Law Library of Congress Logo
In Custodia Legis
Official blog from the Law Library of Congress
Find the Law Library on:
Constitution
- Constituciones (external link) (Uruguay. Podor Legislativo) includes 1934 to the present; in Spanish
- Uruguay: Constitutions / Constituciones (external link) (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas) in Spanish
Executive
- Presidencia de la Republica (external link)
- Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores (external link)
- Uruguay: Executive Institutions / Instituciones Executiva (external link) (Georgetown University Political Database of the Americas)
Judicial
- Suprema Corte de Justicia
Legislative
- PARLIAMENT: Poder Legislativo - Camara de Representantes (external link) and Poder Legislativo - Senadores (external link) (both in Spanish) - Offers access to the Constitution and a virtually all current national laws, plus major regulatory texts. These instruments and essays may be reached through:
- Legislacion (external link) (in Spanish) Offers present and most recent Constitutions (i.e., of 1967 and 1952), plus a comparative study. Provides copies of all of Uruguay's law codes, including its aviation, civil, commercial, customs, minerals, penal, tax, water codes; Code of Minors; and General Code of Procedure. Several major regulatory decrees, including those on administrative procedure, Social Security, taxation, and accounting standards, are also included.
- GLIN: Global Legal Information Network (Law Library of Congress) offers searchable English-language abstracts of laws, decrees and regulations, and literature
- Banco de Prevision Sociale [Social Security Bank] (external link)
- NATLEX: Uruguay (external link) (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights
Legal Guides
- Global Legal Information Catalog: Uruguay (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
- Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
- FindLaw: Uruguay (external link)
- ForIntLaw: Uruguay (external link) (Washburn University Law Library)
- Guide to Foreign and International Legal Databases: Uruguay (external link) (New York University Law Library)
- UPDATE: A Guide to Uruguay’s Legal System and Research (external link) (Pablo Sandonato de Leon via GlobaLex)
- World Legal Materials from South America: Uruguay (external link) (Cornell Legal Information Institute)
General Sources
- Country Study: Uruguay (Library of Congress) December 1990
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
- Background Note: Uruguay (U.S. Dept. of State)
- Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Uruguay (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
- Consular Information Sheet: Uruguay (U.S. Dept. of State)
- Country Information: Uruguay (U.S. Dept. of State)
- Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Uruguay (U.S. Dept. of State)
- Embassy of Uruguay, Washington (external link)
- Human Rights in Uruguay (external link) (Amnesty International)
- International Religious Freedom Reports: Uruguay (U.S. Dept. of State)
- NEWS: BBC News: Latin America & Caribbean (external link)
- U.S. Embassy, Montevido (U.S. Dept. of State)
- World Factbook: Uruguay (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
- WWW DIRECTORIES / PORTALS: Uruguay (external link) (Yahoo); WWW-VL Latin American Studies: Uruguay (external link) (University of Texas, Austin)
Last Updated: 07/30/2012
