

For Immediate Release December 4, 2009

Contact: Bruce Milhans 202-606-8513 bmilhans@achp.gov

U.S. Department of Transportation Receives Preserve America Award For Longstanding Essential Support for National Historic Preservation

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) today received the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP) Award for Federal Preserve America Accomplishment for its support of the Preserve America program and its leadership in historic preservation efforts across the nation.

ACHP Chairman John L. Nau, III, presented the award to Deputy Assistant Secretary for Transportation Policy Beth Osborne and Deputy Administrator Gregory G. Nadeau, who accepted respectively on behalf of DOT and the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA).

"DOT and FHWA play a vital role in preserving heritage resources," Nau said. "The ACHP hopes that recognition like this helps inform the nation that while continuously improving the transportation system, the department also is mindful of its responsibilities under the National Historic Preservation Act. DOT and FHWA are models for how to incorporate stewardship into central missions."

The Preserve America award recognizes exemplary efforts by federal agencies to promote the Preserve America program. DOT's Office of the Secretary has served on the Preserve America Steering Committee from its inception in 2003 with strong support from FHWA, and helped lead and implement the Preserve America program across government. DOT's Preserve America features on its Web site showcase historic preservation successes across America, including Transportation Enhancement funding projects in seven Preserve America Communities. Recently, the FHWA used its spring 2009 "Successes in Stewardship" newsletter to highlight a project in Natchitoches, Louisiana, a Preserve America Community. A number of the most recent Scenic Byways announced on October 16 prominently feature historic and cultural themes and Preserve America Communities.

