

## **Leadership History of the Council on Environmental Quality**

The National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) established the Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ) in 1970 within the Executive Office of the President. The Chair of CEQ serves as the principal environmental policy advisor to the President of the United States. Since 1970, there have been 11 Senate-confirmed Chairs of CEQ. In the absence of a Chair, CEQ has been led by an acting Chair or a senior agency official.

The Honorable Mary B. Neumayr (2017-Present) Chief of Staff: (2017-2019); Chair: (2019-Present) Confirmed by the Senate: January 2, 2019

Designated Chairman: January 7, 2019 Serves under: **President Donald J. Trump** 

Ms. Christina W. Goldfuss (2015-2017)

**Managing Director** 

Appointed: March 2015

Served under: President Barack H. Obama II

**Mr. Michael Boots** (2014-2015)

Acting Chair: (2014); Chief of Staff (2014-2015)
Appointed Acting Chair: February 24, 2014

Served under: President Barack H. Obama II

The Honorable Nancy H. Sutley (2009-2014) Chair

Confirmed by the Senate: January 22, 2009

Designated Chairman: January 2009

Served under: President Barack H. Obama II

The Honorable James L. Connaughton (2001-2009) Chairman

> Confirmed by the Senate: June 14, 2001 Designated Chairman: June 18, 2001 Served under: **President George W. Bush**

The Honorable George T. Frampton, Jr. (1998-2001)

**Acting Chair:** (1998-2000); **Recess Appointment:** (2000-2001)

Recess Appointment: August 4, 2000

Served under: President William J. Clinton

<sup>1</sup> NEPA provides that CEQ be comprised of three full-time Senate confirmed Council members, one of whom the President designates as Chairman. *See* 42 U.S.C. 4342. Over the past two decades, Congress has included provisions in enacted appropriations legislation stating that CEQ shall consist of one member, appointed by the President, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, serving as Chairman and exercising all powers, functions, and duties of the Council. The Clinton, Bush, Obama, and Trump Administrations have all nominated one Member that, upon confirmation, has been designated as Chairman with all authorities and responsibilities.

#### The Honorable Kathleen A. McGinty (1995-1998) Chair

Confirmed by the Senate: December 22, 1995

Designated Chair: January 5, 1995

Served under: President William J. Clinton

#### The Honorable Michael R. Deland (1989-1993) Chairman

Confirmed by the Senate: July 31, 1989 Designated Chairman: August 7, 1989

Served under: President George H. W. Bush

#### The Honorable A. Alan Hill (1981-1989) Chairman

Confirmed by the Senate: July 8, 1981 Designated as Chairman: July 8, 1981

Served under: President Ronald W. Reagan

## The Honorable James Gustave Speth (1979-1981)

Acting Chairman: 1979; Chairman: 1979-1981

Confirmed by the Senate: April 4, 1977 Designated Chairman: August 2, 1979

Served under: President James E. Carter, Jr.

#### The Honorable Charles H. Warren (1977-1979) Chairman

Confirmed by the Senate: March 8, 1977 Designated Chairman: March 11, 1977

Served under: President James E. Carter, Jr.

#### The Honorable John A. Busterud (1972-1977)

**Acting Chairman:** (1973); **Chairman:** (1976-1977)

Confirmed by the Senate: October 9, 1972 Appointed Acting Chairman: September 1973 Designated Chairman: December 9, 1976

Served under: President Richard M. Nixon; President Gerald R. Ford, Jr.

### The Honorable Russell W. Peterson (1973-1976) Chairman

Confirmed by the Senate: November 7, 1973 Designated Chairman: November 30, 1973

Served under: President Richard M. Nixon; President Gerald R. Ford, Jr.

# The Honorable Russell E. Train (1970-1973)

#### Chairman

Confirmed by the Senate: February 6, 1970 Designated Chairman: February 6, 1970 Served under: **President Richard M. Nixon**