

NEWS RELEASE December 16, 2016

Media contact: Brian Walch Email: <u>publicaffairs@usccr.gov</u> Tel: 202-376-8371

Appointment of Commissioners Debo P. Adegbile and Catherine E. Lhamon by President Obama and Reappointment of Commissioner David Kladney by the United States Senate

Washington, DC -

On December 15, President Obama appointed Mr. Debo P. Adegbile and Ms. Catherine E. Lhamon as Commissioners of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. Please see the White House <u>statement</u> announcing the appointments.

Additionally, on November 15, the United States Senate reappointed Mr. David Kladney as Commissioner.

Commissioners of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights serve six-year terms.

Acting Chair Patricia Timmons-Goodson stated: "We welcome Commissioners Debo P. Adegbile and Catherine E. Lhamon to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. Because of their respective histories in protecting the civil rights of all citizens, they represent solid additions to the Commission. Each has labored long in the civil rights vineyard. We look forward to incorporating their experience and judgment in advancing the Commission's mission of developing comprehensive civil rights policy and overseeing the enforcement of civil rights laws."

#####

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with advising the President and Congress on civil rights matters and issuing an annual federal civil rights enforcement report. For information about the Commission, please visit <u>http://www.usccr.gov</u> and follow us on Twitter: <u>https://twitter.com/usccrgov</u>