. Film may be requested by survey and date, world region or country, and denomination.

NOTE: Surveys 3 and 4 are incomplete.

LCCN: 85-891182

GUIDE: 96, [Ecumenism Research Agency Collections]. Compiled by MicRR staff from indexes on microfilm reels.

1. Christian sects.

State provision for social need : the Beveridge Committee report on the welfare state (Public Record Office class PIN 8 and CAB 87/76-82). -- Marlborough, Wiltshire, England : Adam Matthew Publications, 1991-1992. -- 26 microfilm reels.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 94/2003

Contains papers of the committee noted for the development of the Social Services Administration, the National Health Service, and the welfare state in Britain. As such, the collection provides an encyclopedic resource for analysis of economic and social changes in Britain in the years after World War II. The first part contains minutes, memoranda, and committee papers of the committee itself. The second part (PIN 8/1-84) contains correspondence, papers of weekly conferences, departmental committee memoranda, and other background details. These papers provide insight into the consideration and planning of the administrative machinery to implement the Beveridge Report. The third part (PIN 8/85-167) contains the Ministry of Health papers in connection with the Official Committee on the Beveridge Report, the Central Staff, and implementation of the Report. Of particular significance are the Minutes, Circulated Papers, Memoranda, and annotated copies of the Beveridge Committee from the working files of the Phillips Committee which looked into the report.

LCCN: 93-630183

GUIDE: 331, State Provision for Social Need: The Beveridge Committee Report on the Welfare State. Provides a detailed listing of the contents of each reel. Reel #1 reproduces the printed guide. Available on the Internet from the Adam Matthew Publications Website (http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/state_provision_for_social_need/index.aspx).

1. Great Britain. Inter-Departmental Committee on Social Insurance and Allied Services--Archives. 2. Great Britain. Ministry of Health--Archives. 3. Great Britain. Ministry of National Insurance--Archives. 4. Great Britain. Official Committee on the Beveridge Report--Archives. 5. Social Security--Great Britain--History--Sources.

Stoner collection on Cuban feminism. -- [S.l : s.n, 1989?]. -- 16 microfilm reels : negative.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 90/2104

Contains rare documents on the Cuban women's movement, 1898-1958, with the richest materials before 1940. Filmed in Cuba by Dr. K. Lynn Stoner, the 3 categories of documents are: 1) works by feminists about feminists--essays, journals, published speeches, radio broadcasts, and reports of feminist organizations; 2) works by men about the status of women--views of politicians and jurists on reforming laws about women; 3) literary works on the condition of women by feminist writers--novels, essays, and poetry. Reel 2 has photographs.

LCCN: 90-954579

GUIDE: 214, [A Guide to the Stoner Collection on Cuban Feminism. A Microfilm Collection Held in the Arizona State University Libraries Microform Service].

1. Cuban literature--Women authors. 2. Feminism--Cuba. 3. Cuba--History

Subject headings in microform. -- Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress, Cataloging Distribution Service, 1976- . -- [ ] microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche Z695

Represents the latest edition of Library of Congress subject headings, and those headings established subsequently through the current quarter. Each issue is cumulative.

LCCN; 79-641066

GUIDE: A printed introduction is filed with the microfiche.

1. Subject headings.

The Suffragette fellowship collection, from the Museum of London. -- Brighton, Sussex : Harvester Microforms, 1985. -- 14 microfilm reels.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 85/148

A superb archival collection for the study of the militant suffrage movement in Great Britain during the first decades of the 20th century. The printed materials include pamphlets, plays, newspaper clippings, and annual reports of suffragette organizations, such as the Women's Social and Political Union and the Women's Freedom League. Manuscripts include unpublished autobiographies, police and court documents, and correspondence of pioneers of the movement, such as the Pankhursts, as well as many lesser-known women. Reel 14 contains photographs. The numbering of the documents and the index are unclear and inconsistent. The collection lacks a rational organization; it is neither topical nor chronological. To use this collection requires time and patience.

LCCN: 85-890937

GUIDE: 107, Suffragette Fellowship Collection from the Museum of London. Copied from Reel 1.

1. Women--Great Britain--History--20th century--Sources. 2. Women--Suffrage--Great Britain--20th century--sources. 3. Suffragists--Great Britain--History. 4. Women's Social and Political Union (Great Britain).

Suffragists oral history collection. -- Sanford, N.C. : Microfilming Corporation of America, 1980. -- 41 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 82/300

Consists of interviews with twelve women important in the California and national women's suffrage movement. The twelve represent a variety of backgrounds and approaches to the fight for women's rights. Topics covered in the interviews include suffrage and related women's issues, such as the birth control movement, the National Woman's Party, feminism, the peace movement, the League of Women Voters, and social and governmental reform. Of special interest are a 674-page memoir by Alice Paul on the National Woman's Party founding and leadership, and an interview with Jeannette Rankin, former Member of Congress.

LCCN: 82-161602

GUIDE: AI3.O7 no. 3, New York Times Oral History Program, Oral History Guide No. 3, pp. 111-112. Lists the memoirists.

1. Suffragists--California--Interviews.

Summary of world broadcasts. -- Caversham, England : Monitoring Service of the British Broadcasting Corp., [1939?]- . -- Daily. [Ann Arbor, Mich.] : University Microfilms International, [197-?]- . -- [ ] microfiches : 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 51567; Microfiche 5174; Microfiche (o) 95/2977

Microfilm 51567 (1939-1972); Microfiche 5174 (1973- ); Part 5 only: Microfiche (o) 95/2977 (1993- )

Daily summaries of world broadcasts since 1939. The coverage and format have varied, but recent broadcast summaries are arranged in four parts: Part 1, the USSR; Part 2, Eastern Europe; Part 3, the Far East; and Part 4, the Middle East; and Part 5, Africa, Latin American and the Caribbean. Each report consists of an introduction, sections for international affairs, internal affairs, and special occasions. Sources (press agencies and services) are usually cited; in addition to straight news, there are interviews, full text of speeches, reports and proceedings of congresses, etc. Request by part and by date. Request Part 5 (1993- ) under Microfiche (o) 95/2977. The Library also receives the summaries in paper, which are located in the Newspaper & Current Periodicals Reading Room. The microfiche collection can lag 1-2 years or more.

LCCN: sf9595977 (Part 5 only)

GUIDE: 42, British Broadcasting Corporation. Monitoring Service. August 1939 through December 1972.

1. Soviet Union. 2. Central Europe. 3. Asia. 4. Middle East. 5. Africa. 6. Latin America.

The Survey Associates records. -- Frederick, Md : University Publications of America, c1985. -- 81 microfilm reels.

Contents: Part 1, Forget me not files; Part 2, Editorial files; Calling America files; Part 3, Corporate and financial records.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 86/237

Microfilmed from the holdings of the University of Minnesota Libraries, Social Welfare History Archives. Accompanied by guide, edited and compiled by David Klaassen and Andrea Hinding.

LCCN: 86-893581

GUIDE: Not in LC.

Survey of China mainland press. (1 Nov. 1950- ) -- Hong Kong : American Consulate General, [1950- ]. -- On film: [1 Nov. 1950-30 Sept. 1977].

LC Call Number: Microfilm 01327

See also: Survey of People's Republic of China press.

Survey of conditions of the Indians in the United States : hearings before a subcommittee of the Committee on Indian Affairs, United States Senate, Seventieth Congress, second session, pursuant to S. Res. 79 : a resolution directing the Committee on Indian Affairs of the United States Senate to make a general survey of the conditions of the Indians of the United States. -- Washington, D.C : G.P.O, 1929. -- 38 v. -- 8 microfilm reels ; 35mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 88/241

Hearings held in response to several issues: first, charges of impropriety by the Bureau of Indian Affairs in Indian land matters; second, reported conditions of poverty and disease among Indians; and third, the apparent lack of success in acculturating Indian people into the rest of American society. NOTE: These volumes are also in the Library's book stacks, under the call number E93.U6773 1929.

LCCN: 88-890241

GUIDE: 105-121, A Guide to OSS/State Department Intelligence and Research Reports. VI. Soviet Union.

Survey of Indian reservations. -- Arlington, Va. : University Publications of America, 1975. -- 3 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

Contents: Part 1, Sisseton Agency; Part 2, Rosebud Agency; Part 3, Pine Ridge Agency; Part 4, Crow Creek, Lower Brule, and Flandreau Reservations; Parts 5 and 6, Cheyenne Agency; Parts 7 and 8, Standing Rock Agency.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 88/239

This collection reproduces the eight typescript volumes of individual Sioux Indians' case histories reported by South Dakota social workers in 1935. It also reports on the overall demographics of each reservation. The individual reports give religious affiliation, occupation, health, education, financial status, and court records, if any. They also list marriage dates and relatives, and therefore have value for genealogical research. The reports are arranged alphabetically by individual's name, within each agency volume.

NOTE: The film has been missing since 5/15/89. Original printed volumes of the survey are in the Library's collection under the call number E78.S63A32 (8 volumes).

LCCN: 88-890239

GUIDE: 105-121, Survey of Indian Reservations.

1. Dakota Indians--Social conditions--Sources. 2. Dakota Indians--Reservations.

Survey of People's Republic of China press.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 01327

LCCN: 79-648913

-----Index to Survey of People's Republic of China press, Selections from People's Republic of China magazines, and Current Background.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 01328

LCCN: 80-649949.

-----Extracts from China Mainland magazines.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 01324

Continued by Index to Survey...

(No Library of Congress Online Catalog entry)

-----Current background.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 01325

Continued by Index to Survey...

LCCN: 79-647258

-----Selections from People's Republic of China Magazines.

Microfilm 01326

Continued by Index to Survey...

LCCN: 80-646122

NOTE: Much of the information in this series is superseded by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service. Daily report: People's Republic of China. Survey of People's Republic of China Press provides English language summaries of news reported by the New China News Agency (NCNA), beginning with November 1, 1950. Broad subject areas are grouped together in subject indexes, and news for each day is indexed at the beginning of each day's section. Extracts from China Mainland Magazines [or Publications] is presented by subject--one subject per issue--and provides summaries of speeches and articles that give the Chinese view on that subject. Current Background is issued as a supplement to the news summaries and provides background and reference information not available elsewhere. All three collections are issued by the U.S. Consulate General in Hong Kong.

GUIDE: Not in LC. See index reels, film 013281.

1. Press--China. 2. China--History--1949-1976--Periodicals. 3. China--History--1976- --Periodicals.

The Sutro Library surname, state and local history, and miscellaneous subject catalogs / California State Library Foundation, Sutro Library. --Sacramento, Calif. : The Foundation, 1990. -- 182 microfiches : negative.

Contents: Part 1, Surname catalog (110 fiches); Part 2, State and local history catalog (68 fiches); Part 3, Miscellaneous (4 fiche).

LC Call Number: Microfiche 92/3

The Sutro Library genealogical card catalog of books and other materials for genealogical research.

LCCN: 92-953039

GUIDE: 205, User's Guide to the Sutro Library Surname, State and Local History, and Miscellaneous Subject Catalogs.

1. Sutro Library--Catalogs. 2. Genealogy--Bibliography-- Catalogs. 3. Local history--Bibliography--Catalogs.

Sweet's architectural trade catalog file, Avery Library, Columbia University. --New York, NY : Clearwater Pub. Co, 1987. -- 2334 microfiches.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 90/7075

Manufacturer's building supply catalogs from 1906 to 1949 included in Sweet's Architectural File. Products ranging from door knobs to electrical fixtures to kitchen appliances and window frames are described in many of these catalogs. Published annually, products are grouped together by category in each volume.

NOTE: Collection not located as of 8/95.

LCCN: 90-956113

GUIDE: Not in LC.