UNT Writing Committee Interim Report

Membership of the Writing Committee as of January 12, 2017

In May 2016, the Writing Committee requested the help of the Committee on Committees to replace the following departing members:

-At-large (LIBR) (to replace Gayla Byerly –retiring in May 2016) -College of Arts and Sciences (to replace Bonita Friedman whose term ended in May 2015) [second year of the request]

-Writing Program (to replace Ryan Skinnell who moved to San Jose State University since May 2015) [second year of the request]

In addition, unbeknownst to the committee, the Faculty Senate tasked the Committee on Committees to find a representative for the Honors College. (Representatives from the Honors College have never been listed as members of the Writing Committee in prior years.)

At the beginning of December 2016, the Committee on Committees "provided" and the Faculty Senate approved four new members.

The current membership of the UNT Writing Committee is as follows (end of term in parentheses, * indicates a second term):

-College of Education: Smita Mehta (2018)

-College of Information: Scott Warren (2019)

-College of Arts and Sciences: Diana Nogay (2019)

-College of Business Administration: Evelyn Pitre (2018*) Chair

-College of Music: Rebecca Geoffroy-Schwinden (2018)

-College of Public Affairs and Community Service: Doug Henry (2018*)

-College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism: Tammy Kinley (2018*)

-College of Visual Arts and Design: Matthew Bourbon (2018*)

-College of Engineering: Junghwan Oh (2018*)

-Mayborn School of Journalism: George Getschow (2018)

-Toulouse Graduate School: Alan Hubble (administrative)

-Honors College: James Duban (administrative)

-Rhetoric/Composition Department Representative: Jehanne Dubrow (2019)

-Writing Lab: Lisa Jackson (2019*)

-At-large (LIBR): Pamela Andrews (2019)

In May 2016, the Writing Committee asked the Faculty Senate Executive Committee to allow a second (temporary) at-large member to be nominated. This member would have represented the College of Public Affairs and Community Services (PACS) for a fixed term of two years. This member would have provided PACS with a voice during the two years remaining on the then current representative of PACS (Doug Henry) whose department (Anthropology) had been absorbed into the College of Arts and

UNT Writing Committee Interim Report

Sciences and who could no longer be said to represent PACS. This request has not been granted. (The Writing Committee does not know whether the request has been examined.)

Fall meeting of the committee

During the December 1, 2016 meeting, a new chair was elected (Evelyn Pitre); the minutes from the previous meeting were approved; the guidelines for the 2017 competition were reviewed, clarified, and approved; the procedures for the 2017 competition were reviewed and approved; and a new timeline for the 2017 competition was submitted and approved. In addition, the web page for the Writing Committee and the web page for the Writing Awards Competition were reviewed, cleaned-up, updated, and approved. Finally, each of the charge of the Writing Committee was examined: It was asserted that the Committee is progressing as it should.

The Writing Committee meets twice during a cycle: once in the fall prior to the year's competition to prepare the year's competition and once after Honors Day to evaluate the year's competition and prepare next year's competition.

Statement of the Writing Committee's priorities for the year

This year, the Writing Committee is attempting to increase its advertising efforts. The members will work in January on a new (simplified) poster. The members will contact their respective website administrator and advertise the competition using the Social Media tools at their disposal. The Chair will contact the Assistant Director of the Toulouse Graduate School to make a presentation about the competition at the Graduate Advisors next meeting (DONE on January 12, 2017). The Chair will contact the University Relations, Communications & Marketing (URCM) to see how it can help advertise the competition.

Respectfully submitted,

Evelyn Pitre Chair Writing Committee