TA/TF Awards Committee

Members for fall 2016 – spring 2017

Group I: Pierina Beckman (SPANISH), Chair Group II: Scott Warren (LTECH) Group III: Pieter Allaart (MATH) Group IV: Margie Tieslau (ECON) Group V: Donna Ledgerwood Group VI: Barrett Taylor Group VII: Group VIII: Steven Menard

We began the fall semester with just five members. Groups V, VII, and VIII had no representatives. Drs. Legerwood and Menard joined the committee in the spring semester.

During the fall semester, after consulting with the Senate Office, Ms. Jill Stover and I agreed on the dates and process for the selection of the four winners.

On November 28, 2016, the initial awards announcement was sent out. Reminders were sent at the beginning of the spring semester.

By February 7, 2017, at my request, the committee members received all TAs and TFs applications and began their review/evaluation of the 30 applications/files that were submitted to the Senate Office.

By the end of February, the committee members had made their choice and four winners were selected.

On February 28, I notified the Senate Office of the names of the four winners and I asked that the applicants be notified.

Deciding which four applicants will receive the award is the main task that our committee carries out every year. The bulk of the work is done during the spring semester. Evaluating the TAs and TFs files is a task that takes a lot of time. Considerable attention must be given to each file in order to evaluate all applicants in a fair way.

Most of the committee members worked hard to meet the deadlines. One of them was late turning in his/her selection, and another member did not turn in his/her selection at all. But the rest did, so I knew the selection was done with accuracy and fairness. As a Chair of the committee, I did not vote. My duties were different: communication with the Senate Office during both semesters, staying on top of deadlines, notifications, and reminders, tallying votes, notifying the Senate Office of the results, making sure notification letters went out, sending e-mails to department Chairs who had questions before and during the process, clarifying criteria to some Chairs, and other miscellaneous.

I imagine the process will remain the same for the selection of the winners for spring 2018.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Pierina E. Beckman, Chair TA/TF Awards Committee