NLS Reference Circulars

Alphabetical List of Titles

American History (AMH)

bimonthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
Presents articles for the general reader about the full spectrum of the history of North America.

Analog Science Fiction and Fact (ANA)

10 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
Short stories, novelettes, and features with science-fiction themes.

Asimov’s Science Fiction (IAM)

10 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
Short stories, novelettes, and features with science-fiction themes.

The Atlantic (AMO)

10 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
Articles on politics and current issues; fiction by contemporary American writers.

Das Beste aus Reader’s Digest (BRD)

monthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
German edition of Reader’s Digest. First-person articles, profiles, opinion pieces, and other general-interest articles. Selections come from German-language magazines as well as the American edition of Reader’s Digest. (Germany)

Bon Appétit (EAT)

monthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
Articles on cooking, entertainment, and travel; recipes from well-known restaurants.

Boys’ Life (BYL)

monthly
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Articles on the outdoors, sports, and hobbies, with adventure fiction and humor; for ages nine through sixteen. Published by the Boy Scouts of America.

Braille Book Review (BBR)

bimonthly
e-braille (BARD), HTML, large print, press braille
Announcements of braille books recently added to the Library of Congress collection as well as news and developments in library services for blind individuals. Braille edition includes one-line annotations from Talking Book Topics and a braille order form.

Braille Chess Magazine (BCM)

quarterly
press braille
Articles on chess; news of current trends and competitions. (UK)

Braille Music Magazine (XBM)

monthly
press braille
Articles about classical music for professional and amateur musicians; reviews of new braille music publications. (UK)

Consumer Reports (CRP)

monthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
In-depth articles that rate consumer products tested for quality, durability, and safety. Also features general-interest topics such as health and money management.

Contemporary Soundtrack: A Review of Pop, Jazz, Rock, and Country (XST)

bimonthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
A sampler of articles from national magazines on jazz, rock, country, and pop music.

Conundrum (COU)

monthly
press braille
Crossword and logic puzzles, anagrams, Sudoku, and general-knowledge quizzes. (UK)

Cooking Light (CKL)

11 issues/year
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Short articles on exercise, food, fitness, health, and nutrition. Each issue contains approximately seventy recipes that feature fresh, natural ingredients and low-fat cooking.

Cricket: The Realm of Imagination (NGW)

9 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
Stories, poems, and articles by internationally known authors. Also includes songs, jokes, and crafts. For ages nine through fourteen. Packaged with National Geographic Kids.

Diabetes Forecast: The Healthy Living Magazine (DBF)

monthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
Articles on health care, nutrition, and research findings. Published by the American Diabetes Association.

Discover Magazine: Science for the Curious (DIS)

10 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
Articles on ecology, natural history, science, and technology. Features news on breakthroughs in science, technology, and medicine. Includes book reviews, brain bogglers (puzzles), and awards for technological innovations.

Ebony: It’s More than a Magazine, It’s a Movement (EBN)

11 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
Articles on food, dress, leisure, travel, and personalities emphasizing achievements of African Americans.

The Economist (ECO)

51 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
Offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology, and the arts. (UK)

Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine: World’s Leading Mystery Magazine (EQM)

10 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
Mystery stories by established authors in the field and by new, previously unpublished writers.

ESPN: The Magazine (ESP)

biweekly
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Sports news and information; player profiles.

Foreign Affairs (FAF)

bimonthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
Analysis of issues by statesmen, diplomats, and scholars and trends in international politics, law, and economics.

France-Amérique: Le Journal Français des États-Unis (JFA)

11 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
News analysis, trends, interviews, book and film reviews, travel, advice, and resources to perfect French-language skills; information about the French American community.

Good Housekeeping (GHK)

monthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
Articles on family and home management with features on food and decorating.

Harper’s Magazine (HRP)

monthly
e-braille (BARD), press braille
General culture magazine with articles by well-known writers on politics, international affairs, education, and science. Includes short stories, satire, and poetry.

Health and Nutrition Newsletters (HNN)

monthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
Selections on medical conditions of special interest to older adults, nutritional information, and ways to maintain good health. Publication includes Health after Fifty; Mayo Clinic Health Letter: Tools for Healthier Lives; and Nutrition Action Healthletter.

Health Newsletters (HNW)

monthly
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Current health concerns, medical information, nutrition, and stress management from Harvard Health Letter; Mayo Clinic Health Letter: Tools for Healthier Lives; and University of California Berkeley Wellness Letter.

Horticulture: The Art and Science of Smart Gardening (HOR)

bimonthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
Gardening trends, products, and projects for amateur gardeners.

Kiplinger’s Personal Finance (KPF)

monthly
e-braille (BARD), press braille
General-interest articles on managing finances, including taxes, investment options, real estate, insurance, and retirement planning.

Ladies’ Home Journal (LHJ)

quarterly (formerly 10 issues/year)
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Articles and fiction intended for women; includes household hints, recipes, and ideas on fashion and beauty.

Magazine of the Month (MOM)

monthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
Special NLS program designed to provide a limited substitute for newsstand browsing. Readers are sent a different magazine each month.

Martha Stewart Living (MSL)

10 issues/year
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Offers recipes and tips on gardening, crafts, collectibles, housekeeping, and entertaining.

Money (MNY)

monthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
Articles on money-management, consumer, and family issues; includes regular columns with news and advice on jobs, taxes, Social Security, investments, products, and services.

Muse: The Magazine of Life, the Universe, and Pie Throwing (MUE)

9 issues/year
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Offers science, art, archaeology, and history activities for ages nine through fourteen; includes contests and book and media reviews.

The Musical Mainstream (XMM)

quarterly
audio (BARD), cartridge, e-braille (BARD), large print, press braille
Selected articles from national magazines about classical music, music criticism, and music teaching; announces new NLS music acquisitions.

The Nation (NAT)

41 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
Covers foreign affairs, local and national politics, education, and law. Reviews films, theater, books, and the arts.

National Geographic (NGG)

monthly
audio (BARD), cartridge, e-braille (BARD), press braille
Articles on world geography and cultures, plant and animal life, space exploration, and ancient history.

National Geographic Kids (NGW)

10 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
Articles for children about people, places, customs, animals, and plants. Packaged with Cricket.

National Review (NRV)

24 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
Presents a conservative viewpoint on business, politics, economics, education, and other subjects.

The New York Times Book Review (NYB)

weekly
audio (BARD), cartridge, e-braille (BARD), press braille
Literary articles and book reviews from the Sunday New York Times.

The New York Times Large Print Weekly (NYT)

weekly
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Highlights from the New York Times.

NLS News (NEW)

quarterly
e-braille (BARD), HTML, large print, press braille
NLS newsletter. National and international developments in library services to individuals who are blind or have physical disabilities.

Muse (ODY)

9 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
Offers science, art, archaeology, and history activities for ages nine through fourteen; includes contests and book and media reviews.

Outdoor Life: The Source for Hunting and Fishing Adventure (OTL)

10 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
Adventures and experiences in hunting and fishing, information on conservation and game laws, and reports on sporting equipment and techniques.

Parents (PAR)

monthly
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Features information about children’s health, safety, behavior, discipline and education; also stories on women’s health, nutrition, pregnancy, marriage, and beauty.

PC World (PCW)

monthly
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Information for computer users about hardware, software, advanced technology, and trends in the field; columns on product reviews and helpful hints.

People (PEO)

51 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
Celebrity news and interviews.

People en Español (PES)

11 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
Articles about entertainers and newsworthy individuals of potential interest to Spanish-speaking readers.

Piano Technicians Journal (PTJ)

monthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
Provides information on the piano industry’s latest innovations, products, and technologies. Official publication of the Piano Technicians Guild.  

Playboy: Entertainment for Men (PBY)

11 issues/year
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Fiction, interviews, and articles with a male perspective.

Poetry (POE)

11 issues/year
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Contemporary poetry selected from a wide range of contributors and styles.

Popular Mechanics (PPM)

10 issues/year
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Practical advice for the amateur mechanic, information on automotive and home repairs, and features on new equipment.

Popular Music Lead Sheets (XML)

irregular
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Melodies, lyrics, and chords to popular songs ranging from golden oldies to recent hits.

QST: Devoted Entirely to Amateur Radio (QST)

monthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
Contains project-building ideas and news on all aspects of ham radio. Official publication of the American Radio Relay League.

Quarterly Music Magazine (QMM)

quarterly
audio (BARD), cartridge
Special NLS program designed to provide a limited substitute for newsstand browsing. Readers are sent a different music magazine each quarter. Covers a variety of aspects and types of music, such as opera, jazz, and country and instruments such as guitar and keyboard.

Rolling Stone (RST)

24 issues/year
e-braille (BARD), press braille
American popular culture in the arts and entertainment industry. Provides music, video, movie, and electronics reviews.

Science News: Magazine of the Society for Science and the Public (SNW)

biweekly
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Excerpts of reports on current programs in science, medicine, and technology.

Seventeen (SVT)

10 issues/year
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Tips on beauty and fashion for young women and articles on careers, education, family, social relations, and diet.

Short Stories (SSR)

monthly
press braille
Stories from contemporary writers. (UK)

Sound and Vision: Where Technology Becomes Entertainment (STR)

10 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
Reports on new sound equipment and music reviews, with emphasis on popular music.

Spider: The Magazine for Children (SPD)

9 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge, e-braille (BARD), press braille
Stories, poems, jokes, and crafts for beginning readers ages six through nine.

Sports Illustrated (SPI)

weekly
audio (BARD), cartridge
International sports news and articles with emphasis on American spectator sports. Features on sports personalities and events and outdoor activities.

Sports Illustrated Kids (SPK)

11 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
Sports news and articles for ages eight through thirteen. Features sports personalities, events, and cards; youths who are excelling in athletics; and a regular column by youths discussing controversial sports-related issues.

Sports Schedules

annual
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Listings of games for six national sports leagues: American Baseball League (ABL), National Baseball League (NBL), National Basketball Association (NBA), National Football League (NFL), National Hockey League (NHL), and Women’s National Basketball Association (WBA). Includes combined schedule by date for the American Baseball and National Baseball Leagues.

Stone Soup: The Magazine by Young Writers and Artists (STO)

bimonthly
e-braille (BARD), press braille
Stories, poems, illustrations, and book reviews created by children ages eight through thirteen. Features an activities section with suggested related projects.

Talking Book Topics (TBT)

bimonthly
audio (BARD), cartridge, HTML, large print
Announcements of recorded books recently added to the Library of Congress collection and news and developments in library services for individuals who are visually impaired or have a physical disability. Audio edition often includes the text of NLS News. One-line annotations of books listed in Talking Book Topics are included in the braille edition of Braille Book Review.

Travel and Leisure (TAL)

monthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
Articles on vacation sites and tour destinations with tips on food and photography.

True West: Preserving the American West (TWT)

monthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
Nonfiction articles about the Old West written by historians and western buffs.

Vanidades (VAN)

11 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
A Spanish-language, general-interest magazine with an emphasis on style.

The Week: The Best of the U.S. and International Media (TWK)

51 issues/year
audio (BARD), cartridge
News and commentary on world events.

Wired (WIR)

monthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
News and opinions concerning technology industries and the digital environment.

The Writer: Advice and Inspiration for Today’s Writer (WRT)

monthly
audio (BARD), cartridge
New and established writers discuss their craft and work experiences. Regular columns feature trade news, contest information, and names and addresses of manuscript markets.