

Department of Defense INSTRUCTION

NUMBER 4515.14 June 28, 2013

DA&M

SUBJECT: Washington Local Commuting Area

References: See Enclosure

1. PURPOSE. This instruction:

- a. Reissues DoD Directive (DoDD) 4515.14 (Reference (a)) as a DoD instruction in accordance with the authority in DoDD 5105.53 (Reference (b)) to establish policy and assign responsibilities for the Washington Local Commuting Area for personnel conducting official business from permanent or temporary duty stations located in the National Capital Region (NCR). The policy is in accordance with paragraph U2800B, Volume 1 of the Joint Federal Travel Regulations (Reference (c)) and paragraph C2800B, Volume 2 of the Joint Travel Regulations (Reference (d)).
- b. Clarifies when transportation expenses may be authorized or approved for local travel without the issuance of a travel order.
- 2. <u>APPLICABILITY</u>. This instruction applies to OSD, the Military Departments, the Office of the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff and the Joint Staff, the Office of the Inspector General of the Department of Defense, the Defense Agencies, and the DoD Field Activities in the NCR that are serviced by Washington Headquarters Services (WHS) (referred to collectively in this instruction as the "WHS-serviced Components").
- 3. <u>POLICY</u>. It is DoD policy in accordance with References (c) and (d) that:
- a. A local official, as defined in References (c) and (d), will define the "Washington Local Commuting Area" in which the commuting public travels during normal business hours.
- b. This instruction defines the "Washington Local Commuting Area" for personnel conducting official business from permanent or temporary duty stations located in the NCR, unless some other "local commuting area" has been defined in accordance with paragraph U2800-B.2 of Reference (c) or paragraph C2800-B.2 of Reference (d).

- c. Official travel in the "Washington Local Commuting Area" need not be authorized by issuance of travel orders.
- d. This instruction does not preclude the issuance of travel orders, the reimbursement of travel expenses, and the payment of per diem in applicable circumstances, when permitted by References (c) and (d).
- 4. RESPONSIBILITIES. The WHS-serviced Component heads will determine whether:
- a. Component employees and Military Service members may be reimbursed for local travel when conducting official business from a permanent or temporary duty station in the NCR.
- b. Travel orders must be issued for local travel when conducting official business from a permanent or temporary duty station in the NCR.
- 5. <u>RELEASABILITY</u>. **Unlimited**. This instruction is approved for public release and is available on the Internet from the DoD Issuances Website at http://www.dtic.mil/whs/directives.
- 6. EFFECTIVE DATE. This instruction:
 - a. Is effective June 28, 2013.
- b. Must be reissued, cancelled, or certified current within 5 years of its publication in accordance with DoD Instruction 5025.01 (Reference (e)). If not, it will expire effective June 28, 2023 and be removed from the DoD Issuances Website.

Michael L. Rhodes

Director of Administration and Management

Enclosure References Glossary

ENCLOSURE

REFERENCES

- (a) DoD Directive 4515.14, "Washington Local Commuting Area," December 28, 1998, as amended (hereby cancelled)
- (b) DoD Directive 5105.53, "Director of Administration and Management (DA&M)," February 26, 2008
- (c) Joint Federal Travel Regulations, Volume 1, "Uniformed Service Members," current version
- (d) Joint Travel Regulations, Volume 2, "DoD Civilian Personnel," current version¹
- (e) DoD Instruction 5025.01, "DoD Directives Program," September 26, 2012
- (f) Section 2674 of Title 10, United States Code

¹ Available at http://www.defensetravel.dod.mil/Docs/perdiem/JTR(Ch1-7).pdf

1

GLOSSARY

PART I. ABBREVIATIONS AND ACRONYMS

DoDD DoD directive

NCR National Capital Region

WHS Washington Headquarters Services

PART II. DEFINITIONS

Unless otherwise noted, these terms and their definitions are for the purpose of this instruction.

NCR. For the purpose of this instruction and in accordance with section 2674 of Title 10, United States Code (Reference (f)), the NCR is defined as the geographic area located in the following boundaries:

District of Columbia.

Montgomery and Prince George's Counties in the State of Maryland and all cities now and hereafter existing in the geographic area bounded by the outer boundaries of the combined areas of the countries listed above.

Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William Counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia, and all cities now and hereafter existing in the geographic area bounded by the outer boundaries of the combined areas of the counties listed above and other units of government within the geographic areas of such district, counties, and city.

permanent duty station. The designated post of duty or official station, the limits of which are the corporate limits of the city or town in which the employee is stationed. If not stationed in an incorporated city or town, the official station is the reservation, station, or established area, or, in the case of large reservations, the established subdivisions thereof having definite boundaries within which the designated post of duty is located. This is **not** to be confused with the term "Washington Local Commuting Area" as defined in this instruction.

<u>Washington Local Commuting Area</u>. The geographic areas surrounding the NCR from which DoD personnel may commute to permanent or temporary duty stations. These areas include (but are not limited to):

In the District of Columbia: The entire area within the boundaries of Washington, DC.

In Maryland: The counties of Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Calvert, Carroll, Charles, Frederick, Harford, Howard, Montgomery, Prince George's, St. Mary's, and Washington. It also includes the city of Baltimore and all cities now and hereafter existing in the geographic area bounded by the outer boundaries of the combined areas of the counties listed above.

In Virginia: The counties of Albemarle, Arlington, Clarke, Culpeper, Fairfax, Fauquier, Greene, King George, Loudoun, Madison, Orange, Prince William, Spotsylvania, and Stafford. It also includes the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Fredericksburg, and all cities now and hereafter existing in the geographic area bounded by the outer boundaries of the combined areas of these listed Virginia counties.

In Pennsylvania: The county of Adams.

In West Virginia: The counties of Morgan, Berkeley, and Jefferson.

5 GLOSSARY