DISTRICT PROFILE

The Laredo District plans, designs, builds, operates and maintains the state transportation system in its counties. The district primarily conducts asset preservation and mobility projects to ensure the safety of the traveling public. The Laredo District experiences varying weather conditions to include extreme heat, which result in varying challenges for maintenance crews and designers in order to maintain district assets and assure the safety of the traveling public year-round.



FAST FACTS (FY 2013):

Population	397,380
Area (Sq. Miles)	15,052
Lane Miles	5,109.845
Daily Vehicle Miles	6,723,385
Registered Vehicles	304,951
TxDOT Employees	223
Construction/Maintenance Expenditures	\$154 million
Percentage of Highway Projects Completed On Time	91.67%

MAJOR PROJECTS UNDERWAY:

- State Loop 79 Extension Project (Val Verde Co.) – new location of non-freeway – est. cost: \$5 million (2014 local let)
- FM 1021 Project (Eagle Pass/Maverick Co.) – construction of a railroad grade separation - \$9 million
- US 277 Super 2's Project
 (Dimmit/Maverick Counties) widening roadway/construction of passing lanes \$10.8 million

PLANNED MAJOR PROJECTS:

- Loop 20-Spur 400 Project (Laredo/Webb Co.) – construction of overpass – est. cost: \$30 million (2014)
- Eagle Pass Toll Booth Project (Eagle Pass/Maverick Co.) – upgrade international bridge II – est. cost: \$4.8 million (2015 local let)
- Chacon Creek Project (Laredo/Webb Co.)
 construction of a pedestrian trail est.
 cost: \$1.4 million (2015)

MAINTENANCE: We spend \$6 million annually on sealcoating projects. We also spend several million each year rehabilitating I-35 pavement.

CORRIDORS: The Laredo District's priority corridor effort is Loop 20/Future I-69; US 83 to US 277 Ports to Plains.

SAFETY: Our upcoming safety projects in FY 2014 include \$2.5 million in cable median and guardrail upgrade improvements throughout the district.





District Administrator: Melisa D. Montemayor

Physical/Mailing Address: 1817 Bob Bullock Loop Laredo, TX 78043

PH: (956) 712-7400 **Fax:** (956) 712-7401

Counties:

Dimmit, Duval, Kinney, La Salle, Maverick, Val Verde, Webb, Zavala

State Senators:

Sen. Judith Zaffirini, Ph.D. Sen. Carlos I. Uresti

State Representatives:

Rep. Richard P. Raymond Rep. Tracy O. King Rep. Ryan Guillen Rep. Poncho Nevarez

U.S. Senator:

Sen. John Cornyn Sen. Ted Cruz

U.S. Representative:

Rep. Henry Cuellar Rep. Pete P. Gallego Rep. Ruben Hinojosa