MEMORANDUM

TO: UNT Faculty Senate

FROM: University Undergraduate Curriculum Committee (UUCC)

DATE: January 1, 2017

RE: Fall 2016 Committee Report

The University Undergraduate Curriculum Committee (UUCC) meets on the first Wednesday of every month at 3:00 PM. During Fall 2016, our meetings were held in 322 Wooten Hall. For Spring 2017, we will be meeting in 250H Willis Library (February meeting) and the Willis Library Forum (March, April, May, and June meetings). We will not meet in January, July or August.

Currently, our co-chairs are Wendy Watson (Senior Lecturer, Department of Political Science) and Jaymee Haefner (Assistant Professor, College of Music). A list of current members and attendance at meetings in Fall 2016 is attached as Appendix A.

Our primary concerns this academic year are:

- Ensuring a smooth transition from paper curriculum forms to the Curriculog system (paper forms have been removed from the Provost's website so departments must now submit proposals via Curriculog).
- Promoting transparency in the curriculum approval process (by working with other committees and individuals to create a website devoted to that process http://curriculum.unt.edu). Thanks are due to Sian Brannon for spearheading the creation of the website.
- Clarifying the need for interdepartmental cooperation in the curriculum process by creating an ad hoc committee on the meaning of "consultation" in the curriculum process.
- Clarifying the status of experimental courses (a process that will continue in the spring).
- Creating a unified calendar with the UUCC, Grad Council, Core, and Registrar deadlines to better illustrate the curriculum approval process.
- Promoting the need for departments to seek Provost approval for program and major development.
- Facilitating the timely approval of proposals that come before the committee by reviewing and voting on proposals every month and by working with the Oversight Committee for the Core Curriculum and the Director of the Core on establishing a reasonable timeline for processing curriculum proposals.

The committee would welcome feedback on additional matters we should address as the year progresses.

APPENDIX A

University Curriculum Committee: 2016-17 Year-to-Date Attendance Record (12/7/2016)

Group	Name	Dept.	Term ends	Meetings Attended	Meetings Absent (# Excused)
Senate Appointees					
Group I	Yayoi Takeuchi	WLLC	2017	4	0
Group I	Kurt Rahmlow	AEAH	2017	4	0
Group II	Erin Miller	LIBR	2017	2	2(0)
Group II	Donna Arnold	LIBR	2018	4	0
Group III	Xinrong Li	EENG	2017	3	1(1)
Group III	Mary Barber	MATH	2017	4	0
Group IV	Wendy Watson, faculty co- chair	PSCI	2018	3	1(1)
Group IV	Glen Biglaiser	PSCI	2018	4	0
Group V	Jessica Strubel	СМНТ	2016	1	1(0)
Group V	Steve Joiner	MKTG	2016	3	1(0)
Group VI	Julie Leventhal	EPSY	2018	3	1(0)
Group VI	Kim Baker	KHPR	2018	3	1(0)
Group VII	Katsura Aoyama	SPHS	2017	4	0
Group VII	Brandi Levingston	RHAB	2017	3	1(1)
Group VIII	Xiaoqun Zhang	RTVF	2018	0	4(4)
Group VIII	April Prince	MUSIC	2019	2	0
Group At-Large	Sheri Broyles	JOUR	2019	1	3(2)
Group At-Large	Julie Leuzinger	LIBR	2019	2	1(1)
Administrative Att	endees				
A&S/designee	Lawrence Williams			3	0
CVAD/designee	Denise Baxter			2	2(0)

Business/designee	Desiree Robison	2	2(0)
PACS/designee	Lauren Mathews	2	2(2)
Dean CHMT/designee	JiYoung Kim	3	1(1)
Journalism/designee	Tracy Everbach	3	1(0)
Education/designee	Carol Wickstrom	3	1(0)
Engineering/designee	Nandika D'Souza	2	2(0)
Information/designee	Guillermo Oyarce	2	2(0)
Music/designee	Jaymee Haefner	4	0
Honors/designee	Rafe Major	1	1(0)
Libraries/designee	Sian Brannon	1	3(3)
Registrar/designee			
OCCC designee	Karen Harker	4	0
VPAA/designee	Jaymee Haefner, admin co- chair	4	0