| Aquatic Species
Database: Aquatic Invasions Research Directory (AIRD)
Host: Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC)
Scope: The Directory is an Internet-based, searchable database containing up to the minute information on people, research, technology, policy, and management issues relevant to aquatic invasions. The scope of the Directory falls into four broad areas: 1) The ecology of aquatic invasions: vectors, impacts, risk assessment and response, 2) The ecology of ballast water, 3) Prevention and treatment technologies, and 4) Policy and management.
Database: Assessing the Global Threat of Invasive Species to Marine Biodiversity (scroll to download database in MS Access, or download a table of number of invasive species by ecoregion in MS Excel)
Host: Nature Conservancy, ConserveOnline
Scope: The global database contains information on over 330 marine invasive species, including non-native distributions by marine ecoregion, invasion pathways, and ecological impact and other threat scores. This is an ongoing project and the database will be updated periodically.
Database: Ballast Water Treatment R&D Directory
Host: Programme Coordination Unit, Global Ballast Water Management Programme, International Maritime Organization (IMO)
Scope: This directory lists research and development projects that are focussed specifically on the physical, mechanical or chemical treatment of ballast water to prevent/reduce the transfer of aquatic organisms.
Database: Baltic Sea Alien Species Database
Host: Coastal Research and Planning Institute, Klaipeda University, Lithuania
Scope: Marine invertebrates, algae, plants, and fishes in the Baltic Sea region.
Database: California Aquatic Non-native Organism Database (CANOD) (scroll down to view)
Host: California Department of Fish and Game
Scope: Database contains every known marine and estuarine aquatic non-native species on the California coast. Includes information about the pathway of introduction (e.g. ballast water, intentional introduction), date of introduction, locations observed, native region of each species and other associated data.
Database: Database
on Introductions of Aquatic Species (DIAS)
Host: Food and Agriclture Organization
of the United Nations, Fisheries
Global Information System
Scope: DIAS contains records of aquatic species introduced or transferred from one country to another.
Database: Great Lakes Aquatic Nuisance Species Information
System (GLANSIS)
Host: DOC, NOAA, Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory
Scope: The present database targets nonindigeneous aquatic species that are not considered to have been native to any part of the Great Lakes basin. GLANSIS functions as a Great Lakes specific node of the USGS NAS national database.
Database: Invasive Marine Pests Database
Host: Centre for Research on Introduced Marine Pests (CRIMP)
Scope: Marine invertebrates, algae, plants, and fishes in Australia.
Database: National Ballast Information Clearinghouse (NBIC)
Host: Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC), joint program with U.S. Coast Guard
Scope: The clearinghouse will function as a central source of information on ballast water and ballast-mediated invasion to include: 1) Spatial and temporal patterns of ballast water delivery and management; 2) Patterns and rates of marine and estuarine invasions; 3) Directory of ongoing and past research on ballast water and ballast-mediated invasions; 4) General information on a broad range of topics relevant to this issue.
Database: National Exotic Marine and Estuarine Species Information System (NEMESIS)
Host: Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC)
Scope: NEMESIS is a resource for information on non-native, or exotic, species that occur in coastal marine waters of the United States. NEMESIS provides summaries for approximately 500 non-native coastal species including when, where and how these species invaded and key information on their biology and ecology. NEMESIS provides access to data on non-native species in the Chesapeake Bay.
Database: NISbase - The International Nonindigenous Species Database Network
Host: Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC)
Scope: NISbase is a new distributed database portal developed by SERC to provide simultaneous search access to multiple invasive species databases.
Database: Nonindigenous Aquatic Species (NAS) Database
Host: U.S. Geological Survey, Biological Resources Division, Florida Integrated Science Center, Center for Aquatic Resource Studies
Scope: This site has been established as a central repository for accurate and spatially referenced biogeographic accounts of nonindigenous aquatic species. Provided are scientific reports, online/realtime queries, spatial data sets, regional contact lists, and general information. The geographical coverage is the United States.
Database: Non-Native Aquatic Species in the Gulf of Mexico Region
Host: Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission, Gulf and South Atlantic Regional Panel on Aquatic Invasive Species
Scope: Work contained herein identifies exotic and non-indigenous species in the Gulf of Mexico Ecosystem and research needs for these species.
Database: Sea Grant Nonindigenous Species
Host: National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA); Great Lakes Sea Grant Network
Scope: This is a national information center that contains a comprehensive collection of research publications and education materials produced by Sea Grant programs and other research institutions across the country on zebra mussels and other aquatic nuisance species. All materials available through this homepage have either appeared in professional science journals or have been through a rigorous scientific review to ensure the quality of the information provided. Links are provided to other sites that also focus on nonindigenous species. |
