Subject: Cooperative Observer Length of Service Awards

On Tuesday September 15, 2009 a Cooperative Observer Length of Service Awards and Ceremony was held at the National Weather Service Office in Greenville-Spartanburg South Carolina.

Attendees included: Joel Cline, National Cooperative Program Manager, Washington DC; Scott Hausman, National Climatic Data Center Deputy Director, Asheville NC; Sharon LeDuc National Climatic Data Center Deputy Director, Asheville NC; Hope Mizzell, South Carolina State Climatologist; Lora Mueller, Eastern Region Cooperative Program Manager; William Schmitz representing the Southeast Regional Climate Center from Chapel Hill NC; Larry Gabric, Meteorologist in Charge GSP; Larry Lee, Science Officer GSP and Terry Benthall, Data Acquisition Program Manager GSP

Recipients of the Length of Service Awards (LOS) were: Cindy Kimsey, Calhoun Falls SC (25 years LOS); Thomas Huskin, Grandfather Mountain NC (25 years LOS); Tommy Richardson, Vale NC (30 years LOS) and Alice Cobb, Gaffney SC (40 years LOS).

The ceremony began with an overview of the Cooperative Observation Program at National Weather Service GSP. Emphasis was placed on the importance of the Cooperative Observation Program within our organization, and to other constituents in the federal, state and public arenas. A tour of WFO GSP followed, which included a demonstration of forecast tools, technologies and capabilities. Master of ceremonies Terry Benthall then conducted an outdoor ceremony which included the presentation of plaques and awards. A luncheon then concluded the day's festivities.



Cooperative Observers -- Front Row from left to right -- are as follows:

Cindy Kimsey-25 years Length of Service Award (LOS), Calhoun Falls SC; Alice Cobb-40 years LOS, Gaffney SC; Thomas Huskin-25 years LOS, Grandfather Mountain NC; and Tommy Richardson-30 years LOS, Vale NC.

Back row left to right: Larry Lee, SOO GSP; Larry Gabric MIC GSP; Joel Cline, National Cooperative Program Manager Washington DC; Scott Hausman, NCDC Deputy Director, Asheville NC; Sharon LeDuc, NCDC Deputy Director, Asheville NC; behind her is William Schmitz, Service Climatologist SERCC, Chapel Hill NC; Hope Mizzell, South Carolina State Climatologist, Lora Mueller, ERH Cooperative Program Manager, and Terry Benthall, DAPM GSP.