UNT Faculty Senate Committee for the Status of Women 2016-17 Academic Year, Spring 2017 Report

Members

Group I: Jennifer Way (ARTH) - Term Ends 2019

Group II: Erin Miller (LIBR) - Term Ends 2019

Group III: Anne Shepler (MATH) - Term Ends 2017

Group IV: Yolanda Niemann (PSYC) - Term Ends 2019

Group V: Jessica Strubel (MDSE) - Term Ends 2019

Group VI: Mei Chang (EPSY) - Term Ends 2019

Group VII: Rebecca Dickstein (BIOL) - Term Ends 2018

Group VIII: Kirsten Broberg (MUSIC) - Term 2018

At-L: Dalia Chowdhury (REHB) - Term 2019

At-L: Robbie Sittel (LIBR) - Term Ends 2018

At-L: Meredith Clark (JOUR) - Term Ends 2019

Institutional Equity & Diversity Representative: Shani Barrax Moore

Co-Chairs

Jennifer Way (ARTH)

Rebecca Dickstein (BIOL)

During spring 2017 semester, we completed the following:

- 1. Repopulated the membership. Because several members' terms completing at the end of the 2015-16 academic year, the committee sought new representatives across campus. It took until spring 2017 for our committee to fill.
- 2. Identified new Co-Chairs for the 2017-18 academic year:
 - Group I: Jennifer Way (ARTH) Term Ends 2019
 - At-L: Dalia Chowdhury (REHB) Term Ends 2019
- 3. Held two meetings in the spring, in addition to the two meetings that were held in the fall:
 - The first of these meetings was held on Feb. 22, 2017 and the second on April 25, 2017.
- 4. The Committee received various comments from UNT faculty members throughout the academic year having to do with specific situations relating to inequity of gender. We replied to these comments and passed them on, some anonymously by request of the party initiating the comment, to relevant parties, where appropriate.
- 5. Members of the Committee corresponded with the Task Force for the new College of Science (COS) and the UNT President about equity and diversity statements in the COS Mission Statement and the Mission Statement for UNT respectively.
- 6. Convened a joint meeting with our committee, the Faculty Senate Committee on the Status of People of Color, the Faculty Senate Committee on the Status of LBGT Faculty and Dr. Michael McPherson of the Office of Faculty Success. The purpose of the combined meeting was to discuss the response to and progress since the Opportunity Analysis Committee convened in 2013-14 and presented its report. That report can be found here:

 $\underline{http://facultysenate.unt.edu/sites/default/files/Opportunity\%20Analysis\%20Committee\%20R}\\ eport-414\%20wm~0.pdf~.$

- 7. Evaluated *Chronicle of Higher Education*'s report on faculty salary in light of public salary information available for UNT faculty. The Committee specifically evaluated salaries of men vs. women faculty at UNT. The data shows that there has been little to no improvement in the salaries of women faculty as compared to men faculty for the most recent year, with women faculty paid significantly less than men faculty. In one category, Assistant Professors, UNT has made negative progress.
- 8. Met with Melinda Lilly, Co-Chairs from the Faculty Salary Committee, Faculty Senate Chair V. Barbara Bush, and other UNT administrators to discuss data requests regarding faculty salaries, which is still pending. This meeting took place on April 19, 2017. One specific salary data request followed from a meeting with Provost Findley in spring 2016 in which the Committee on the Status of Women was asked to evaluate the impact of equity salary pay in academic year 2015-2016. At that time, it was noted that the faculty salary data we received included aggregated raises, not separated by the portions that were considered equity and merit by UNT's administration. We requested at the time, spring 2016, that the data be disaggregated. Although the data has been compiled and is available a portion of it was shown to us at the April 19, 2017 meeting, CSW Co-Chairs were told that the data would not immediately be made available to the Committee and might not ever be made available.
- 9. Two Assistant Professors newly appointed to the Committee in 2016-17, Asst. Professors Meredith Clark and Jessica Strubel are resigning from the Committee because they are leaving UNT and taking tenure-track positions elsewhere. We wish them success in their careers.