The Point-in-Time (PIT) count is a count of sheltered and unsheltered homeless persons on a single night in January. HUD requires that Continuums of Care conduct an annual count of homeless persons who are sheltered in emergency shelter, transitional housing, and Safe Havens on a single night. Continuums of Care also must conduct a count of unsheltered homeless persons every other year (odd numbered years). Each count is planned, coordinated, and carried out locally. The Housing Inventory Count (HIC) is a point-in-time inventory of provider programs within a Continuum of Care that provide beds and units dedicated to serve persons who are homeless, categorized by five Program Types: Emergency Shelter; Transitional Housing; Rapid Re-housing; Safe Haven; and Permanent Supportive Housing.
Search for community data in HUD Population/Subpopulation reports and Housing Inventory Count reports.
View Point-in-Time and Housing Inventory Count data since 2007.
In order to collect Point-in Time (PIT) data according to HUD standards, CoCs need to use high quality survey instruments. HUD is providing CoCs with a set of model surveys that they can use for the 2015 PIT count. These surveys reflect the review of best local practices, and the input of leading survey and homeless methodology experts.
Date Published: September 2014
HUD Point-in-Time Survey Tools and Mobile App Overview Webinar
This training provides an overview of HUD Point-in-Time (PIT) Survey Tools and the PIT mobile app.
Date Published: January 2014
Notice CPD-14-014: 2015 HIC and PIT Data Collection for CoC and ESG Programs
This Notice provides information to Continuums of Care (CoCs) on what information to collect in order to successfully complete their 2015 Housing Inventory Count (HIC) and Point-in-Time (PIT) count. As CoCs begin to organize and plan these activities, staff should review this guidance and use it as a reference to ensure that they are capturing all of the required information.
Please note that this Notice supersedes the previous similarly titled Notice (CPD-13-011).
Date Published: October 2014
This image is for use by Continuums of Care to promote awareness of the 2015 Point-in-Time (PIT) count. The image is in full color and is meant to be printed at 8.5" x 11". HUD has mailed a limited number of complimentary copies to CoCs but encourages CoCs to print additional copies as they deem fit to promote the count locally.
Date Published: September 2014
Notice CPD-13-011: 2014 HIC and PIT of Homeless Persons Data Collection Guidance
Note: CPD Notice 14-014 supercedes CPD Notice 13-011.
This document provides information to Continuums of Care (CoCs) on what information to collect in order to successfully complete their 2014 Housing Inventory Count (HIC) and Point-in-Time (PIT) count. As CoCs begin to organize and plan these activities, staff should review this guidance and use it as a reference to ensure that they are capturing all of the required information.
Please note that HUD has revised the Notice to clarify that on the veteran population tables, CoCs must collect and report data on the total number of veteran households, the total number of veterans, and the total number of persons in veteran households. However, the demographic reporting for the veteran population tables will be limited to veteran only data. Please see Appendix C of the Notice to view the tables for data submission.
Date Published: November 2013
2014 HIC and PIT Data Submission Guidance
This document provides information to Continuums of Care (CoCs) on how to successfully submit their 2014 Housing Inventory Count (HIC) and Point-in-Time (PIT) Count data to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Staff should review this guidance and use it as a reference when preparing their data for submission. For information on what information needs to be submitted and how to collect such data, please see Notice CPD-13-011: 2014 HIC and PIT of Homeless Persons Data Collection Guidance.
Date Published: March 2014
Preparing for Your 2014 Housing Inventory and Point-In-Time Counts Webinar
This webinar, held December 2013, provides guidance on the 2014 Housing Inventory and Point-in-Time counts. The presentation will cover the key changes to the HIC and PIT counts for 2014, important points regarding 2014 HIC and PIT count data collection, and provide instructions on how to access resources related to the HIC and PIT counts.
Date Published: January 2014
2013 HIC and PIT Data Submission Guidance
This document provides information to Continuums of Care (CoCs) on how to successfully submit their 2013 Housing Inventory Count (HIC) and Point-in-Time (PIT) Count data to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).
Date Published: March 2013
2013 HIC and PIT Count of Homeless Persons Data Collection Guidance
This document provides information to Continuums of Care (CoCs) on what information to collect in order to successfully complete their 2013 Housing Inventory Count (HIC) and Point-in-Time (PIT) count.
Date Published: December 2012
This document is a supplement to HUD's 2013 HIC and PIT of Homeless Persons Data Collection Guidance.
Date Published: December 2012
This image is for use by Continuums of Care to promote awareness of the 2013 PIT count.
Date Published: January 2013
Approved PIT Count Data for the FY 2013 - FY 2014 NOFA
These resources provide CoCs with information on the approved Point-in-Time (PIT) count data for the FY 2013 - 2014 CoC Program Competition NOFA. The data reflect what was officially submitted to HUD via the Homeless Data Exchange (HDX), and is what HUD will use in the assessment process. This information is available for both the sheltered and unsheltered PIT count.
Refer to the Approved HIC Data for the FY 2013 - 2014 NOFA resource for the approved Housing Inventory Count (HIC) data.
Date Published: January 2014
Approved HIC Data for the FY 2013 - FY 2014 NOFA
These resources provide CoCs with information on the approved Housing Inventory Count (HIC) data for the FY 2013 - 2014 CoC Program Competition NOFA. The data reflect what was officially submitted to HUD via the Homeless Data Exchange (HDX), and is what HUD will use in the assessment process. This information is available for the total Permanent Supportive Housing (PSH) beds, total McKinney-Vento funded PSH beds, and total McKinney-Vento Funded Rapid Re-Housing (RRH) beds.
Refer to the Approved PIT Count Data for the FY 2013 - 2014 NOFA resource for the approved Point-in-Time (PIT) count data.
Date Published: June 2014
Preparing for Your 2013 PIC and PIT Count Webinar
This webinar presents the new requirements for completing the 2013 HIC and the PIT counts, as well as reviews existing data collection guidance for 2013 HIC and PIT Count.
Date Published: October 2012
This webinar covers the requirements for completing the 2013 HIC and the PIT count and will review data collection guidance for the Veterans Affairs funded programs.
Date Published: December 2012
2013 Reporting HIC & PIT Count Data in HDX Webinar
This webinar provides instructions on how to enter and update HIC and PIT data in the HDX.
Date Published: April 2013
2012 HIC and PIT of Homeless Persons Data Collection Guidance
This document provides information to CoCs on what information to collect in order to successfully complete their 2012 HIC and PIT count.
Date Published: February 2012
2012 HIC and PIT Data Submission Guidance
This document provides information to CoCs on how to successfully submit their 2012 HIC and PIT Count data to HUD.
Date Published: March 2012
This document contains frequently asked questions about the 2012 PIT count of Homeless Persons and HIC.
Date Published: January 2012
Preparing for Your 2012 HIC and PIT Counts Webinar
This webinar presents the new requirements for completing the 2012 Housing HIC and the PIT count.
Date Published: October 2011
Preparing for Your 2012 HIC and PIT Count with Special Attention on Veteran Program Guidance Webinar
This webinar presents the new requirements for completing the 2012 HIC and the PIT count and review data collection guidance for the Veterans Affairs funded programs.
Date Published: November 2011
Reporting HIC and PIT Count Data in the Homelessness Data Exchange Webinar
This webinar demonstrates the HDX and shows communities how to enter and update their HIC and PIT count in the HDX.
Date Published: March 2012
Guidance for Counting Veterans During the 2011 PIT Counts of Homeless People
This guidance document reviews why PIT counts are important and highlights changes to collecting veteran data in 2011.
Date Published: December 2010
Guidance for Counting Unaccompanied Homeless Children During 2011 PIT Counts of Homeless People
This document highlights the importance of PIT counts and reviews HUD's changes to counting unaccompanied homeless children (previously called "unaccompanied youth").
Date Published: December 2010
This guidebook provides guidance on submitting data in the HDX for the annual Housing Inventory Count.
Date Published: March 2011