Guides: PADM 2120: Introduction to Urban and Regional Planning: Planning Resources

Reference resources for basic background information

The World's Population: an encyclopedia of critical issues, crises, and ever-growing countries by Fred M. Shelley
ISBN: 9781610695060
Publication Date: 2014
This one-volume encyclopedia examines key topics, major world players, and imminent problems pertaining to the world's ever-growing population. According to the United Nations, the population of our planet reached 7 billion people in 2011. What areas of the world have the most people? What measures, if any, are in place to control the population? Why is Europe's population shrinking, while the rest of the world is growing? This eye-opening encyclopedia answers questions like these by examining significant issues and topics relating to the population and exploring profiles of the most populated countries and cities of the world. More than 100 alphabetically arranged entries focus on such topics as census, demography, megacity, overpopulation, and urban sprawl.

Credo reference
Credo Reference offers full-text, aggregated content which covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. Patrons gain access to over 3,400,000 entries, from over 675 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, etc. Dates of Coverage: Current
Oxford reference online
Oxford Reference Online Provides full text access to numerous dictionaries and encyclopedias by Oxford University Press as well as selected titles from the Oxford Companion series. Dates of Coverage 2002 - Current
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library Selected reference ebooks on Business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. Includes Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English, Encyclopedia of Science & Religion, Encyclopedia of Science Technology & Ethics, Encyclopedia of Sociology, Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders, and World of Forensic Science and others. Dates of Coverage: Varies with publication

Sources of photos and archival documents

World's Fairs
World's Fairs offers insight into the phenomenon of international expositions. Over 200 world's fairs and exhibitions are represented through a range of primary sources from various archive collections. Users can access documents from the fairs, case studies of several of the most significant fairs, interactive site plans, essays from consultant academics, and visual artifacts including souvenirs, photographs, posters, and plans.
Portal to Texas History
Portal to Texas History a gateway to Texas history materials for educators, lifelong learners, and researchers. It includes collections from museums, archives, historical societies, and libraries throughout the state of Texas. It is maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries' Digital Projects Unit. The Portal continues to grow as additional partners contribute digital versions of their collections. We hope you'll return often to discover our latest additions. By 2010, the Portal hosted over 900,000 digital images. Dates of Coverage: pre-1519 - current

Websites for urban and regional planning information

Best of the Web - Urban and Regional Planning
directory of categorized links to content-rich web sites on urban planning, land use, transportation, sustainable living, and related subjects.
Land Use Law
clearinghouse of land use planning and regulation that includes cases and materials on environmental use regulation, documents that illustrate the different kind of plans that communities do, and links to a number of interesting land use sites, state planning and zoning laws and statutes on a number of land use topics, zoning and other land use ordinances, and articles on a variety of land use topics.
Planetizen
Planetizen is a fiercely independent platform that creates, curates, and amplifies stories and resources to inform planning and people passionate about planning.

Policy and planning resources in the UNT Libraries catalog

Search the UNT Library catalog for digital planning reports as well as e-books on urban and regional planning by limiting your search to "electronic resources". Starting at www.library.unt.edu, select the "Books and More" tab, then choose "electronic resources" from the material type dropdown menu before completing your search.

A keyword search for "land use AND planning AND city" returns these results.

A keyword search for "land use AND planning reports" returns these results.

A subject search for "city planning" returns these narrower subject headings (limited to electronic resources). Select one to see materials with that subject heading.

PADM 2120: Introduction to Urban and Regional Planning: Planning Resources

Reference resources for basic background information

Sources of photos and archival documents

Websites for urban and regional planning information

Policy and planning resources in the UNT Libraries catalog

Additional Links