## 2017 Web Announcement of Piper Award Nominee

## **Minnie Stevens Piper Award**

https://www.comptroller.texas.gov/programs/education/msp/funding/programs/piperprofessors.php

The Minnie Stevens Piper Award is a prestigious state-wide award honoring **ten** professors each academic year for their dedication to the teaching profession and for their outstanding academic, scientific, and scholarly achievements. Award recipients receive certificates naming them "Piper Professors" together with honoraria of \$5,000.00 each.

Under the current Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation guidelines as well as the eligibility based on full-time equivalent student body enrollment, UNT may submit only one nomination each year.

The <u>Faculty Awards Committee</u> reviews nominations and makes a recommendation to the President's Office for approval of the selected candidate.

The University of North Texas nominee for the 2017 Minnie Stevens Piper Award is:

## Dr. John Ishiyama, Professor of Political Science College of Arts & Sciences

The official announcement of award recipients will be made by May 1, 2017.