

NEWS FROM NOAA

NATIONAL OCEANIC & ATMOSPHERIC ADMINISTRATION • US DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

Contact: Susan Buchanan

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
June 16, 2005

NOAA05-079

(301) 713-2370 June 16, 2005

COMMERCE DEPARTMENT ANNOUNCES 2005 OCEAN FISHERY COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS

The Commerce Department today announced the appointment of 22 members to the eight regional fishery management councils. The councils, established by the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act, prepare fishery management plans for marine fish stocks in their respective geographical areas of responsibility. The management plans are submitted for review by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration National Marine Fisheries Service and approved by the Secretary of Commerce.

"I am pleased to present this group of highly qualified people who will undoubtedly be strong and effective stewards of our living oceans, said Bill Hogarth, director of the National Marine Fisheries Service. "I look forward to working with them to continue our progress managing the Nation's valuable marine resources. I have confidence in the abilities of this group to meet our challenges."

Council members represent diverse interests, including commercial and recreational fisheries, as well as environmental, academic and other interests from each geographic area. The Secretary appoints a total of 72 obligatory and at-large members to the eight regional councils. Council members are appointed for three-year terms, and may be reappointed to serve up to three consecutive terms. Approximately one-third of the terms expire annually on August 10.

"I also want to thank the outgoing council members," Hogarth added. "We have made great progress over the past several years, and we owe a debt of gratitude to those who have served as council members."

Each year on behalf of the Secretary, the director of the National Marine Fisheries Service solicits nominations from the governors of fishing states and oversees the annual appointment process. Governors submit nominations by March 15, and the Secretary announces the selections by June 27. New members take their seats August 11. The Secretary selects council members from the list of nominees provided by the governors to fill obligatory and at-large seats that have become available due to an expiring term, a resignation, or other reason. Obligatory seats are state-specific, while at-large seats are regional in scope.

The 2004 Report to Congress on Apportionment of Membership on the Regional Fishery Management Councils is available on the Internet at: http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/reg_svcs/councils.htm

New England Council

The New England Council includes members from the states of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island. The appointees for 2005 fill four atlarge seats.

At-large seats:

- *Thomas R. Hill Massachusetts
- Michael P. Leary New Hampshire
- *John W. Pappalardo Massachusetts
- James W. Salisbury Maine

Mid-Atlantic Council

The Mid-Atlantic Council includes members from the states of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. The appointees for 2005 fill obligatory seats for New York, Pennsylvania, North Carolina and Maryland and one at-large seat.

Obligatory seats:

- *Patrick H. Augustine New York
- William P. Jensen Maryland
- *Eugene J. Kray Pennsylvania
- *James A. Ruhle, Sr. North Carolina

At-large seat:

Scott B. Holder – New York

South Atlantic Council

The South Atlantic Council includes members from the states of Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, and South Carolina. The appointees for 2005 fill two at-large seats.

At-large seats:

- David M. Cupka South Carolina
- *George J. Geiger Florida

Caribbean Council

The Caribbean Council includes members from the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The appointee for 2005 fills the obligatory seat for Puerto Rico.

Obligatory seat:

*Eugenio E. Pineiro-Soler – Puerto Rico

Gulf Council

The Gulf Council includes members from the states of Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas. The appointees for 2005 fill three at-large seats.

At-large seats:

- William K. Daughdrill Florida
- *Joseph P. Hendrix, Jr. Texas
- Robert L. Shipp Alabama

Pacific Council

The Pacific Council includes members from the states of California, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington. The appointees for 2005 fill the obligatory seat for Washington and one at-large seat.

Obligatory Seat:

*Mark V. Cedergreen – Washington

At-large seat

Rodney H. Moore – Oregon

North Pacific Council

The North Pacific Council includes members from the states of Alaska and Washington. The appointees for 2005 fill obligatory seats for Alaska and Washington.

Obligatory seats:

- *Milton J. Bundy Washington
- Eric A. Olson Alaska

Western Pacific Council

The Western Pacific Council includes members from the American-flagged Pacific islands of American Samoa and Guam, the state of Hawaii, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. The appointees for 2005 fill the obligatory seat for the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI) obligatory seat and two at-large seats.

Obligatory seat:

*Benigno M. Sablan – CNMI

At-large seats:

- Frederick E. Duerr Hawaii
- M. W. "Rick" Gaffney Hawaii

NOAA Fisheries Service is dedicated to protecting and preserving our nation's living marine resources and their habitat through scientific research, management and enforcement. NOAA Fisheries Service provides effective stewardship of these resources for the benefit of the nation, supporting coastal communities that depend upon them, and helping to provide safe and healthy seafood to consumers and recreational opportunities for the American public.

NOAA, an agency of the U.S. Commerce Department, is dedicated to enhancing economic security and national safety through the prediction and research of weather and climate-related events and providing environmental stewardship of the nation's coastal and marine resources.

###

On the Web:

NOAA: http://www.noaa.gov

NOAA Fisheries: http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov

^{*}Indicates a reappointment