AWS offers a wide range of database services to fit your application requirements. These database services are fully managed and can be launched in minutes with just a few clicks. AWS database services include Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS), with support for six commonly used database engines, Amazon Aurora, a MySQL-compatible relational database with five times the performance, Amazon DynamoDB, a fast and flexible NoSQL database service, Amazon Redshift, a petabyte-scale data warehouse service, and Amazon Elasticache, an in-memory cache service with support for Memcached and Redis. AWS also provides the AWS Database Migration Service, a service which makes it easy and inexpensive to migrate your databases to AWS cloud.
| If You Need | Consider Using | Product Type |
|---|---|---|
| A managed relational database in the cloud that you can launch in minutes with a just a few clicks. | Amazon RDS | Relational Database |
| A fully managed MySQL compatible relational database with 5X performance and enterprise level features. | Amazon Aurora | Relational Database |
| A managed NoSQL database that offers extremely fast performance, seamless scalability and reliability | Amazon DynamoDB | NoSQL Database |
| A fast, fully managed, petabyte-scale data warehouse at less than a tenth the cost of traditional solutions. | Amazon Redshift | Data Warehouse |
| To deploy, operate, and scale in-memory cache based on memcached or Redis in the cloud. | Amazon ElastiCache | In-Memory Cache |
| Help migrating your databases to AWS easily and inexpensively with zero downtime. | AWS Database Migration Service | Database Migration |
Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) makes it easy to set up, operate, and scale a relational database in the cloud. It provides cost-efficient and resizable capacity while managing time-consuming database administration tasks, freeing you up to focus on your applications and business. Amazon RDS provides you six familiar database engines to choose from, including Amazon Aurora, Oracle, Microsoft SQL Server, PostgreSQL, MySQL and MariaDB.
For more information visit the Amazon RDS product page.
Amazon Aurora is a MySQL-compatible relational database engine that combines the speed and availability of high-end commercial databases with the simplicity and cost-effectiveness of open source databases. Amazon Aurora provides up to five times better performance than MySQL with the security, availability, and reliability of a commercial database at one tenth the cost.
For more information visit the Amazon Aurora product page.
Amazon DynamoDB is a fast and flexible NoSQL database service for all applications that need consistent, single-digit millisecond latency at any scale. It is a fully managed cloud database and supports both document and key-value store models. Its flexible data model and reliable performance make it a great fit for mobile, web, gaming, ad tech, IoT, and many other applications
For more information visit the Amazon DynamoDB product page.
Amazon Redshift is a fast, fully managed, petabyte-scale data warehouse that makes it simple and cost-effective to analyze all your data using your existing business intelligence tools. You can start small for $0.25 per hour with no commitments and scale to petabytes for $1,000 per terabyte per year, less than a tenth the cost of traditional solutions.
For more information visit the Amazon Redshift product page.
Amazon ElastiCache makes it easy to deploy, operate, and scale an in-memory cache in the cloud.The service improves the performance of web applications by allowing you to retrieve information from fast, managed, in-memory caches, instead of relying entirely on slower disk-based databases. ElastiCache supports two open-source in-memory caching engines: Memcached and Redis.
For more information visit the Amazon ElastiCache product page.
AWS Database Migration Services (DMS) helps you migrate databases to AWS easily and securely. The source database remains fully operational during the migration, minimizing downtime to applications that rely on the database. The AWS Database Migration Service can migrate your data to and from most widely used commercial and open-source databases. The service supports homogenous migrations such as Oracle to Oracle, as well as heterogeneous migrations between different database platforms, such as Oracle to Amazon Aurora or Microsoft SQL Server to MySQL.
For more information visit the AWS DMS product page.
