Law Library of Congress Logo
In Custodia Legis
Official blog from the Law Library of Congress
Find the Law Library on:
Macau
[alternate spelling: Macao]
Special Administrative Region of China (formerly: Chinese Territory under Portuguese Administration)
Constitution
- 17 February 1976, Organic Law of Macau; Macau's future constitution, the "Basic Law", promulgated by China's National People's Congress on 31 March 1993, in effect 20 December 1999
Executive
- Government of Macao (external link)
- Institute for Civic and Municipal Affairs of the Macau (external link)
Judicial
Legislative
- GLIN: Global Legal Information Network (Law Library of Congress) offers searchable English-language abstracts of laws, decrees and regulations. See Portugal for entries before the year 2000
- Cerimónia de Transferência de Poderes (external link) (Gabinete de Coordençao da Cerimónia de Transferência / The Macau Handover Ceremony Coordination Office) Includes - in Chinese, Portuguese and English - the relevant official handover documents (external link) of December 1999:
- The Basic Law of The Macau Special Administrative Region of The People's Republic of China (external link); see also copy at University of Macau (external link)
- Joint Declaration of the Government of the People's Republic of China and the Government of the Republic of Portugal on the Question of Macau
- NATLEX (external link) (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security and related human rights; see China (external link) for current and Portugal (external link) for laws before 2000
Legal Guides
- Global Legal Information Catalog: Macau (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
- Global Legal Monitor: Macau (Law Library of Congress)
- Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
- AsianLII: Macau, China (external link) (Asian Legal Information Institute)
- World Legal Information Institute: Macau (external link) (WorldLII)
- World Legal Materials from Asia: Macau (external link) (Cornell Legal Information Institute)
General Sources
- Country Study: Macau (Library of Congress) August 20, 1999
- Background Note: Macau (U.S. Dept. of State)
- Consular Information Sheet: Macau (U.S. Dept. of State)
- Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: China (U.S. Dept. of State) includes Macau
- Human Rights in Macao (external link) (Amnesty International)
- International Religious Freedom Reports: China (U.S. Dept. of State) includes Macau
- World Factbook: Macau (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
- Yahoo: Macau (external link)
Last Updated: 08/09/2012
