CROSS PLAINS RURAL TRANSPORTATION COUNCIL MINUTES

January 16, 2014 Thursday, 10:00 a.m.

Nortex Regional Planning Commission Conference Room 4309 Jacksboro Highway - Wichita Falls, Texas 76302

Voting Members

Gary Beesinger, Archer County Judge, CPRTC Chairman Woodrow Gossom, Wichita County Judge, CPRTC Vice-Chairman Kenneth Liggett, Clay County Judge Greg Tyra, Wilbarger County Judge Linda Rogers, Baylor County Judge Danny Addison, Proxy for Mayor Allen Moore, City of Holliday Trey Carrington, Throckmorton County Judge John Bullock, Young County Judge Howard Raeke, Mayor, City of Henrietta Jeff Bearden, Mayor, City of Vernon Toby Hines, Mayor, City of Seymour Curtis Warner, Mayor, City of Electra Dan Fears, Mayor, City of Iowa Park Ron Sellman, Proxy for Jim Goldsworthy, Mayor of Gainesville James Yohe, Proxy for Mayor Robert Fenoglio, City of Nocona Ricky Tow, Proxy for Mayor Gene Brown, City of Bowie Danny Addison, Proxy for Mayor Allen Moore, City of Holliday Lin Barnett, Proxy for Mayor Glenn Barham, City of Wichita Falls

Other Participants

Jennifer Foster, for Senator Duncan
Jennifer Smith, for Senator Estes
Mike Lytle, for Congressman Mac Thornberry
Jamie Lee, City of Wichita Falls MPO
Jenny Stevens, City of Wichita Falls Travel Center
Joe Gambill, Nortex Regional Planning Commission
Sean Turner, City of Electra
Deana Sheriff, Burkburnett Dev. Corp.
Donald C. Ray

TxDOT Staff

Larry Tegtmeyer, P.E., District Engineer
Danny Brown, P.E., Director of TP&D
Mike Beaver, P.E., Design Engineer
Carole Mayo, WFS Administration
Allan Moore, P.E., Director of Construction
Mike Hallum, P.E., Gainesville Area Engineer
David Rohmer, P.E., Wichita Falls Area Engineer
Zachary Husen, P.E., Graham Area Engineer
Ben Coker, PIO, TxDOT Design
Tammy Marlow, TPP-MPO Coordination

The Cross Plains Rural Transportation Council (CPRTC) met at the Nortex Regional Planning Commission Conference Room on January 16, 2014. The meeting began at 10:00 a.m.

- **1. Welcome & Opening Remarks** Judge Gary Beesinger, Chairman, welcomed everyone to the quarterly CPRTC Meeting.
- **2. Self Introductions** Introductions were made around the room.

3. Public Comments

There were no public comments.

4. Approval of CPRTC minutes from the October 17, 2013 meeting

A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes as documented and the motion carried.

5. Topics

Project Priority List – Judge Beesinger and Danny Brown, P.E., TP&D Director, TxDOT
Judge Beesinger noted this is our opportunity to let TxDOT know our Transportation concerns.

Danny Brown discussed the prioritized list. The 2014 Prioritized Project List is posted on the TxDOT.Gov website at the following location:

www.TxDOT.Gov

Select the **Inside TxDOT** topic in top right of screen

Scroll to TxDOT Structure

Sselect **Districts**

Select the Wichita Falls District

Select Cross Plains Rural Transportation (CPRTC) Website link

Select 2014 Prioritized Project List

• Transit/Rural Transportation Overview – MPO – Lin Barnett, MPO Director – City of Wichita Falls Lin provided an update on the Region Vision concerning Public Transportation. Among the main goals is a Seamless Public Transportation System. This goal is met through the partnership of:

SharpLines

Texoma Area Paratransit System (TAPS)

Senior Centers

Intercity Bus Lines

Wichita Falls Transit System

Wichita Falls Transit Center

With program funding made available through the Nortex Regional Planning Commission, the Wichita Falls Transit System is conducting a beta test of the **ROUTE** trip planner. Currently, trips can be scheduled on-line for their clients by medical providers and the CWF Transit System. Future plans include allowing the public the capability to arrange and pay for their own trips on-line.

While ROUTE does not interact with the Intercity Bus Lines at this time; plans are to include Intercity Bus Lines among the ROUTE providers in the near future.

Some members of the CPRTC are also members of the Regional Rural Transit Commission and we appreciate their participation.

Ms. Jenny Stevens is the Manager of the Wichita Falls Transit Center located at 306 Scott Street in Wichita Falls, Texas.

6. Other Business – Judge Beesinger

• Wichita Falls District Area Engineers provided an update and answered questions on the active projects in their areas:

David Rohmer, P.E., Wichita Falls Area Engineer Mike Hallum, P.E., Gainesville Area Engineer Zachary Husen, P.E., Graham Area Engineer

• Judge Greg Tyra, Wilbarger County Judge, asked if TxDOT can take a look at the new posted speed limit of 75mph on SH 70 at the transition area from the CL to FM 2073 in Wilbarger County. Judge Tyra is receiving concerns that the newly posted speed limit is too fast.

The Director of Operations and the District Traffic Engineer will complete an Engineering study at the location of concern.

- Judge Kenneth Liggett, Clay County Judge, asked if TxDOT can provide all the County Judges an
 equipment rental rate list concerning equipment cost itemization for the CETRZ projects. The County
 Judges will provide the Area Engineer for their County, a list of the equipment they plan to utilize on their
 CETRZ projects. The equipment list will include:
 - Equipment
 - Model
 - o Make
 - o Year
 - Horsepower

The Area Engineers will provide the rate for each piece of equipment on their lists and return the lists to the County Judges for their use in preparing the itemized project cost list. The project cost data is due February 2014.

7. Next Meeting Date - Thursday, April 17, 2014

Thursday, July 17, 2014 Thursday, October 16, 2014

8. Topics for Next Meeting

- TxDOT's point of view on the Energy Sector Damaged County Roads Projects (CETRZ)
- 9. Adjourned at 11:19 am