Information
Discovery:
Active projects
Databases
Publications
Reports

Data Integration:
Watersheds
Education

Case Studies:
Analysis
Assessment
Characterization
Management

Geographic Information:
GIS
GIS Education
GIS Software

Customer service
Glossaries
Conferences/events

Science in Your Watershed

Databases:

EarthExplorer - The list of data sets are available through EarthExplorer. Click on a link to open a new window containing information and examples of the data set and the products that can be ordered through EarthExplorer

Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) - The Center for Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) is a data management, systems development, and research field center for the U.S. Geological Survey's Geography Discipline.

Elevation Derivatives for National Applications (EDNA) - EDNA is a multi-layered database derived from a version of the National Elevation Dataset (NED), which has been hydrologically conditioned for improved hydrologic flow representation. The seamless EDNA database provides 30 meters resolution raster and vector data layers.

EPA Window to My Environment - a powerful web-based tool that provides a wide range of federal, state, and local information about environmental conditions and features in an area of your choice. This application is provided by U.S. EPA in partnership with federal, state and local government and other organizations.

EPA Watershed Databases, Systems, Mapping and Models- Links to National Water Data, safe drinking water information, mapping, watershed tracking and water quality models

EPA Environmental Information Management System- Search form allows query by information Type, Subject / Keyword, Cross Partner Collection or EIMS Partners

EPA Databases and Software- Find directories of systems and software to download.

EPA National Geospatial Program - This node provides a pathway to find information about geospatial data available from the EPA.

General Digital Data Information - Locate and download or order a vast array of biologic, geographic, geologic, and hydrologic scientific data collected or created by USGS scientists and partners.

GIS Water Resources Consortium - The Center for Research in Water Resources (CRWR) of the University of Texas at Austin, and the Environmental Systems Research Institute, Inc. (ESRI) have established a Consortium for developing and implementing new Geographic Information System (GIS) capabilities in Water Resources.

Government of British Columbia - Water Resource Information

Land Cover Institute - The USGS through the Land Cover Institute serves as a facilitator for land cover and land use science, applications, and production functions. The institute assists in the availability and technical support of land cover data sets through increasing public and scientific awareness of the importance of land cover science.

National Elevation Dataset (NED) - The USGS National Elevation Dataset (NED) has been developed by merging the highest-resolution, best quality elevation data available across the United States into a seamless raster format. NED is the result of the maturation of the USGS effort to provide 1:24,000-scale Digital Elevation Model (DEM) data for the conterminous US and 1:63,360-scale DEM data for Alaska.

National Atlas - Nationalatlas.gov™ contains a remarkable range of products and services to meet the diverse needs of people who are looking for maps and geographic information about America.

National Map Seamless Server - The National Map Seamless Server is the ultimate location to explore and retrieve data. U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) and the EROS Data Center (EDC) are committed to providing access to geospatial data through The National Map. An approach is to provide free downloads of national base layers, as well as other geospatial data layers. These layers are divided into framework categories: Places, Structures, Transportation, Boundaries, Hydrography, Orthoimagery, Land Cover, and Elevation. Along with providing access to the data, the site contains: Tutorial to help with downloads, Information about the downloadable products, Frequently Asked Questions, and Links to product homepages and information pages.

National Wilderness Preservation System - Wilderness.net - Explore wilderness data by searching the wilderness database throughout the U.S.

National Map - Provides public access to high-quality, geospatial data and information from multiple partners to help support decisionmaking by resource managers and the public.

National Geospatial Data Clearinghouse - Search for Geographic Data through the Federal Geographic Data Committee.

National Geospatial Data Framework - Choose any of three ways to find geographic data:
- Datalocator - Helps you to find and use up-to-date and accurate geographic information on your area, from a range of sources.
- Datadirectory - Helps you find organizations who supply geographic information products, services and data.
- Areasearch - Allows you to view administrative data from the Office for National Statistics.

NOAA National Weather Service Forecast Office - North Central River Forecast Center

National Water Quality Assessment Data Warehouse (NAWQA) - Collections of chemical, biological, and physical water quality data from study units basins across the nation.

National Water Quality Assessment Program (NAWQA) - In more than 50 major river basins and aquifers covering nearly all 50 states, USGS scientists collect and interpret data about water chemistry, hydrology, land use, stream habitat, and aquatic life.

NWISWeb - Water data for the Nation - National Water Information System

Principal Aquifers Map of the United States - This National Atlas map shows the distribution of the principal aquifers that supply ground water to the United States, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Spatial Data Sets Available on the WRD NSDI Node - Water Resource maps and GIS information available for reviewing online. Metadata, xml schema and downloading are freely available.

USGS Ground Water Atlas of the United States - The series consists of 13 chapters which describe the ground-water resources of regional areas that collectively cover the 50 States, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

USGS EarthExplorer - order satellite images, aerial photographs, and cartographic products.

USGS Geoscience data catalog - A catalog of earth science data produced by the USGS.

USGS GIS Data for Water Resources - Finding and accessing USGS spatial data related to water resources.

USGS National Hydrography Dataset - Digital spatial data that contains information about surface water features such as lakes, ponds, streams, rivers, springs and wells.

USGS Hurricane Mitch Program - Several regional data sets available

USGS EROS Data Center - The World's leading source of land information for exploring our changing planet.

USGS Data for Water Resources - List of several data links.

USGS Chemical and Pathogenic Contaminant Exposure by Drinking Water - Scientific data and information on the occurrence, fate, and transport of emerging and legacy contaminants in water resources, assessments of drinking water sources, and the vulnerability of water supplies to contamination.

USGS Water Watch - Current water resources conditions, real-time streamflow compared to historical streamflow

USGS Ground Water Climate Response Network - A network of wells to monitor the effects of droughts and other climate variability on ground-water levels.

Universities Council on Water Resources - About 90 universities in the United States and throughout the world comprise the Universities Council on Water Resources (UCOWR) organization. Member institutions engage in education, research, public service, international activities, and information support for policy development related to water resources.

USDA National Agricultural Library - Water Quality Information Center- Electronic access to information about water and agriculture

USDA Water Resources Databases- Water Quality Information Center at the National Agricultural Library, Agricultural Research Service

U.S. Census Bureau - TIGER, TIGER/Line and TIGER-Related Products

Watershed Boundary Dataset (WBD) - The watershed boundaries define the areal extent of surface water drainage and establish a base-line drainage boundary framework, accounting for all land and surface areas upon science-based hydrologic principles. They are delineated and georeferenced to the USGS 1:24,000 scale topographic base maps