The Department of Energy (DOE) is committed to ensuring that items and components installed in safety-related or mission-critical applications meet their intended function and operability requirements. Therefore, EHSS has established a process for identifying Suspect/Counterfeit (S/CI) or Defective Items (DI) that are deemed safety-significant and broadly applicable to DOE facilities and for ensuring that action is taken.
S/CI-DI Website Access:
Access to password protected areas of this website is available to DOE employees and contractors, and other Federal/military employees with a need-to-know. Such persons must register for a password in this area to gain access to S/CI and DI information.
NOTICE: Documents downloaded from the password-protected areas of this web site may be made available to the DOE Federal/military and DOE contractor community. These documents are not permitted to be made available to the general public via an Internet web site. All parties with access to the password-protected areas of the EHSS web site are to exercise due diligence to maintain control of information.
Suspect-Counterfeit Items (S/CI):
Data Collection Sheets (DCS) for items in which a defect appears to be due to misrepresentation of the item by the vendor, supplier, distributor, or manufacturer. Archived S/CI Data Collection Sheets are also available with topical search capability.
Links to recent Government-Industry Date Exchange Program (GIDEP); Institute for Nuclear Power Operation (INPO); Office of Inspectors General (IG); and Occurrence Reporting and Processing System (ORPS) Data Collection Sheets. Each link is maintained for six months and then archived. New items posted each week are designated as "New." Archived information is also available, and for those interested, Topical searches may be performed.
- Links to current Data Collection Sheets on Suspect/Counterfeit Items
- Links to archived Data Collection Sheets on Suspect/Counterfeit Items
- Topical Search
Defective Items (DI):
Data Collection Sheets (DCS) for items in which the defect appears to be due to an unintentional error in the manufacturing process. Defective items are often recalled by their manufacturers.
Archived DI Data Collection Sheets are also available with topical search capability. The links to defective items will contain certain recalls from the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) deemed significant and applicable to DOE operations. CPSC is charged with protecting the public from unreasonable risks of serious injury or death from more than 15,000 types of consumer products. You can find information on over 4,000 product recalls using the various searches at http://www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/prerel/prerel.html.
- Links to current Data Collection Sheets on Defective Items
- Links to archived Data Collection Sheets on Defective Items
- Topical Search
S/CI point of contact listing of S/CI SMEs and S/CI Site Coordinators are provided through these links.
The S/CI Training Manual provides information on individual components identified as suspect or counterfeit discusses definitions, the DOE S/CI process, DOE Directives and more. Includes the U.S. Customs Headmark List of Suspect/Counterfeit Fasteners (1992).