



NBSB Membership Roster December 2020

Voting Members

Chair, Prabhavathi Fernandes, PhD

Biotechnology and Pharmaceutical Executive Chair of GARDP Scientific Advisory Board Board of Directors, *Curetis GmbH* Chapel Hill, NC

Carl R. Baum, MD, FAAP, FACMT

Professor of Pediatrics and of Emergency Medicine Yale University School of Medicine Toxicology Consultant, Connecticut Poison Control Center New Haven, CT

COL John G. Benitez, MD, MPH, USAR

Medical Director, Tennessee Department of Health, Emergency Preparedness Program Preventive Medicine Officer, 3rd Medical Command (Deployment Support), US Army Reserves Nashville, TN

Mark Cicero, MD

Medical Officer, Connecticut Disaster Medical Assistance Team, Co-Medical Director – Emergency Medical Services for Children Director, Pediatric Disaster Preparedness and Medical Director of EMS for Pediatrics Hartford, CT

H. Dele Davies, MD, MSc, MHCM

Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Dean for Graduate Studies Professor, Department of Pediatrics, College of Medicine Professor, Department of Epidemiology, College of Public Health Omaha. NE

David W. Gruber, MA

Associate Commissioner for Regional and Local Health Operations Texas Department of State Health Services Austin, TX

Donald G. Heppner, MD

Chief Medical Officer and Managing Partner Crozet BioPharma Consulting LLC Crozet, VA

Craig M. Klugman, PhD

Professor (Tenured)
Department of Health Sciences
DePaul University
Chicago, IL

Elizabeth Leffel, PhD, MPH

President, Leffel Consulting Group, LLC Eagle Rock, VA

David Schonfeld, MD, FAAP

Professor of Clinical Pediatrics, Keck School of Medicine at the University of Southern California Director, National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement, Children's Hospital Los Angeles Los Angeles, CA

Joelle N. Simpson, MD, MPH

Interim Chief of Emergency Medicine and Medical Director for Emergency Preparedness, Children's National Hospital Associate Professor of Pediatrics & Emergency Medicine, George Washington University School of Medicine & Health Sciences Washington, DC

Alan M. Tennenberg, MD, MPH

Chief Medical Officer, Global Public Health Johnson & Johnson New Brunswick, NJ

David J. Witt, MD, FIDSA, CIC

Regional Healthcare Epidemiologist Risk and Patient Safety Kaiser Permanente Northern California Oakland, CA

NBSB Voting and Ex Officio Member Roster – December 2020

Ex Officio Members

Executive Office of the President

CAPT Michael W. Schmoyer, PhD, USPHS

Assistant Director for Biotechnology & Biosecurity Office of Science & Technology Policy Washington, DC

Intelligence Community

Anne Dufresne

Associate Deputy Director for Intelligence Integration National Counter-Proliferation Center, Office of the Director of National Intelligence Washington, DC

National Aeronautics and Space Administration JD Polk, DO, MS, MMM, CPE, FACOEP

Chief Health and Medical Officer Office of the Chief Health and Medical Officer Washington, DC

National Science Foundation

Pending appointment

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Jack Shere, DVM, PhD

Associate Administrator Animal & Plant Health Inspection Service Greenbelt, MD

U.S. Department of Commerce

Dianne L. Poster, PhD

Special Assistant & Associate Director for Laboratory Programs

Office of the Director, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Gaithersburg, MD

U.S. Department of Defense

Michael A. Smith, M.Phil., PhD

Director of Medical Programs

Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Chemical and Biological Defense Washington, D.C

U.S. Department of Energy

Isaf Al-Nabulsi, PhD

Senior Technical Advisor & Japan Program Manager Office of Health and Safety, Office of Environment, Health, Safety and Security Washington, DC

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Joanne Andreadis, PhD

Senior Advisor

Office of the Director, Center for Preparedness and Response

Atlanta, GA

National Institutes of Health

Hugh Auchincloss, MD

Principal Deputy Director

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health

Bethesda, MD

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response

D. Christian Hassell, PhD

Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary & Senior Science Advisory

Washington, DC

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health

CAPT Paul Reed, MD, USPHS

Deputy Assistant Secretary for Health (Medicine and Science) & Acting Director of the Office of Disease Prevention and Public Health Washington, DC

Food and Drug Administration

Brooke Courtney, JD, MPH

Senior Regulatory Counsel Office of Counterterrorism and Emerging Threats, Office of the Commissioner Silver Spring, MD

U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Herbert O. Wolfe, PhD, MS

Deputy Assistant Secretary for Health & Deputy Senior Medical Advisor Office of Countering Weapons of Mass Destruction Washington, DC

U.S. Department of the Interior

Pending appointment

U.S. Department of Justice

Rosemary Hart, JD

Special Counsel Office of Legal Counsel Washington, DC

U.S. Department of State

Jonathan Moore

Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs Washington, DC

NBSB Voting and Ex Officio Member Roster – December 2020

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Victoria J. Davey, PhD, MPH, RN

Associate CRADO for Epidemiology and Public Health Office of Research & Development Washington, DC

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Gregory Sayles, PhD, MS

Director National Homeland Security Research Center Washington, DC

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Patricia A. Milligan, RPh, CHP

Senior Advisor for Emergency Preparedness U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission North Bethesda, MD

ASPR National Advisory Committee Program

CAPT Christopher L. Perdue, MD, MPH, USPHS

Executive Director, National Advisory Committee Program NBSB Designated Federal Official ASPR Office of Strategy, Policy, Planning, & Requirements Washington, DC

Maxine Kellman, DVM, PhD, PMP

Alternate Designated Federal Official Biotechnology Analyst ASPR Office of Strategy, Policy, Planning, & Requirements Washington, DC

LCDR Cliffon Smith, MPA, USPHS

Public Health Analyst ASPR Office of Strategy, Policy, Planning, & Requirements Washington, DC

Mariam Haris, MPP (CTR)

Junior Management Analyst ASPR Office of Strategy, Policy, Planning, & Requirements Washington, DC

Megan Hoffman, MPH (CTR)

Junior Management Analyst ASPR Office of Strategy, Policy, Planning, & Requirements Washington, DC