

In the Know

In the Know is published by the Division of Student Affairs to keep staff informed with news, helpful tips, and points of pride.

Have an idea for In the Know? Send it to Ray Willhoft at raymond.willhoft@unt.edu

UNT Presidents

- Joshua Crittenden Chilton (1890 1893)
- John Jackson Crumley (1893 1894)
- Menter B. Terrill (1894 1901)
- J.S. Kendall (1901 1906)
- William Herschel Bruce (1906 1923)
- Robert L. Marquis (1923 1934)
- Weston Joseph McConnell (1934 1951)
- James Carl Matthews (1951 1968)
- John Kamerick (1968 1970)
- John L. Carter (1970 1971, 1979 1980)
- Calvin Cleve 'Jitter' Nolen (1971 1979)
- Frank E. Vandiver (1980 1981)
- Howard Wellington Smith Jr. (1981 1982)
- Alfred Frances Hurley (1982 2000)
- Norval Pohl (2000 2006)
- Gretchen M. Bataille (2006 2010)
- Philip C. Diebel (2010)
- V. Lane Rawlins (2010 2014)
- Neal J. Smatresk (2014 present)

Neal J. Smatresk became UNT's 16th president in 2014, marking his second university presidency. Smatresk is helping to steer UNT to national prominence by providing high-quality education, expanding research and innovation, and building strong partnerships with communities and industry. Before joining UNT, Smatresk led the University of Nevada, Las Vegas as president for more than four years and as provost for two years.

For more information on each president's accomplishments, visit 125.unt.edu/history/unt-presidents.