

LIST OF SURGEONS GENERAL AND DEPUTY SURGEONS OF THE UNITED STATES AIR FORCE

The Air Force has had twenty-one Surgeons General since Air Force General Order No. 35, 8 June 1949, created the Air Force Medical Service effective 1 July 1949.

- SG: Malcolm C. Grow July 1, 1949–November 30, 1949 Major General 1 DSG: Dan C. Ogle December 1949 – March 1953 Major General
- 2 SG: Harry G. Armstrong December 1, 1949–June 30, 1954 Major General
 2 DSG: William Henry Powell April 1953 June 1957 Major General
- 3 SG: Dan C. Ogle July 1, 1954–November 30, 1958 Major General 3 DSG: Olin F. McIlnay June 1957 – August 1959 Major General
- 4 SG: Oliver K. Niess December 1, 1958–December 1, 1963 Major General
 4 DSG: John K. Cullen August 1959 April 1961 Major General
 5 DSG: Richard L. Bohannon April 1961 December 1963 Major General
- 5 SG: Richard L. Bohannon December 2, 1963–November 30, 1967 Lieutenant General 6 DSG: Kenneth E. Pletcher December 1963 July 1966
- 6 SG: Kenneth E. Pletcher December 1, 1967–April 30, 1970 Lieutenant General 7 DSG: Richard L. Bohannon December 1966 – November 1967 Lieutenant General 8 DSG: Alonzo A. Towner November 1967 – May 1970 Major General
- 7 SG: Alonzo A. Towner May 1, 1970–July 31, 1972 Lieutenant General 9 DSG: Thomas H. Crouch May 1970 – April 1972 Major General

- 8 SG: Robert A. Patterson August 1, 1972–July 31, 1975 Lieutenant General 10 DSG: Maxwell Wensel Steele April 1972 – April 1975 Major General 11 DSG: George E. Schafer April 1975 – August 1975 Major General
- 9 SG: George E. Schafer August 1, 1975–July 31, 1978 Lieutenant General 12 DSG: Benjamin R. Baker August 1975 – December 1976 Major General 13 DSG: Garth B. Dettinger December 1976 – May 1980 Major General
- SG: Paul W. Myers August 1, 1978–July 31, 1982 Lieutenant General
 14 DSG: Murphy A. Chesney May 1980 August 1985 Major General
- SG: Max B. Bralliar August 1, 1982–July 31, 1985 Lieutenant General
 14 DSG: (continued) Murphy A. Chesney May 1980 August 1985 Major General
- SG: Chesney, Murphy A. August 1, 1985–July 31, 1988 Lieutenant General
 15 DSG: Alexander M. Sloan August 1985 October 1988 Major General
- 13 SG: Monte B. Miller, August 1, 1988–July 31, 1991 Lieutenant General
 16 DSG: James G. Sanders October 1988 October 1991 Major General
- 14 SG: Alexander M. Sloan, August 1, 1991–July 11, 1994 Lieutenant General
 * Buethe, Robert A. (Acting) July 12, 1994–September 25, 1994 Major General
 17 DSG: Robert A. Buethe (acting title was director of medical plans and resources)
 October 1991 July 1994 Major General
- 15 SG: Edgar R. Anderson, Jr. September 26, 1994–November 14, 1996 Lieutenant General
 18 DSG: Charles H. Roadman July 1994 November 1996 Major General
- 16 SG: Charles H. Roadman II November 15, 1996–October 10, 1999 Lieutenant General
 * Wyrick, Michael K. (Acting) October 11, 1999–October 31, 1999 Major General
 19 DSG: Michael K. Wyrick November 1996- October 1999 Major General
- 17 SG: Paul K. Carlton, Jr. November 1, 1999–October 14, 2002 Lieutenant General 20 DSG: Leonard M. Randolph November 1999 July 2001 Major General
- 18 SG: George P. Taylor October 15, 2002–July 31, 2006 Lieutenant General 21 DSG: James G. Roudebush July 2001 – July 2006 Major General
- 19 SG: James G. Roudebush August 1, 2006–August 11, 2009 Lieutenant General
 22 DSG: Charles B. Green August 2006 August 2009 Major General
- 20 SG: Charles B. Green August 12, 2009– July 13, 2012 Lieutenant General
 23 DSG: Byron C. Hepburn August 2009 November 2010 Brigadier General
 24 DSG: Thomas W. Travis November 2010 July 12, 2012 Major General
- 21 SG: Thomas W. Travis July 13, 2012 Present Lieutenant General
 25 DSG: Mark A. Ediger July 13, 2012 Present Major General