# **UNT Writing Committee**

## Report to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee and to the Faculty Senate

## May 2, 2016

Dear members of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee and of the Faculty Senate,

The UNT Writing Committee has worked diligently in the fall of 2015 to prepare the 2016 University Writing Award Competition (covering the 2015 calendar year) and intensively between January and March to judge the competition's entries. Eight recipients were selected from a pool of 84 entries.

The graduate student award recipients are as follows: Ms. Chelsea Wagennar – Poetry – for her piece *The Spinning Place and other poems*. Ms. Spencer Hyde – Fiction – for her piece *Grief Vocabulary Test*. Ms. Spencer Hyde – Non-Fiction – for her piece *It's About Time*. Ms. Molly S. Tucker – Scholarly – for her piece *Interpersonal Decentering in Relationship Breakups: Social Cognitive Maturity and Distress Recovery in Young adults*.

The undergraduate student award recipients are as follows: Ms. Katherine Meyer – Poetry – for her piece *Entente*. Mr. Sam Tjahjono – Fiction – for his piece *The Walls of Edo*. Ms. Courtney Maddox – Non-Fiction – for her piece *Patti*. Ms. Kelsey Chippeaux – Scholarly – for her piece *"Come Away From There, ya daft": Rejection of "the Irish" and Triumph of the Individual in* The Lonesome West.

At Honors Day on April 1, 2016, graduate honorees received a \$500 cash award, and undergraduate honorees received a \$325 cash award.

Name	Affiliation	Attendance: January 2016	Attendance: April 21, 2016
Matthew Bourbon	College of Visual Arts and Design	Attended	Attended
Rebecca Geoffroy-Schwinden	College of Music	Vacant	Attended
Gayla Byerly	Libraries (at large)	Attended	On-leave
VACANT	College of Arts and Sciences	Vacant	Vacant
George Getschow	Mayborn School of Journalism	Attended	Attended
Doug Henry	College of PACS	Attended	Attended
Lisa Jackson	Writing Lab	Attended	Attended
Tammy Kinley	College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism	Attended	Attended
Alan Hubble	Toulouse Graduate School	Attended	Conflict
Junghwan Oh	College of Engineering	Attended	Conflict
Evelyn Pitre	College of Business (Chair)	Attended	Attended
Smita Mehta	College of Education (and Senator)	Attended	Attended
VACANT	Rhetoric and Composition Program	Vacant	Vacant
Scott Warren	College of Information	Vacant	Attended

## I. Membership of the Writing Committee and Attendance to meetings

**UNT Writing Committee** 

Report to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee and to the Faculty Senate

## **II.** Activities

## 1. Address the Writing Committee's charges.

a. Advertise the University Writing award Competition.

In April 2016, the committee has reevaluated its advertising practices and will put into place new practices for the 2017 competition. The committee will investigate using social media platforms, interviews, new posters, and lawn signs.

b. Select awards' recipients of the University Writing Award Competition in accordance with policies, guidelines, and procedures, and send a list of recipients to the Faculty Senate in time to present awards at Honors Day.

The competition closed on February 12, 2016. The entries were assigned and distributed by February 19. The judges sent their rankings and scorings to the Chair by March 22. The Chair sent the list of award recipients to the Faculty Senate's Administrative Coordinator by midday, March 23. The Faculty Senate's Administrative Coordinator sent official letters to the recipients, to the Faculty Senate, and to the Deans and Department Chairs after March 25, 2016.

RESULTS: This year, we have received 48 Undergraduate entries and 36 Graduate entries, for a total of 84 entries.

RESULTS: This year, we have received submissions from 7 Colleges, TAMS, and 19 Departments

RESULTS: This year, we have received submissions from 40 professors.

c. Disseminate information about recent awards' recipients throughout the University. The committee is looking into new ways to disseminate the information about the awards' recipients throughout the University. These might include photo ops and the use of the UNT website (section News) and of the Colleges' websites.

d. Review policies, guidelines, and procedures for the University Writing Award Competition, and make recommendations for changes as appropriate.

-The committee reviewed its policies, guidelines, and procedures prior to the start of the 2016 competition. No changes were needed.

-The committee reviewed its policies, guidelines, and procedures after the 2016 competition. No changes are needed.

e. Provide an internal Procedures manual of the UNT Writing Committee to all committee members.

Completion of the manual was impossible this year. This manual is scheduled for completion in the academic year 2016-2017.

f. Provide an interim report to the faculty Senate Executive Committee and an annual report to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee and to the Faculty Senate. The committee members' schedule did not permit the submission of an interim report this year. The annual report has been done (submitted to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee meeting = May 4, 2016, and Faculty Senate = May 11, 2016)

## **UNT Writing Committee**

## Report to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee and to the Faculty Senate

#### 2. Additional activities of the Writing Committee

-The committee is investigating (once again) the possibility of securing a small operating budget to allow for the printing of posters and lawn signs for advertising purposes and for the creation of certificates for recognition purposes.

### 3. Future activities of the Writing Committee

-The committee will work on preparing next year's competition, including updating its forms and advertisement material.

-The committee will work on preparing an internal procedures manual for future members and future chairs.

#### 4. Summary of requests to the Faculty Senate

Urgently: That the Faculty Senate Committee on Committees addresses the following vacancies of the UNT Writing Committee:

College of Arts and Sciences (replacing Bonita Friedman) [vacant for over one year]

Rhetoric and Composition Program (replacing Ryan Skinnell) [vacant for over one year]

At-large (Libraries) (replacing Gayla Byerly) [vacant starting in May 2016]

That the faculty Senate Executive Committee allows a second at-large member to be nominated.

This member would represent the College of Public Affairs and Community Service (PACS) for a fixed term of two years only. This member would provide PACS with a voice during the two years remaining on term of the current representative of PACS (Doug Henry) whose department (Anthropology) has been absorbed into the College of Arts and Sciences.

That the Faculty Senate awards an annual operating budget of \$100 to the UNT Writing Committee to defray the cost of the advertising posters and lawn signs and to defray the cost of recognition certificates.

Respectfully submitted,

Evelyn Pitre Chair UNT Writing Committee