Guides: Census: Statistics

About U.S. Census Bureau Statistics

The U.S. Bureau of the Census publishes thousands of volumes of statistics on population, housing, business, and agriculture. These may be available at UNT in paper and/or on CD-ROM. Much recent census data (starting with the 2000 census) is only available online.

If you would like to look at any Census publication, ask at the Service Desk on the Third Floor of Willis Library. Please be as specific as possible in describing the type of information you need.

Keep in mind that because privacy is a very important concern of the Census Bureau, you won't find information on specific persons or companies (except in the older census publications mentioned below).

Numerous interactive Data Sets are available through the U.S. Census Bureau’s American FactFinder. You can generate your own custom tables on many different topics for many types of geographic areas, including the United States, counties, cities and towns, congressional districts, American Indian reservations, and census tracts and blocks.

Places can be identified with the U.S. Gazetteer; maps are available through the TIGER Products page.

State Data Centers make data produced by the Census Bureau available locally to the public through a network of state agencies, universities, libraries, and regional and local governments.

The Historical Census Browser from the University of Virginia has census data on the population and economy of each state and county in the U.S. from 1890 to 1960 and is browsable by individual census years. Use it to examine state and county topics for individual or multiple census years, and to generate maps of selected data. All variables for each census are included.

Census 2010

The last comprehensive U.S. census took place in 2010. Here are some sources of and guides to using data from the 2010 census.

Census 2010 Homepage
Links to Census 2000 products and data, news releases, outreach information, and plans and operations reports.
Congressional Apportionment
The fundamental reason for conducting the decennial census of the United States is to determine the number of members of the House of Representatives each of the 50 states is entitled to have (U.S. Constitution: Article I, Section 2). The items here will help you understand the Census Bureau's role in the congressional apportionment process.
State Population Profile Maps
View detailed population and housing data from the 2010 Census for each state. Each map includes a pie chart showing population by race, a population pyramid, and a bar chart illustrating housing occupancy rates.
Interactive Population Map
View 2010 Census statistics for local areas down to the block level. Statistics include population counts, age, sex, race, ethnicity and household information.

Other Major Sources of Census Data

1990 Census
Statistics, reports, bulletins, and other publications from the decennial census conducted in 1990.
American FactFinder
Population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the 2010 Census are available.
Circular Area Profiles
This online application allows you to calculate Census data using as few as 1 and as many as 5 circles whose radii you determine. Census data will display for the population within each circle. Use the Geographic Names Information System find a latitude and longitude to run a Circular Area Profile search by coordinates.
Census 2000 Gateway
Statistics, reports, bulletins, and other publications from the decennial census conducted in 2000.
Historical Census Reports
Scans of selected portions of the decennial census volumes from 1790 to the present. Includes population and housing data as well as other portions of census. Scanning project is incomplete, but data is being added continuously as time allows.
Historical Census Browser
This online database from the University of Virginia has census data on the population and economy of each state and county in the U.S. from 1890 to 1960 and is browsable by individual census years. Use it to examine state and county topics for individual or multiple census years, and to generate maps of selected data. All variables for each census are included.

Social Explorer
This database focuses on demographic data visualization designed to engage users through dynamic maps and customizable reports.

Data on People and Households

The Census publishes summary reports on various aspects of U.S. People and Households, including reports on age and density, periodic estimates of the population between official censuses, profiles of certain segments of the population, projections of expected developments, and reports on specific topics.

The Current Population Reports series includes the following reports:

P-20 - Population Characteristics
Information on geographic residence and mobility; school enrollment; marital status and living arrangements; households and families; and the Asian and Pacific Islander, Black, and Hispanic populations.
P-23 - Special Studies
Information pertaining to methods, concepts, or specialized data is furnished in these publications. In addition, this series includes occasional reports on family life, women, voter turnout, computer use, and other topics.
P-25 - Population Estimates and Projections
The Census Bureau updates the population figures from the decennial census of population and housing by issuing estimates in intervening years. The methods employed to make these estimates include the use of administrative records, such as those maintained by the U.S. Social Security Administration and the National Center for Health Statistics. The Census Bureau also issues population projections. In large part, these projections are made by the use of statistical methods.
P-60 - Consumer Income
Information concerning families, individuals, and households at various income levels. Data are also presented on noncash benefits and the relationship of income to age, sex, race, family size, education, occupation, work experience, and other characteristics.
P-70 - Household Economic Studies
Data from The Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP), a sample household survey of the noninstitutional population in the United States conducted by the Census Bureau. The survey collects data from the same household over time, usually for 32 months. The survey's principal purpose is to provide estimates of money and in-kind income and participation in government programs. Recurrent questions focus on employment, types of income, and noncash benefits. Periodically, the survey also includes questions on other topics, such as assets and liability, disability, and child care. From time to time, special supplemental questions are also asked.

Data on Business and Industry

The U.S. Census Bureau has numerous programs that collect statistics related to business, industry, and the economy.

Business & Industry - Economic Statistics - US Census Bureau
The portal into the Census Bureau's Economic Statistics programs and surveys. Search business and economic data by industry sector, by geography, research program name, or by specific topics.
Economic Census
The economic census provides a detailed portrait of the United States' economy once every five years, from the national to the local level. It covers most of the U.S. economy in its basic collection of establishment statistics. There also are several related programs, including statistics on minority- and women-owned businesses. Business establishments in the economic census are grouped into industries based on the similarity of their production processes. These industries are coded according to the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). Data from the Economic Census are available in the American FactFinder.
Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB)
The standard reference source for small business statistics. Provides detailed annual data for U.S. business establishments by geography, industry, and enterprise size. Annual data consist of number of firms, number of establishments, annual payroll, and employment. Estimated receipts data are included for years ending in 2 and 7. Dynamic data, created from the Business Information Tracking Series (BITS), consist of the number of establishments and corresponding employment change for births, deaths, expansions, and contractions. Private businesses use this data for market research, strategic business planning, and managing sales territories. State and local governments, as well as budget, economic development, and planning offices, use the data to assess business changes, develop fiscal policies, and plan future policies and programs.
Economic Indicators from the U.S. Census Bureau
Regular updates from the U.S. Census Bureau on U.S. economic data such as housing starts, retail merchant sales, and international durable goods orders. Graphs of data.
Business & Industry - Data by Geography
Search the latest census data by state, metropolitan area, county, city, or ZIP code area, or obtain summary data for the entire U.S.
County Business Patterns
This annual series from the U.S. Census Bureau provides subnational economic data by industry, arranged by SIC or NAICS code. Includes number of establishments, employment, and payroll information. This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets. Government agencies use the data for administration and planning.

ZIP Code Business Patterns
ZIP Code Business Patterns presents business counts, by size, for hundreds of industries, plus summaries by ZIP code (without industry breakdown) for employment, payroll, and counts by employment size. Over 40,000 ZIP codes are included. Dates of Coverage: varies, but in general historical data back to 1998 are available 2010 data released June 2012.

Foreign Trade
Detailed statistics on goods and estimates of services shipped from the U.S. to foreign countries; also information on export regulations, commodity classifications, and other trade-related topics. Official source for U.S. export and import statistics and regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States.
E-Stats
The U.S. Census Bureau's Internet site devoted exclusively to "Measuring the Electronic Economy." This site features recent and upcoming releases, information on methodology, and background papers.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. NAICS was developed under the auspices of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) and adopted in 1997 to replace the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. It was developed jointly by the U.S. Economic Classification Policy Committee (ECPC), Statistics Canada, and Mexico's Instituto Nacional de Estadística y Geografía to allow for a high level of comparability in business statistics among the North American countries.

University Libraries

Census: Statistics

Contents

About U.S. Census Bureau Statistics

Census 2010

Other Major Sources of Census Data

Data on People and Households

Data on Business and Industry

Census: Statistics

Contents

About U.S. Census Bureau Statistics

Census 2010

Other Major Sources of Census Data

Data on People and Households

Data on Business and Industry

Additional Links