#### UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE FOREST SERVICE NORTHERN REGION Order # R1-2015-01

### REGIONAL CLOSURE ORDER CAMPING RESTRICTIONS

Pursuant to Title 16 United States Code ("USC") 551, and Title 36 Code of Federal Regulations ("CFR") 261.50(a) and (b), the following acts are prohibited on all National Forest System lands administered as National Forests or National Grasslands within the Northern Region (Region 1) of the United States Forest Service in the states of Montana, North Dakota, and South Dakota. The closure order will be effective as of January 1, 2015.

**Restricted Areas:** The Restricted Areas in Montana include the following National Forests:

National Forests	
Bitterroot	
National Forests Bitterroot Custer-Gallatin	
Kootenai	
Lewis & Clark	

National Forests Beaverhead-Deerlodge Flathead Helena Lolo

**<u>Restricted Areas</u>**: The Restricted Areas in North Dakota and South Dakota include the following National Forests and National Grassland:

National Grassland Dakota Prairie National Forest Custer

# **PROHIBITIONS:**

- 1. Camping or otherwise occupying a single location on all National Forest Service System lands within the state of **Montana** for a period longer than 16 consecutive days. The term "location" means the occupied undeveloped or developed campsite and the lands within a 5 mile radius. After leaving the location, a minimum of 7 days is required before any group or persons from that group may reoccupy the original locations. **36CFR 261.58(a)**
- 2. Using or leaving camping equipment and or related supplies at any location on all National Forest System lands in the state of **Montana** for more than 16 consecutive days. The term "location" means the occupied undeveloped or developed campsite and the lands within a 5 mile radius. **36CFR 261.58(e)**
- 3. Camping or otherwise occupying a single location on all National Forest System lands within the states of North Dakota and South Dakota for a period longer than 14 consecutive days. The term "location" means the occupied undeveloped or developed campsite and the lands within a 5 mile radius. After leaving the location, a minimum of 5 days is required before any group or persons from that group may reoccupy the original location. 36CFR 261.58(a)

### UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE FOREST SERVICE NORTHERN REGION Order # R1-2015-01

4. Using or leaving camping equipment and or related supplies at any single location on all National Forest System lands in the states of North Dakota and South Dakota for more than 14 consecutive days. The term "location" means the occupied undeveloped or developed campsite and the lands within a 5 mile radius 36CFR 261.58(e)

(Additional forest or site specific camping restrictions may be in place on any one forest to address specific area issues.)

## **EXEMPTIONS:**

Pursuant to 36 CFR 261.50(e), the following persons are exempt from this order:

1. Persons with a Forest Service permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act or omission.

2. Any Federal, State, or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or fire fighting force in the performance of an official duty.

3. Forest Service employees in the performance of their official duties

Done at Missoula, Montana this <u>9</u> day of <u>December</u>, 2014.

Fave L. Krueger **Regional Forester** Northern Region

Violation of Title 36 Code of Federal Regulation ("36 CFR") regulations are punishable as a Class B misdemeanor, by a fine of not more than \$5,000 for an individual or \$10,000 for a legal entity other than an individual, or imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, or both (16 USC 551 and 18 USC 3559 and 3571).

#### UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE FOREST SERVICE NORTHERN REGION Order # R1-2015-01

Forest and Grasslands Supervisors

Chris Savage

Forest Supervisor Kootenai National Forest

Tim Garcia Forest Supervisor Lolo National Forest

Chip Weber

Forest Supervisor Flathead National Forest

Julie King

Forest Supervisor Bitterroot National Forest

Melany Glossa Forest Supervisor Beaverhead Deerlodge National Forest

Mary Erickson Forest Supervisor Custer Gallatin National Forest

lemi Dennis Neitzke

Grassland Supervisor Dakota Prairie Grasslands

0

Bill Avey Forest Supervisor Helena National Forest Lewis and Clark National Forest