CROSS PLAINS RURAL TRANSPORTATION COUNCIL MINUTES July 17, 2014 Thursday, 10:00 a.m. Nortex Regional Planning Commission Conference Room 4309 Jacksboro Highway - Wichita Falls, Texas 76302

Voting Members

Gary Beesinger, Archer County Judge, CPRTC Chairman Kenneth Liggett, Clay County Judge Greg Tyra, Wilbarger County Judge John Bullock, Young County Judge Howard Raeke, Mayor, City of Henrietta Toby Hines, Mayor, City of Seymour Curtis Warner, Mayor, City of Seymour Curtis Warner, Mayor, City of Electra James Yohe, Proxy for Mayor Robert Fenoglio, City of Nocona Mike Whaley, Proxy for Mayor Carl Law, City of Burkburnett Al Smith, Cooke County Commissioner Ricky Tow, Proxy for Mayor Gene Brown, City of Bowie Joe Rogers, Mayor, City of Vernon

Other Participants

Jennifer Foster, for Senator Duncan Jennifer Smith, for Senator Estes Mike Lytle, for Congressman Mac Thornberry Jennifer Vogel, for Rep. Drew Springer Joe Gambill, Nortex Regional Planning Commission Janis Crawley, City of Bowie EDC Leon Klement, Cooke County Gordon Smith, City of Burkburnett Rick Lewis, Montague County Lawrence Olsen, Executive Vice President, Texas Good Roads Jamie Lee, Wichita Falls MPO Lin Barnett, Wichita Falls MPO Stony Lowrance, City of Bowie Deana Sheriff, Burkburnett Development Corporation

TxDOT Staff

Danny Brown, P.E., Director of TP&D Mike Beaver, P.E., Design Engineer Tish Beaver, TxDOT Traffic Safety Specialist Allan Moore, P.E., Director of Construction David Rohmer, P.E., Wichita Falls Area Engineer Zachary Husen, P.E., Graham Area Engineer Ben Coker, TxDOT Design Tammy Marlow, TPP-MPO Coordination TJ Herrell, P.E., Traffic Engineer

The Cross Plains Rural Transportation Council (CPRTC) met at the Nortex Regional Planning Commission Conference Room on July 17, 2014. The meeting began at 10:00 a.m.

 Welcome & Opening Remarks – Judge Gary Beesinger, Chairman, welcomed everyone to the quarterly CPRTC Meeting.

- 2. Self Introductions Introductions were made around the room.
- 3. Public Comments There were no public comments.

4. Approval of CPRTC minutes from the April 17, 2014 meeting

A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes as documented and the motion carried.

5. Topics

 County Transportation Infrastructure Fund Grant Program – Allan Moore, P.E., Director of Construction, TxDOT

Allan Moore presented updated information about the County Transportation Infrastructure Fund Grant Program including which counties had submitted agreements, what information/forms TxDOT needs when projects are complete, how to correctly fill out certification forms required during the process, etc.

• Traffic Safety - Tish Beaver, TxDOT Traffic Safety Specialist

Tish provided information on how her office could assist counties and cities with traffic safety information and how to use traffic safety programs to benefit their communities.

• Texas Good Roads – Lawrence Olsen, Executive Vice President, Texas Good Roads

Lawrence Olsen gave an overview of the objectives and duties of Texas Good Roads, its roll in Texas transportation and encouraged members to support and spread the word about the importance of Proposition 1 on the November 2014 voting ballot to provide additional transportation funds. He said approval of Prop 1 would provide an estimated \$1.4B/yr for transportation in Texas.

Judge Beesinger

• Wichita Falls District Area Engineers provided an update and answered questions on the active projects in their areas:

Zach Husen, P.E., Graham Area Engineer

David Rohmer, P.E., Wichita Falls Area Engineer TxDOT's Allan Moore provided the update for the Gainesville Area in the absence of Mike Hallum, P.E., Gainesville Area Engineer, who was overseeing traffic control operations due to flooding in Cooke County.

6. Next Meeting Date - Thursday, October 16, 2014, 9:30 a.m.

7. Topics for Next Meeting

- Follow-up discussion of the County Transportation Infrastructure Fund Grant Program from TxDOT WFS District Director of Construction Allan Moore.
- CPRTC Project prioritization

TxDOT Wichita Falls District Director of Transportation Planning and Development Danny Brown asked the group if they were satisfied with the current project prioritization process or if members would like to see changes. The group agreed to keep the process the same. Danny encouraged group members to nominate new projects for prioritization and told the group they could expect to receive the updated list and map in the mail in early October prior to the next CPRTC meeting.

Danny also said that if Proposition 1 passed in the November state election, the Wichita Falls District's projected allocation would be approximately \$8-\$10 million.

Judge Beesinger announced October 16, 2014 would be his final CPRTC meeting and asked the group to think about who his replacement might be as chairman.

Seymour Mayor Toby Hines thanked TxDOT for the FM 422 project, for responding quickly to a mowing request and asked for TxDOT to consider building an overpass at US 183/82 in Mabelle due to traffic concerns with large trucks and school buses. Danny Brown encouraged Mayor Hines to nominate the project for the prioritization list.

9. Adjourned at 11:03 a.m.