Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

KENTUCKY COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Compiled by: Gregory Jenkins, Joseph C. Hickerson, and Ann C. Taft
Series Editor: Joseph C. Hickerson

Publication Date: January 1992; Web Revision: July 2005
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 10
ISSN 0736-4903

For additional information about Archive of Folk Culture collections, contact the Folklife Reading Room. To request copies, see our webpages regarding audio materials and photographic materials. Please refer to the AFC and/or AFS numbers when requesting information. All indications of time duration listed in this finding aid are estimates.

AFS 820-828: Alan Lomax / Aunt Molly Jackson Collection
Nine 12-inch discs of songs sung by Aunt Molly Jackson of Clay County, Kentucky. Recorded in New York City by Alan Lomax and Mary Elizabeth Barnicle, September 1935. (1 hour and 30 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 58B-59A)

AFS 1374-1601: Alan Lomax / Myra E. Hull Collection
Two hundred and twenty-eight 12-inch discs of songs and instrumentals recorded in eastern Kentucky by Alan and Elizabeth Lomax, September and October 1937. Includes performances by Boyd Asher of Hyden, Nora Bagley of Pine Mountain, Maynard Britton of Big Creek, Bill Bundy of Manchester, Tilman Cadle of Pineville, George Davis of Hazard, Jack Garland of Arjay, Jim Garland of Pineville, Munroe Gavedon of West Liberty, Mrs. Nell Hampton of Salyersville, Theophilus G. Hoskins of Hyden, James Howard of Harlan, J. M. Mullins of West Liberty, Mrs. Liza Pace of Hyden, W. M. Stepp of Salyersville, Luther Strong of Hazard, G. D. Vowell of Harlan, Clay Walters of Salyersville, and Walter Williams of Salyersville. (32 hours; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 101A-117A)

AFS 1689-1767: Alan Lomax Ohio and Indiana Collection
Seventy-nine 12-inch discs of songs and instrumentals recorded in Indiana, Kentucky, and Ohio by Alan and Elizabeth Lomax, March and April 1938.

AFS 1697-1700: Four discs containing performances by servicemen of Fort Thomas, Kentucky, March 1938. (30 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 120A)

AFS 1701-1712: Twelve discs containing songs and banjo tunes performed by Pete Steele, originally from Kentucky, recorded in Hamilton, Ohio, March 1938. (1 hour and 30 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 120A-121A)

AFS 1939-1953: Alan Lomax and Mary Elizabeth Barnicle Collection
Fifteen 10-inch discs of songs recorded in New York City by Alan Lomax and Mary Elizabeth Barnicle, November 1937.

AFS 1939-42: Four discs containing songs sung by Aunt Molly Jackson of Clay County, Kentucky. (30 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 136)

AFS 1943-48A; 1949B-50A; 1951A-53B: Eleven discs containing songs sung by Jim Garland and Sarah Ogan Gunning of Pineville, Kentucky. (1 hour; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 136B-137A)

AFS 1950B; 1954-2032: Mary Elizabeth Barnicle Kentucky Collection
Eighty 10-inch discs of banjo and guitar tunes, songs, religious music, and sermons recorded in Kentucky by Mary Elizabeth Barnicle, January 1938. Includes performances by Bill Atkins of Pineville, Willie M. Bledsoe of Pineville, Tilman Cadle of Pineville, the Congregation of Ten Elders of Pineville, Findlay Donaldson of Pineville, Jim and Sarah Garland of Pineville, John Hensley of Pineville, the Mountain Assembly of Church of God in Colmans, and George Roark of Pineville. (8 hours and 45 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 137A- 141A)

AFS 2534-2588; 3335-3341: Alan Lomax / Aunt Molly Jackson Recordings
Sixty-two 12-inch discs of songs sung by Aunt Molly Jackson of Clay County, Kentucky. Recorded in New York City by Alan Lomax, May 1939. (6 hours and 30 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 162B-166A, 219)

AFS 3155-3313: Sidney Robertson Cowell and Charles Seeger / Resettlement Administration and the 1937 National Folk Festival
One hundred fifty-nine 12-inch discs of songs and instrumentals recorded in southern and midwestern states by Sidney Robertson Cowell, Charles Seeger, Margaret Valiant, and others for the Resettlement Administration, 1936-37.

AFS 3259: One disc containing a harmonica solo by "Salty" Holmes of eastern Kentucky. Recorded at the National Folk Festival in Chicago by Sidney Robertson Cowell, May 1937. (10 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 216A)

AFS 3261: One disc containing dance calls for the Winnetka Square Dance Group called by Mr. Hamilton of Kentucky. Recorded at the National Folk Festival in Chicago by Sidney Robertson Cowell, May 1937. (10 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 216A)

AFS 3807: Alan Lomax Recordings, 1939
One 12-inch disc of songs sung by Jackie Foy of Ashland, Kentucky. Recorded at the Library of Congress by John A. Lomax, June 1939. (10 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 247B)

AFS 6718A2-6722: Alan Lomax Kentucky Recordings
Five 12-inch discs of songs recorded in Marrowbone, Kentucky, by George Pullen Jackson and Alan Lomax, August 1942. Includes performances by Addina Palmore Wilson and dulcimer and dingle bow tunes played by Effie Wilson. (1 hour; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 54)

AFS 9829-9868: National Folk Festival, 1938
One 12-inch and thirty-nine 16-inch discs of songs and instrumentals recorded at the National Folk Festival in Washington, D.C., by the U. S. Recording Company, May 1938.

AFS 9848B5-9: One disc containing songs sung by a group under the direction of Edith Fitzpatrick James of Berea College, Kentucky. (7 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 267B)

AFS 10,089: Jeane Ritchie Recording Project
One 10-inch tape of songs sung by Jean Ritchie of Viper, Kentucky. Recorded at the Library of Congress by Herman Norwood, May 1951. (1 hour; LWO 1816)

AFS 10,095: Virgil Sturgill Recordings
One 10-inch tape of songs sung with dulcimer accompaniment by Virgil L. Sturgill, originally of Sutton's Branch, Kentucky. Recorded at the Library of Congress by Herman Norwood, June 1951. (1 hour; LWO 1821)

AFS 10,491-10,493: George and Jean Ritchie Pickow Recordings
Three 7-inch tapes of songs and instrumentals recorded in Kentucky, North Carolina, and Tennessee by George Pickow and Jean Ritchie, 1950-51.

AFS 10,491: One tape containing songs and sermons of an Old Regular Baptist Church service recorded in Jeff, Kentucky, summer 1951. (1 hour; LWO 1922 reel 1; additional tape copy on LWO 8011 reel 46A)

AFS 10,492B: One tape containing banjo tunes and songs performed by Lee Sexton of Ulvah, Kentucky, summer 1951. (30 minutes; LWO 1922 reel 2B; additional tape copy on LWO 8011 reel 46B)

AFS 11,307-11,309: Sidney Robertson Cowell Collection
Three 10-inch tapes of ballads, banjo tunes, dulcimer tunes, English and Gaelic songs, Mexican-American songs, and Old Harp songs recorded in California, Canada, and New York primarily by Sidney Robertson Cowell, August 1951.

AFS 11,309B: One tape containing songs sung by Minnie King of Kentucky, recorded in Los Angeles, California, by Sidney Robertson Cowell and Wayland D. Hand, August 1951. (15 minutes; LWO 2496 reel 3; additional tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 379B)

AFS 11,328: Virgil Sturgill Recordings
One 10-inch tape of songs and personal reminiscences from Kentucky and North Carolina sung and told by Virgil L. Sturgill, originally of Sutton's Branch, Kentucky. Recorded at the Library of Congress by Robert B. Carneal, July 1957. (2 hours; LWO 2586; additional tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 380A)

AFS 11,398: Virgil Sturgill Songs
One 7-inch tape of "The Murder of Lottie Yates," sung by Julia B. Kiser of Gregoryville, Kentucky. Recorded in Olive Hill, Kentucky, by Virgil L. Sturgill, 1957. Also includes songs and narration by Virgil L. Sturgill, originally of Sutton's Branch, Kentucky. (1 hour; LWO 2585; additional tape copy on LWO 8171 reel 39)

AFS 11,710-11,711: John Cohen Folk Music of Kentucky Collection
Two 10-inch tapes of songs, instrumentals, and a church service recorded in Kentucky by John Cohen, 1958. Includes performances by Willie Chapman of Lothair, Bill Cornett of Hindman, James Crase of Bear Branch, George Davis of Hazard, Corbett Grigsby of Hazar, Martha Hall of Mason's Creek, Roscoe Holcomb of Daisy, Lee Sexton of Ulvah, Mr. and Mrs. John Sams of Combs, Marion Sumner of Hazard, and Martin Young of Hazard. (3 hours; LWO 2857- 2858)

AFS 11,859-11,864: Wayland Hand / Songs and Lore of Urban California
Six 10-inch tapes of songs and folklore of urban minority groups in California recorded at U.C.L.A. by Wayland D. Hand, D. K. Wilgus, and various students, 1955-60.

AFS 11,860B: One tape containing tales, anecdotes, and a song from "copy of Joan O'Connor tape, Horse Cave, Kentucky, July, 1960." Duplicated by D. K. Wilgus. (1 hour; LWO 3272 reel 2B)

AFS 12,010-12,012: George Korson Bituminous Songs Collection
Three 10-inch tapes of songs and ballads sung by bituminous coal miners of Alabama, Kentucky, Nova Scotia, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia, recorded by George Korson, March-May 1940.

AFS 12,010A 6-9, 15-17, 21-23; 12,011B 3-4: Two tapes containing songs sung by George Davis of Glomawr, Joe Glancy of Harlan, Richard Lawson of Kenvir, William March of Kenvir, and Wesley J. Turner of near Shamrock Mountain, eastern Kentucky. (1 hour; LWO 3960 reels 1-2)

AFS 12,343: Daisy Valentine Recordings
One 7-inch tape of songs with guitar and piano accompaniment performed by Daisy Valentine (Hammerman), originally of Harlan, Kentucky. Recorded in Washington, D.C., by Daisy Valentine, February 1965. (1 hour; LWO 4608)

AFS 13,577-13,671: Robert W. Gordon Disc Recordings
Twenty-two 6-inch, 3 7-inch, 1 7.5-inch, 43 8-inch, 24 10-inch, and 2 12-inch discs of air checks, instrumentals, letters, sea chanteys, and songs recorded in Kentucky, Washington, D.C., and West Virginia by Robert Winslow Gordon, 1929-32.

AFS 13,603-13,608: Six discs containing songs sung by Jean Thomas recorded in Ashland, Kentucky, March 1932. (1 hour; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 433B)

AFS 13,672-13,680: William H. Tallmadge Duplication Project
Nine 10-inch tapes of Baptist lining-out hymns recorded in Knott County, Kentucky, and Lima, Ohio, by William H. Tallmadge, May-July and October 1968. The collection includes 2 linear inches of notes. (LWO 5611)

AFS 13,992-14,021: National Federation of Music Clubs Archivists / Folk Music Materials
Nine 3-inch, 3 5-inch, 17 7-inch tapes, and 1 10-inch disc of songs and instrumentals recorded by regional National Federation of Music Clubs archivists and contributors, 1931-63. Compiled and annotated by Annabel Morris Buchanan.

AFS 13,992-97: Six tapes containing songs and ballads recorded and sung by Annabel Morris Buchanan of Paducah, Kentucky, August 1963. (6 hours; LWO 5745 reels 1-6)

AFS 14,008: One tape containing songs sung by William Henry Young of Knott County, Kentucky. Recorded by Annabel Morris Buchanan, August 1963. (2 hours; LWO 5745 reel 17)

AFS 14,009A: One tape containing songs sung by "Uncle Jim" Drain of Paducah, Kentucky. Recorded by Annabel Morris Buchanan, August 1963. (1 hour; LWO 5745 reel 18)

AFS 14,009B: One tape containing fiddle tunes played by Clifton Ferguson of Paducah, Kentucky. Recorded by Annabel Morris Buchanan, August 1963. (30 minutes; LWO 5745 reel 18)

AFS 14,011; 14,016-18: Four tapes containing songs sung and recorded by Edith Fitzpatrick James in Prestonburg, Kentucky, 1962. (1 hour; LWO 5745 reels 20, 25-27)

AFS 14,201-14,203: Guthrie T. Meade Duplication Project
Three 10-inch tapes of songs and instrumentals recorded in Indiana and Kentucky by Guthrie T. Meade, 1958-60.

AFS 14,201B-203A: Three tapes containing banjo tunes performed by Harry Jarbo of near Louisville, Kentucky, and songs sung by Minnie Lyons of Eighty-Eight, Kentucky, recorded in Louisville, August 1959. (3 hours 30 minutes; LWO 6069 reels 1-3)

AFS 14,248-14,250: Renfro Valley Barn Dance
Three 7-inch tapes of the Renfro Valley Barn Dance and Homecoming Show recorded in Renfro Valley, Kentucky, by the Renfro Valley Tape Club, June 1970. Gift of Reuben R. Powell. (3 hours; LWO 6112)

AFS 14,428: Reuben R. Powell / Renfro Valley Tape Club
One 7-inch tape of songs and tunes of the Renfro Valley Homecoming, recorded June 1970, and excerpts from the American Folk Song Festival in Olive Hill, Kentucky, recorded 1968. Gift of Reuben R. Powell. (2 hours; LWO 6378)

AFS 14,771: Gerry Correll / Mary "Grandma" Smith Duplication Project
One 7-inch tape of songs, ballads, and banjo tunes performed by Mrs. "Grandma" Smith. Recorded in Corbin, Kentucky, by Jerry Correll, spring 1972. (30 minutes; LWO 6964)

AFS 15,053-15,074: Peter R. Hoover Collection
Twenty-two 10-inch tapes of songs and instrumentals recorded in Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, North Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia by Peter R. Hoover, 1959-67.

AFS 15,059A: One tape containing fiddle tunes performed by James Crase of Bear Branch, Kentucky, recorded August 1960. (1 hour; LWO 6880 reel 7A)

AFS 15,063A: One tape containing fiddle tunes performed by Charles Hoskins of Hyden, Kentucky, recorded August 1961. (45 minutes; LWO 6880 reel 11A)

AFS 15,063B: One tape containing fiddle tunes performed by Santford Kelly of West Liberty, Kentucky, recorded August 1961. (1 hour; LWO 6880 reel 11B)

AFS 15,067B-15,068A: Two tapes containing fiddle and banjo tunes performed by Smith Brown and Santford Kelly of West Liberty, Kentucky, recorded August 1963. (1 hour and 30 minutes; LWO 6880 reels 15B-16A)

AFS 17,495-17,501: Lasserre Bradley / Primitive Baptist Music of North Carolina and Kentucky
Seven 7-inch tapes of Primitive Baptist singing recorded at various congregations in Kentucky and North Carolina by Lasserre Bradley Jr., 1961-71.

AFS 17,495: One tape containing songs sung by Lenville Ball of West Liberty, Kentucky, recorded in Pike County, Kentucky, ca. 1971. (1 hour; LWO 8398 reel 1)

AFS 17,541-17,567: Art Rosenbaum Duplication Project
Twenty-seven 10-inch tapes of ballads, blues, country music, and banjo and fiddle tunes recorded in Indiana, Ireland, Kentucky, and New York by Arthur Rosenbaum, 1958-71.

AFS 17,543; 17,547-17,548: Three tapes containing songs and instrumentals performed by Bert Hare of Asher, Clester Hounchell of Grace, Omie and Roy Rose of Helton, Rob Sizemore of Manchester, and J. M. Stone of Manchester, 1961 and 1963. (6 hours; LWO 8487 reels 3, 7-8)

AFS 17,770-17,968: Margot Mayo Collection
One hundred ninety 10-inch and 12-inch discs, 8 7-inch tapes, and 1 5-inch tape of radio programs and home recordings from the 1930s and 1950s recorded in New York City by members of the American Square Dance Group, and ballads, banjo, and fiddle tunes recorded in Kentucky, North Carolina, and Tennessee by Margot Mayo and others, 1946-47.

AFS 17,824; 17,826; 17,832-33; 17,968: Four discs and 1 tape containing banjo tunes and songs played and sung by Lulu Crisp and Rufus Crisp of Allen, Kentucky, and Stuart Jamieson, August 1946 and April 1947. (1 hour and 15 minutes; LWO 8920 reel 4; AFS 17,968 on LWO 8635)

AFS 17,828-31: Four discs containing banjo and fiddle tunes and songs played and sung by Palmer Crisp and Sam Leslie, of Allen, Kentucky, August 1946. (45 minutes; tape copy on LWO 8920 reel 4B)

AFS 18,092-18,097: Coon Creek Girls Recordings
Six 16-inch discs of songs, with banjo and guitar accompaniment, by the Coon Creek Girls of Renfro Valley, Kentucky, recorded by the Office of War Information, primarily in 1944. Includes copies of two Vocalion releases, ca. 1938. (2 hours; tape copy on LWO 8920 reel 13)

AFS 18,880: Pine Mountain Record Company / A.P. Carter, and other performers recordings
One 5-inch tape of songs sung by A. P. Carter with A. L. Phipps and Kathleen Phipps, of Barbourville, Kentucky, on guitar. Recorded by the Pine Mountain Recording Company, May 1954. (30 minutes; LWO 9195)

AFS 19,370: William H. Tallmadge / Songs from Kentucky and North Carolina
One 5-inch tape of songs recorded in Kentucky and North Carolina by William H. Tallmadge of Berea College, Kentucky, 1968-70.

AFS 19,370A: One tape containing songs sung by Marie Hays of near Hindman, Kentucky, July 1968. (15 minutes; LWO 12,891)

AFS 19,375: Neal "Pop" Collins Recordings
One 7-inch 33 1/3 rpm disc of banjo tunes played by Neal "Pop" Collins and accompanied by his sons, Ransone on tenor guitar and Ruey on fiddle. Recorded in Catlettsburg, Kentucky, by Bernie Bolte and Elbert Bowe, ca. 1971. (30 minutes)

AFS 19,419: Louisville Jug Music
One 5-inch tape of jug band tunes sung by four Louisville businessmen and a jug blower, Willie Black, Jr. Recorded in Louisville, Kentucky, by W. E. Lyons Brown, 1955. (30 minutes; LWO 12,943)

AFS 19,536-19,539: Gene Moore Interview of Elizabeth Barnicle-Cadle and Tilman Cadle
Four 7-inch tapes of an interview with Mary Elizabeth Barnicle and Tillman Cadle, of Townsend, Tennessee, by Michael Clark and Gene Moore, January-February 1977. Subjects include personal and family history; Mary Elizabeth Barnicle's career as a folklorist; friendships with Zora Neale Hurston, Huddie "Leadbelly" Ledbetter, Alan and John A. Lomax, and Aunt Molly Jackson; fieldwork in Kentucky; and a Harlan County strike. (9 hours; LWO 12,983)

AFS 19,559-19,600: Ralph Rinzler Duplication Project
Forty-two 10-inch tapes of instrumentals, interviews, songs, and tales recorded at festivals, home concerts, and workshops in Kentucky, North Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia by Ralph Rinzler and others, 1960- 65.

AFS 19,581: One tape containing songs by Jean Ritchie of Viper, Kentucky, and others, recorded at the Tyrone Guthrie Theater in Minneapolis, Minnesota, February 1964. (2 hours; LWO 12,961 reel 23)

AFS 19,582-19,583: Two tapes containing performances by John Lair in Renfro Valley, Kentucky, and gourd fiddle tunes performed by Dewey Shepherd in David, Kentucky, April 1964. (4 hours; LWO 12,961 reels 24-25)

AFS 19,624-19,631: Guthrie Meade and John Harrod Duplication Project
Eight 10-inch tapes of fiddle tunes recorded in Kentucky by Guthrie T. Meade and John Harrod, 1977-78. Performers include Darley Fulks of Campton, Kelly Gilbert of Frankfort, Everett Kays of Anderson County, and Bill Livers of Monterey. (16 hours; LWO 12,997)

AFS 19,844-19,873: National Folk Festival, 1972
Thirty 10-inch tapes of American Indian, bluegrass, blues, old-time, and sacred music recorded at the National Folk Festival in Vienna, Virginia, July 1972.

AFS 19,847-19,848; 19,855; 19,860: Four tapes containing performances by Sparky Rucker of Kentucky. (8 hours; LWO 15,596 reels 4-5, 12, 17)

AFS 19,852: One tape containing performances by John Prine of Kentucky. (2 hours; LWO 15,596 reel 9)

AFS 19,855-19,857: Three tapes containing performances by Asa Martin of Kentucky. (6 hours; LWO 15,596 reels 12-14)

AFS 20,101-20,102: George Armstrong Radio Program Collection
Two 10-inch tapes of "Cecil Sharp in the Southern Appalachians," broadcast on WFMT (Chicago) November 21, 1980, and "Brasstown (North Carolina) Memories," never broadcast. Contains interviews with Olive Dame Campbell, Jean Ritchie Pickow, Edna Ritchie Baker, and others, recorded by George Armstrong, ca. 1980. (RWA 0331-0332)

AFC 1928/002: Robert Winslow Gordon Cylinder Collection
Nineteen 10-inch tapes (copied from 825 wax cylinders) recorded by Robert Winslow Gordon 1922-1928 in California, Georgia, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, and West Virginia. Represents a cross section of American folksong including Negro blues, spirituals, and ballads, British-American ballads, gospel singing, sea chanties, recitations, and miscellaneous recordings such as the inauguration of President Coolidge. Singers include Bascom Lamar Lunsford, Nellie Galt, and others.

AFC 1935/002: John Lomax Southern States Collection, 1934-35
Two hundred and eighty-six 12-inch discs of songs and instrumentals recorded mostly in southern states by John A. and Alan Lomax, 1933-35.

AFS 73: One disc containing songs sung by Aunt Molly Jackson, of Clay County, Kentucky, recorded in Wilton, Connecticut, March 1935. (10 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4844 reel 6B)

AFS 74-75A; 76-77: Four discs containing songs performed by James Howard (with fiddle) and G. D. Vowell, recorded in Harlan, Kentucky, August 1933. (45 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4844 reels 6B-7A)

AFC 1935/003: Jean Thomas American Folk Song Festival Collection
Twenty-two 12-inch discs of songs and instrumentals primarily of Kentucky performers, recorded at the American Folk Song Festival in Ashland, Kentucky, by Jean Thomas, June 1934. Includes performances by Walter Caldwell, Curtis Dartey, Volney Fraley, Edith Fitzpatrick James, Ed Morrison, and Jilson Setters. (3 hours; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 22A-23A) (Includes AFS 287-308)

AFC 1937/002: Captain Pearl R. Nye Collection
Fifty-four 12-inch discs of songs and instrumentals recorded in several southern states by John A. Lomax, summer of 1937. (Includes AFS 1001-1054)

AFS 1010-1025: Sixteen discs containing songs and fiddle tunes primarily of Kentucky performers, recorded in Ashland, Kentucky, June 1937. Includes performances by Jilson Setters and songs sung by Little Babe Caldwell, Walter Caldwell, and Alice Williams. (2 hours and 30 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 71B- 75B)

AFC 1939/005: Herbert Halpert 1939 Southern States Recording Expedition
Four hundred nineteen 12-inch discs of songs and instrumentals recorded in several southern states by Herbert Halpert, March through June 1939, under the joint sponsorship of the Library of Congress and the Folk Arts Committee of the W.P.A.

AFS 2770-2774; 2790B-2797: Thirteen discs containing performances by Finley Adams and Samuel Simpson Adams, and stories and folk remedies told by Samuel Simpson Adams, recorded in Dunham, Kentucky, March 1939. (2 hours and 30 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 179, 181)

AFS 2789-90A: Two discs containing songs sung by children, recorded in Dunham, Kentucky, March 1939. (15 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 181A)

AFC 1948/003: Artus Moser Recordings
One hundred and seventeen discs of ballads, fiddle tunes, and songs recorded in Kentucky, North Carolina, and Tennessee by Artus M. Moser, 1942-1946.

AFS 7927-7944: Eighteen discs containing ballads, fiddle tunes, and songs primarily of Kentucky performers, recorded at the Renfro Valley Folk Festival in Renfro Valley, Kentucky, April 1946. Includes performances by Pleaz Mobley of Manchester and Jean Ritchie of Viper. (2 hours and 15 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 75A-76B)

AFC 1948/023: Margot Mayo Collection
Seventy-six 12-inch and 3 10-inch discs of fiddle tunes, songs, and square dance tunes recorded in Kentucky, North Carolina, and Tennessee by Stuart Jamieson, Margot Mayo, and Freyda Simon, September 1946.

AFS 8474-8505; 8512; 8520-8521; 8524-8531; 8545-8550: Forty-nine discs containing banjo, fiddle, and guitar tunes, and vocals. Performers include Lulu Crisp, Palmer Crisp, Rufus Crisp, F. M. Howell, and Sam Leslie, recorded in Allen, Kentucky; Andy and Hasroe Ward in Buckingham, Kentucky; Cora Hall in Drift, Kentucky; Forrest Burchett, Palmer Crisp, and Sam Leslie in Emma, Kentucky; Mr. and Mrs. Walker Mayo in Lancer, Kentucky; Charles Dingus, Mrs. Sarah Dingus, Aunt Liz Hill, and Mrs. Pearl Mayo in Martin, Kentucky; and Bob Bassie Clark, Mrs. Fannie Jarrell, Jay Salyers, Woodrow Salyers in Prestonburg, Kentucky (7 hours and 30 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 115B-117A, 118A, 119, 120B-121A)

AFC 1948/035: Mrs. E. Stice / Kentucky Folksongs
One 16-inch disc of songs sung by Mrs. E. Stice from Kentucky. Recorded at the Library of Congress, November 1945. (15 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 140B) (Includes AFS 8767)

AFC 1950/005: Herbert Halpert Collection of Kentucky Folk Music
Twenty-eight 12-inch discs of songs recorded in Kentucky by Herbert Halpert of Murray State College, 1948-49. Includes performances by Morner Bowden of Murray, Ewing Jackson of Murray, Nonnie Shanklin of Hopkinsville, Southern Harmony Singers of Benton, and Prudie Tillman of Hopkinsville. (5 hours and 45 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 255B-258B). (Includes AFS 9739-9766)

AFC 1955/007: Wyatt Insko / Folk Music from Eastern Kentucky
Fourteen 7-inch tapes of banjo, dulcimer, and fiddle tunes and songs by Kentucky musicians recorded in Berea and Lexington, Kentucky, and southern Ohio by Wyatt Insko, July 1954. Includes performances by Jesse Amburgey of Knott County, Jethro Amburgey of Hindman, Floyd Burchett of Brushy Fork, Mrs. Rosie Foley and Swan Ledford of Natural Bridge, Buell Kazee of Lexington, Pleaz Mobley of Manchester, Balus and Kitty Singleton Ritchie of Viper, and Clarence H. and Ann Wyatt of Perry County. (14 hours; LWO 2249; additional tape copy on LWO 8011 reels 94-97) (Includes AFS 10,882-10,895)

AFC 1970/001: Eleanor Dickinson Collection
Eighty-three 10-inch tapes of revival church services, creek baptisms, grave decorating services, interviews, and tent revivals, recorded in Kentucky, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia by Eleanor Dickinson, 1972-81.

AFS 15,456A: One tape containing an interview with Brother Harrison Mayes of Middlesboro, Kentucky, August 1972. (2 hours; LWO 7152 reel 2A)

AFS 19,139-19,140; 19,145: Three tapes containing an interview with folk artist and preacher Brother Harrison Mayes and Sister Harrison Mayes of Middlesboro, Kentucky, July 1976. (6 hours; LWO 9619 reels 7-8, 13)

AFS 20,281-20,283; 20,295; 20,305: Five tapes containing interviews with folk artist and preacher Brother Harrison Mayes, recorded in Middlesboro, Kentucky, 1978-79. (3 hours; LWO 16,506 reels 15-17, 29, 39)

AFS 20,288: One tape containing a lecture entitled "Appalachian Religion in the Nineteenth Century," delivered by Loyal Jones of the Appalachian Center in Berea, Kentucky, August 1979. (45 minutes; LWO 16,506 reels 21)

AFS 23,165: One tape containing religious radio programs, including from Adairville, Kentucky, recorded off the air, August 1981. (2 hours; RWA 8368)

AFS 23,180-23,181: Two tapes containing interviews with folk artist and preacher Brother Harrison Mayes, and Lillie Mayes, recorded in Middlesboro, Kentucky. (Four hours; RWA 7820-7821)

AFC 1971/001: Eleanor Jean Bonar Collection of Songs from Iowa and Kentucky
Ten linear inches of manuscript pages of ballad texts, folksongs, popular songs, and poetry collected from family members (especially the Bonar-Batchelder family), friends, high school students, and published sources. Many are from the Appalachian Region, some songs were collected by Lona Counts at Berea College (Kentucky), recorded from oral tradition. Contributors from Iowa are the focus for the collection, as is shown on Bonar's hand drawn map. Most song texts date from 1930-1939, a scrapbook has clippings dated 1894-1954 with articles from the popular press by or about other folksong collectors, including John Jacob Niles, Jean Thomas, Helen Hartness Flanders, and George Korson, plus articles on temperance songs. A few items are song texts in family papers dated 1853-1874, and there are musical transcriptions for tunes for some of the songs. Also includes three pamphlets: "American Folk Lore Paul Bunyan Tales" / Charles E. Brown (Madison, Wisc.: State Historical Museum, 1922); "Mountain Ballads for Social Singing" / selected by James Watt Raine, music collected by Cecil J. Sharp (Berea, Ky.: Berea College Press, 1923); and "Little Studies in American Music for Home Project Groups and 4-H Girls' Clubs" / Fannie R. Buchanan (Ames, Iowa: Iowa State College Extension Service, Nov. 1937).

AFC 1973/009: Frank Traficante Collection of Kentucky Folk Music and Lore
Six 10-inch tapes of banjo tunes, interviews, songs, and stories recorded in Kentucky by Frank Traficante, March-April 1972. Includes performances by Edna Ritchie Baker and Floyd Baker of Winchester, Buell Kazee of Winchester, Pleaz Mobley of Manchester, and Lily May Pennington of Lexington. Also includes a church service at Pleasant Green Baptist Church in Lexington. (12 hours; LWO 7284) (Includes AFS 15,571-15,576)

AFC 1973/013: Lawrence Haley Duplication Project
Three 10-inch tapes of instrumentals and songs performed by James Edward Haley, Martha Ella Haley, and Ralph Haley recorded on home disc recordings in Ashland, Kentucky, and Cincinnati, Ohio, by Ralph Haley, 1946. Also includes an interview, conducted by Alan Jabbour, with Lawrence Haley of Ashland, son of James Haley, about his parents' musical life, recorded at the Library of Congress, May 1973. (6 hours; LWO 7331) (Includes AFS 15,597-15,599)

AFC 1973/015: Harold H. Helm / "The Fox" Song
One 7-inch tape of Judge John B. Rodes singing "The Fox," recorded in Bowling Green, Kentucky, ca. 1955-65. Gift of Joseph T. Wilson who obtained it from Judge Rodes's daughter Mrs. Harold H. Helm. (10 minutes; LWO 7359) (Includes AFS 15,605)

AFC 1973/018: Foister Caldwell Recording Project
One 10-inch tape of gospel songs and hymns sung by Foister and Nancy Caldwell of Roark, Kentucky, recorded at the Library of Congress by Robert B. Carneal and Alan Jabbour, July 1973. (2 hours; LWO 7399) (Includes AFS 15,608)

AFC 1973/026: Chris Delaney / Fiddle Music
Eleven 10-inch tapes of cajun music, fiddle tunes, and copies of hillbilly 78s recorded in Arkansas, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and West Virginia by Chris Delaney, September-October, 1973.

AFS 16,986; 16,987A: Two tapes containing performances by Mary Burchett and Winfred Burchett of Louisa, Kentucky, Alva Green of Sandy Hook, Kentucky, and Ott Wilson of Morehead, Kentucky, September 1973. (3 hours; LWO 7632 reels 3, 4A)

AFC 1977/016: Mary Elizabeth Barnicle-Cadle Recordings Collection
One 10-inch tape of instrumentals and songs recorded in Kentucky, New York, and Tennessee by Mary Elizabeth Barnicle, 1935-45. [catalog record]

AFS 18,963A6-12: One tape containing songs sung by Aunt Molly Jackson of Clay County, Kentucky, October 1939. (45 minutes; LWO 9417)

AFS 18,963B1-8: One tape containing songs sung by Jean Ritchie and her sisters of Viper, Kentucky, December 1946. (45 minutes; LWO 9417)

AFC 1977/020: Pat Dunford Duplication Project Collection
Twenty-five 10-inch tapes of banjo and fiddle tunes and songs recorded in Indiana, Kentucky, and Virginia by Patrick Dunford and others, 1962-69. [catalog record]

AFS 19,022; 19,027; 19,030B: Three tapes containing performances by Bert Hare of Asher, Clester Hounchell of Grace, Omie and Roy Rose of Helton, and Riley Shepherd of Hindman, 1962-65. (4 hours and 30 minutes; LWO 9456 reels 10, 15, 18)

AFC 1977/022: Richard Chase Appalachian Recordings
Twenty-one 10-inch, 10 12-inch discs, and 1 4-inch, 1 5-inch, and 5 7-inch tapes of songs and tales recorded in Kentucky, North Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia by Richard Chase and others, 1935-53. Richard Chase's field recordings of Appalachian folklore and music. Ballads by Horton Barker and others, shape note and gospel singing, 19th c. sentimental and comic songs, tales, games and recitations recorded in Virginia, North Carolina, Tennessee, Kentucky. Also recordings of Chase and others in various non-folk performances. [catalog record]

AFS 19,041-19,047: Seven tapes containing ballads, instrumentals, and songs by Clarence Garrett recorded in Pleasant View, Kentucky, by Richard Chase, December 1945. (4 hours; LWO 9615 reels 1-7)

AFC 1977/027: John McCutcheon Duplication Project
Three 10-inch tapes of ballads, dance, dulcimer, and melodeon tunes, and songs recorded in Kentucky, North Carolina, Ohio, and Tennessee by John McCutcheon, 1975-76. The collection includes 51 pages of notes. [catalog record]

AFS 19,130: One tape containing melodeon tunes played by Michael J. Kennedy of Covington, Kentucky, recorded in Cincinnati, Ohio, October 1976. (2 hours; LWO 9566 reel 1)

AFC 1979/014: A Comparative Study of German and Kentucky Moon Beliefs by Katherine Rosser Martin
M.A. Thesis, Western Kentucky University, 1974. 67 pages. [catalog record]

AFC 1979/018: "I Love Ta Plow!": The Role of Traditional Farm Women in Peytonsburg, Kentucky by Linda C. White
M.A. Thesis, Western Kentucky University, 1976. 65 pages. Contains information about women farmers, quilting, weaving, and gardening. [catalog record]

AFC 1982/017: Been a Long Time Travelin', Three Primitive Baptist Women co-produced by Melanie Sovine and Sue Smith
One audiocassette of a radio documentary originally broadcast over WBKY-FM, University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky. Performances of Primitive Baptist hymns and interviews with church members Dale Ann Price, Pearlie Ann Price, and Cleo Green, narrated by Melanie L. Sovine and co-produced with Sue Smith of WBKY-FM. The collection includes a 17-page transcript.

AFC 1984/023: Steve Harrison / Ted Gossett Fiddling Collection
Two 7-inch tapes of fiddle tunes and interviews with Ted Gossett, with accompaniment by Garry Harrison on guitar and Steve Harrison on banjo. Recorded in Graham, Kentucky, by Steve Harrison, July 1984. (One hour fifteen minutes; RXA 9957-9958) (Includes AFS 24,466-24,467)

AFC 1985/016: Kentucky Center for the Arts Program / Exhibitor's Manual for Patterns Between Rivers Collection
One bound exhibitor's manual documenting the exhibit "Patterns Between the Rivers: Tradition in North Central Kentucky," staged from August-December, 1985, in various locations in Kentucky. The exhibit documents, skills, crafts, and beliefs in North Central Kentucky. Part of the Kentucky Folk Project; produced by the Folk Arts Program of the Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville, Kentucky. The collection includes 2 Wang Corp. booklets, a brochure, photocopied articles, and correspondence.

AFC 1986/007: Marynell Young "Vintage Fiddling in Eastern Kentucky" Collection
One bound volume (201 pages) describing the project entitled "Vintage Fiddling in Eastern Kentucky" conducted by Marynell Young, 1984-1986, with support from the Appalachian Development Center, Morehead State University, and the Kentucky Folklife Foundation. The collection includes tape logs from oral history interviews conducted by Young with eastern Kentucky fiddlers, musicians, and family members including Alfred Bailey, Mary G. Bailey, Virgil Alfrey, Clela B. Alfrey, Chillson Leach, J.P. Fraley and Annadeene Fraley (with audiocassette of performance and interview), David Sizemore, Hiram Stamper, and Clyde T. Davenport. Includes 7 black-and-white photographs (photocopies) of fiddlers taken by David Bartlett; photocopies of clippings, programs, and correspondence from the performers' personal scrapbooks; and original performers' signed releases for the Kentucky Oral History Commission. Posters advertise the collection and the 10th anniversary Appalachian Celebration, June 22-28, 1986.

AFC 1988/002: Halbert H. Thornberry / Thornberry-Kentucky Farm - Home String Band Collection
Five audiocassettes of recordings made from 1962-1976 of the Thornberry-Kentucky Farm-Home String Band at various family gatherings in Poole, Robards, Roller Sheldon, Henderson, and Morgenfield, Kentucky, and in Urbana, Illinois. The collection includes three boxes and one scrapbook of correspondence, biographical information, photographs, recording; inventories, booklets, music, and articles, and five microfiche sheets and 1 negative sheet of "Bicentennial Early Kentucky Fiddler and Costume."

AFC 1995/004: Mike Seeger Collection
Two hundred and seventy-five 10-inch tapes of bluegrass, country, and folk music, recorded in California, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Ohio, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, D.C., and West Virginia, primarily by Mike Seeger, 1953-67. The collection includes three linear inches of computer disks, correspondence, notes, and photos. Consult a reference librarian for recordings from Kentucky.

AFC 1998/004: Eric Larson / Otto Martin Larson Collection
One audiocassette of 23 ragtime and other versions of 7 piano pieces played by Otto Martin Larson (1895-1961), of Hammond, Indiana; Chicago, Illinois; and Detroit, Michigan. Two pieces are his original compositions: "Old Kentucky," and "Sarabelle and Johnny." The other titles are: "Golden Days," "It Had to Be You," "Kiss Me Again," "Liebestraum," and "You and I." Larson initially played in silent movie theaters, and later played in theaters and night clubs. The collection includes 25 pages of biographical information, song lyrics, and program notes.

AFC 2000/001: Local Legacies Collection
Four hundred and five linear feet (approximately 90,000 manuscript pages, 475 sound recordings, 13,000 graphic materials, 330 electronic media, and 75 artifacts) of documentation of local festivals, fairs, parades, and other community-based events from each U.S. state, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories and trusts. The Local Legacies Collection was donated through the efforts of individuals, organizations, and institutions asked to participate by members of Congress. This project was part of the Library of Congress Bicentennial celebration in the year 2000. [online presentation]

AFC 2002/010: Eddie Pennington Concert and Interview Collection
Two audiocassettes, 1 DAT, 33 photographs, and 1 videocassette of a concert featuring Eddie Pennington, thumbpicking-style guitarist, with Alonzo Pennington, Linda Lay, David Lay, and David McLaughlin of the Appalachian Trail band. The collection includes an audio interview with Eddie Pennington conducted by Bob Gates, director of the Kentucky Folklife Program, 33 black-and-white photographs, concert publicity, and administrative materials. [catalog record]

Microfilm Collections

Chamberlain, William W. Chamberlain. Folk Music in the Kentucky Barrens. M.A. Thesis, Leland Stanford University, 1940. Microfilm Number: 97/1106. [catalog record]

Shearin, Hubert G. and Combs, Josiah Henry. A Syllabus of Kentucky Folk-songs. Lexington, Kentucky: Transylvania Print Co., 1911. 43 pages. Microfilm Number: 97/1125. [catalog record]