Main Eldercare Image
Clear Image

Home > The Aging Network

The Aging Network

The Aging NetworkTo meet the diverse needs of the growing numbers of older persons in the United States, the Older Americans Act of 1965 (OAA), as amended, created the primary vehicle for organizing, coordinating and providing community-based services and opportunities for older Americans and their families. All individuals 60 years of age and older are eligible for services under the OAA, although priority attention is given to those who are in greatest need.

The OAA established a national network of federal, state, and local agencies to plan and provide services that enable older adults to live independently in their homes and community. This interconnected structure of agencies is known as the National Aging Network.

The National Aging Network is headed by the U.S. Administration on Aging. The network includes 56 State Agencies on Aging, 655 Area Agencies on Aging,
243 Native American aging programs, over 29,000 service providers, and thousands of volunteers.

Printer-Friendly PagePrinter-Friendly Page

Last Updated: 07/06/2005

Eldercare Locator Footer
Contact us | Privacy Notice | Accessibility |
Text Size : Small | Medium | Large
Admin Porta