Alcohol and Other Drug(AOD)-Related Databases 
Following is a list of databases that may be useful to alcohol researchers. Many of these databases may be searched free of charge and are arranged by broad categories. A list of fee-based databases is also included. Click on the database name below for a description of its contents and a link to the database.
Databases Covering Alcohol–Related Research
ALAC Library Catalogue
ALAC Research Database
Alcohol Concern Library Database
Alcohol Control Database
Alcohol History Database
Alcohol Industry Database
Alcohol Policy Information System (APIS)
Alcohol-Related Injury and Violence Literature Database
Alcohol Studies Database
Global Alcohol Database
National Database of FAS and Substance Use During Pregnancy Resources
Databases Covering General Substance Abuse
Center for Addiction and Mental Health Library
Cork Database
Database of the Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse
Drug Database
Drug Policy Alliance
European Legal Database on Drugs
Evaluation Instruments Bank
Indiana Prevention Resource Center Databases
Join Together Online (JTO)
Media Awareness Project (MAP)
Policy Information Exchange Online (PIE)
Virtual Clearinghouse on Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drugs
Working Partners Substance Abuse Information Database (SAID)
Databases Covering Related Research Topics
Combined Health Information Database (CHID)
Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects (CRISP)
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) Database
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database (NCJRS)
Violence Literature Database (VioLit)
Publisher Databases Containing Information on Alcohol–Related Research
Fee–Based Databases: Alcohol–Related Research Topics
Addiction Abstracts Online
Biological Abstracts
Current Contents
Gale Group Health and Wellness Database
Periodical Abstracts Plus Text
PsycINFO
ScienceDirect
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Social SciSearch
Web of Science
Databases Covering Alcohol–Related Research
These databases may be searched for information on alcohol–related research. No fee is charged.
UNITED STATES
Alcohol History Database—Provider: Rutgers University of Alcohol Studies
The Alcohol History Collection is an assortment of over 500 monographs, pamphlets, and journals on the Temperance and Prohibition movements. It includes images in the form of drawings, engravings, photographs, and portraits. The dates of these works range from the 1700s to the 1960s, concentrating mostly in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Only bibliographic citations are available, not abstracts or full–text documents.
Alcohol Industry Database—Provider: Marin Institute
Contains citations and brief abstracts for over 13,000 articles and news stories about the alcohol beverage industry, alcohol policy, and prevention efforts. The time period covered is 1991 to present, and it is updated monthly.
Alcohol Policy Information System (APIS)—Provider: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
APIS is comprised of two parts: “Detailed Information on Selected Alcohol Policy Topics,” which provides detailed information on each policy topic, and an “Archive of Alcohol–Related Bills and Regulations,” which gives summaries and text of all alcohol–related bill and regulations enacted or adopted in the United States at either the State or Federal level since January 1, 2002.
Alcohol–Related Injury and Violence Literature Database—Provider: Trauma Foundation
This database provides bibliographic references to literature useful in addressing the problem of alcohol–related injury and violence from a public health perspective. With a few exceptions, this database does not contain references to motor vehicle crashes. It does not provide abstracts, is updated monthly, and contains approximately 900 records from the 1980s to the present.
Alcohol Studies Database—Provider: Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies
The Alcohol Studies Database contains citations of over 55,000 documents since 1987. The primary focus of the database is on research and professional materials dealing with beverage alcohol, its use, and related consequences. It provides bibliographic citations only. No new documents have been added to this database since 2002.
EUROPE
Alcohol Control Database—Provider: World Health Organization (WHO)
The Alcohol Control Database provides data to track and assess alcohol policies and their implementation within and across countries of the European region. Information can be viewed either on a country-by-country basis or in consolidated country comparison tables.
CANADA
National Database of FAS and Substance Use During Pregnancy Resources—Provider: Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse (CCSA)
This is a database of Canadian resources (print and nonprint). Subject areas include prevention, intervention, and identification of Fetal Alcohol Syndrome.
NEW ZEALAND
ALAC Library Catalogue—Provider: Alcohol Advisory Council of New Zealand (ALAC)
The ALAC Library Catalogue contains bibliographic citations, often with notes or brief abstracts, to literature in the field of alcohol use and abuse, with particular emphasis on New Zealand material. It includes over 6,000 references to journal articles, books, pamphlets, videos, reports, conference proceedings, and kits.
ALAC Research Database—Provider: Alcohol Advisory Council of New Zealand (ALAC)
This database provides bibliographic details without abstracts for more than 700 alcohol–related research and other publications produced by New Zealand researchers from January 1990 to present. It is intended as a basic resource for researchers, educators, health workers, community organizations, policymakers, and others with an interest in New Zealand-specific alcohol–related issues.
UNITED KINGDOM
Alcohol Concern Library Database—Provider: Alcohol Concern
This database contains the extensive holdings of Alcohol Concern. Alcohol Concern produces a range of publications covering a spectrum of alcohol related issues.
INTERNATIONAL
Global Alcohol Database—Provider: World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO’s Global Alcohol Database provides a standardized reference source of information for global epidemiological surveillance of alcohol use, alcohol related problems, and alcohol policies. This database brings together a large amount of information on the alcohol and health situation in individual countries and trends in alcohol use and related mortality since 1961. It includes information on alcohol production, trade, health effects, and national alcohol control measures and policies. It contains actual data and tables rather than bibliographic citations.
Databases Covering Substance Abuse
These databases may be searched for information about abuse of alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs. No fee is charged.
UNITED STATES
Cork Database—Provider: Project Cork Institute at Dartmouth Medical School
The Cork Database includes over 51,000 items on substance abuse, indexed by over 400 terms. These are primarily from the professional literature and include journal articles, books, book chapters, and reports. The database is updated quarterly, with approximately 1,200 items added each quarter. The collection includes materials from late 1970s to the present.
Drug Policy Alliance—Provider: Lindesmith Center Library
This is the catalog of the holdings of the Lindesmith Library in New York and the Drug Policy Alliance Online Library of full-text electronic documents.
Indiana Prevention Resource Center Databases (IPRC)—Provider: Indiana Prevention Resource Center
This database provides a key to the holdings of the Indiana Prevention Resource Center. It gives a bibliographic citation and abstract for each item. It consists of a series of four databases: print (books and curricula), journals, serials, and videos.
Join Together Online (JTO)—Provider: Join Together
JTO provides search access to over 35,000 substance abuse– and gun violence–related articles. The substance abuse section contains articles on alcohol, other drugs, and tobacco. JTO is designed to support those working in community–based efforts to reduce substance abuse.
Media Awareness Project (MAP)—Provider: Media Awareness Project
MAP contains over 117,275 drug–related news clippings from 1997 to present. Each article summary includes a URL for viewing the complete article online as well as a file name you can use to request the article by e–mail.
Policy Information Exchange Online (PIE)—Provider: Missouri Institute of Mental Health
The primary purpose of PIE Online is to provide a comprehensive, Web–based source for information related to mental health, substance abuse, and disability policy, including a searchable database of over 4,900 documents.
Working Partners Substance Abuse Information Database (SAID)—Provider: U.S. Department of Labor
Part of the U.S. Department of Labor Web site, this interactive database provides a one-stop source of information with summaries and full text of materials relating to workplace substance abuse issues.
AUSTRALIA
DRUG Database—Provider: Alcohol and Other Drugs Council of Australia (ADCA)
The online database of the ADCA National Resource Centre, DRUG was started in 1987 and currently contains more than 60,000 references to books, videos, journal articles, conference papers, research reports, and unpublished materials on the health, social, and economic aspects of alcohol and other drug use. About 300 records are added monthly.
CANADA
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health Library—Provider: Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH)
The Centre for Addiction and Mental Health is Canada’s largest health sciences centre devoted to mental illness and addiction. CAMH’s research mandate extends from the basic science of molecular genetics and brain imaging through clinical therapeutics to social and policy research. This link to the library provides access to the library catalogue.
Databases of the Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse—Provider: Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse (CCSA)
This collection of databases includes: “The Library Collection,” a catalogue of documents found in the CCSA library; “Treatment Services in Canada,” a detailed inventory of addictions treatment services in Canada; “Addictions Organizations in Canada,” a broad–based listing of organizations involved in the addictions field; “Addictions Researcher,” detailed information about addictions researchers working in Canada; and “Education Programs,” information about individual courses as well as diploma and degree programs in the addictions field.
EUROPEAN UNION
European Legal Database on Drugs (ELDD)—Provider: European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction (EMCDDA)
ELDD is EMCDDA’s online database of information on European drugs–related legislation and contains legal texts in their original formats, country profiles, comparative studies, main trends in drug law, and news.
Evaluation Instruments Bank (EIB)—Provider: European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction (EMCDDA)
EIB serves as an archive of tools created to encourage evaluation using reliable methods and contains tools for evaluating both prevention and treatment programs. It is continuously updated and now holds information about 150 evaluation instruments in the treatment field and 75 in the prevention field.
INTERNATIONAL
Virtual Clearinghouse on Alcohol, Tobacco and Other Drugs—Provider: European Association of Libraries and Information Services on Alcohol and Drugs and Other Drugs (ELISAD)
This database of full–text documents is a single point of access to policy and practice information published across the Web. The documents indexed in this database include policy documents, government reports, reviews of program practice, national drug strategies, and statistical compilations.
Databases Covering Topics Related To Alcohol Research
These databases may be searched for information on topics related to alcohol research, such as health, education, crime, violence, and mental health. No fee is charged.
UNITED STATES
Combined Health Information Database (CHID)—Providers: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
This database lists consumer and patient education resources. It provides titles, abstracts, and availability information for health information and health education resources. New records are added quarterly. Some older records are retained for archival purposes.
Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects (CRISP)—Provider: National Institutes of Health
CRISP is a searchable database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. The database, maintained by the Office of Extramural Research at the National Institutes of Health, includes projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDCP), Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ), and Office of Assistant Secretary of Health (OASH). It is updated weekly.
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) Database—Provider: U.S. Department of Education
A source of information about education, this database contains more than 1 million abstracts from 1966 to present and is updated monthly. ERIC is currently undergoing reengineering and is not accepting new materials for the database until further notice.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database (NCJRS)—Provider: Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, and the Office of National Drug Control Policy
NCJRS contains summaries of more than 150,000 publications on criminal justice from the early 1970s to present. Subjects include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims.
Violence Literature Database (VioLit)—Provider: Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence
VioLit provides bibliographic information and abstracts of violence related research and literature.
Publisher Databases Containing Information on Alcohol–Related Research
These are national and international databases maintained by publishers of journals. No fee is charged for searching. In addition to searching these sites, it should be noted that many journals can be searched free of charge by going to the journals’ Web site and performing the search according to the publisher’s instructions.
HighWire—Provider: Stanford University Libraries
HighWire is the world’s largest archive of free full–text life science research, with more than 668,000 free articles from 167 journals, pay–per–view access to an additional 283 journals, and free access to all abstracts.
Ingenta—Provider: Ingenta1
Available since May 1998, Ingenta supplies access to 6,000 full–text—online publications and summaries of more than 27,000 publications for academics, researchers, and professionals on a multitude of topics. The database with citations and abstracts may be searched for free; other library services are available for a fee.
Fee–Based Databases That May Be Searched For Information On Alcohol–Related Research Topics
These databases may be searched for information on alcohol–related topics, such as health, mental health, social science, etc. All charge a fee. Some charge fees based on individual searches, others charge a subscription fee, and some charge a fee for a license to search the database.
UNITED KINGDOM
Addiction Abstracts Online—Provider: The National Addiction Center and Carfax, Taylor & Francis
Addiction Abstracts Online is a source of information on psychology, psychiatry, public health, health behavior, treatment, and prevention. It is geared toward professionals. It provides abstracts for material published since 1996 and is updated quarterly with about 250 records.
Biological Abstracts—Provider: Biosis
Biological Abstracts directs users critical journal coverage on life science topics. It indexes articles from over 4,000 serials each year, with over 370,000 new citations added annually, 90 percent of which include an abstract.
UNITED STATES
Current Contents—Provider: Thomson ISI
Current Contents is a multidisciplinary current awareness service providing access to complete bibliographic information from more than 8,000 of the world’s leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books.
Gale Group Health & Wellness Database—Provider: Dialog
This database provides broad coverage in the areas of health, medicine, fitness, and nutrition. It is designed to address the needs of health and medical professionals, specialized business and industry researchers, and consumers. It is updated weekly, and includes abstracts and full text for many entries.
Periodical Abstracts Plus Text—Provider: ProQuest Information and Learning
Periodical Abstracts Plus Text contains complete bibliographic citations, precise indexing, and informative abstracts for articles from a wide range of periodicals, plus full–text articles from many key publications. This is a general interest database that is updated weekly.
PsycINFO—Provider: American Psychological Association
PsycINFO provides abstracts and citations to scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health fields. It includes material of relevance to professionals in fields such as psychiatry, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. More than 1,908 titles are covered and most of these are peer–reviewed. The database, updated weekly, contains more than 1,900,000 records.
ScienceDirect—Provider: Elsevier
ScienceDirect has evolved from a Web database of Elsevier Science journals to one of the world’s largest providers of scientific, technical, and medical literature. It includes over 1,800 journals from Elsevier Science, over 4 million articles, and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science.
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Social SciSearch—Provider: Thomson ISI
The Social Sciences Citation Index and Social SciSearch provide access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in more than 1,700 of the world’s leading scholarly social sciences journals and cover more than 50 disciplines. They also cover individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world’s leading science and technology journals.
Web of Science—Provider: Thomson ISI
The Web of Science provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. It also provides cited reference searching. Users can navigate to electronic full–text journal articles.