Guides: Continuity of Library Services: Research Resources

Research Resources

From help with searching the library's databases for articles, to seeing what course materials are available in online reserves, these resources will help you find what you need to complete your research projects.

Ask Us!
Library information and expert help with your research questions.
First Year Experience
An orientation guide for freshman and transfer students.
Subject Librarian List
Find Librarians with specialized training in your discipline to help you in your research.
More Library Research Resources
Advanced catalog searches and other resources for in-depth or difficult searches.
Search Databases Directly
An AZ list of UNT databases for more focused searching and resource discovery.

LibGuides

Below are some guides made by Library Staff & Librarians to help you find and utilize great resources offered by UNT! Find more great guides in our LibGuides Directory.

Basic and Advanced Library Research
A brief guide on how to do basic and advanced research at the UNT Libraries
E-Books at UNT
A brief guide on using e-books and their platforms.
Online Articles Search: Start Searching
A guide on how to use the Online Articles search, the Libraries' discovery tool that searches most of our databases simultaneously.
Government Catalogs, Indexes, and Databases
A guide providing alphabetical list of general and subject-specific Internet catalogs, indexes and databases that include government-sponsored literature.

Writing Resources

Learn more about the Literature Review process, copyright, or grammar with these nifty tools.

Writing Center's Downloadable Handouts
If you need grammar, style, or citation help, check out some of the downloadable resources that the Writing Center has available.
Copyright Quick Reference Guide
A guide providing basic information on copyright law to help you make sense of your copyright questions.
RefWorks
A guide on how to use RefWorks, the reference and research manager available to all UNT students, faculty, and staff.
Literature Review Process
A guide on how the Libraries can help when you're writing a literature review.
Writing Center Online Tutoring

Citing Resources

Utilize the Citation & Style Guide or the online style books when citing your sources.

APA Publication Manual and other resources
APA is providing temporary free access to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th and 7th editions), the Concise Guide to APA Style, and more than 160 other books published by APA Books through VitalSource and RedShelf.
Citations & Style Guide
A guide on information and resources on how to cite references correctly.

AP Stylebook Online
The AP Stylebook is a writing style guide for journalists. It is published and updated annually to reflect changes in writing style and new guidelines. AP Stylebook Online takes everything you love about the Stylebook -- A-Z guide to usage, spelling and punctuation -- and adds Internet functionality to make it an even more convenient tool.
Chicago manual of style online
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable and easy to use, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient Tools, such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets.

Other Resources

Here are a few other resources that may be helpful to you. Learn about the other graduate resources offered by the Learning Center, more about the library's services through a graduate-run blog and Hathi Trust, a digital access platform providing emergency temporary access.

Resources from the Learning Center
Includes resources on GRE prep, GMAT prep, and resources for students preparing to enter graduate programs.
Scholar Speak Blog
This blog is managed by Graduate Service Assistants in UNT Willis Library. If you wish to learn more about the library's services or research assistance, visit the blog and see some of their latest posts!
Hathi Trust
Hathi Trust is providing temporary digital access to some materials that UNT library owns in print. Search the online catalog to discover our materials and check Hathi Trust for a printable eBook version if you are unable to visit the library in person.

If you have any other questions, please Ask Us!

Use the Ask Us research support service by email to AskUs@unt.edu, text at (940) 202-2708 or chat with us every day 11 am to 8 pm.

Continuity of Library Services