Minutes of the Financial Stability Oversight Council

Held October 29, 2012

PRESENT:

Timothy F. Geithner, Secretary of the Treasury and Chairperson of the Financial Stability Oversight Council Ben Bernanke, Chairman, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System (Federal Reserve) Martin J. Gruenberg, Acting Chairperson, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) Mary Schapiro, Chairman, Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Gary Gensler, Chairman, Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) Richard Cordray, Director, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) Edward DeMarco, Acting Director, Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA) Debbie Matz, Chairman, National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) Thomas J. Curry, Comptroller of the Currency, Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) Roy Woodall, Independent Member with Insurance Expertise Michael McRaith, Director, Federal Insurance Office, Department of the Treasury (non-voting member) John P. Ducrest, Commissioner, Louisiana Office of Financial Institutions (non-voting member) John Huff, Director, Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions, and Professional Registration (non-voting member) David Massey, Deputy Securities Administrator, North Carolina Department of the Secretary of

GUESTS:

Department of the Treasury

Neal S. Wolin, Deputy Secretary

Mary J. Miller, Under Secretary for Domestic Finance

Matthew Rutherford, Assistant Secretary for Financial Markets

State, Securities Division (non-voting member)

Amias Gerety, Deputy Assistant Secretary for FSOC

Leigh Williams, Director, Office of Critical Infrastructure Protection and Compliance Policy Christopher J. Meade, Acting General Counsel

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System Daniel K. Tarullo, Governor

<u>Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation</u> Doreen Eberley, Senior Deputy Director, Risk Management Supervision

<u>Securities and Exchange Commission</u> Robert Cook, Director, Division of Trading and Markets

<u>Commodity Futures Trading Commission</u> Dan Berkovitz, General Counsel David Taylor, Associate Director, Division of Market Oversight Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Raj Date, Deputy Director

Federal Housing Finance Agency George Sacco, Senior Analyst

National Credit Union Administration John Worth, Chief Economist

<u>Office of the Comptroller of the Currency</u> John Lyons, Senior Deputy Comptroller and Chief National Bank Examiner

Office of the Independent Member with Insurance Expertise Diane Fraser, Senior Policy Advisor

<u>Federal Reserve Bank of New York</u> William Dudley, President and Chief Executive Officer Simon Potter, Executive Vice President of Markets

<u>Federal Insurance Office</u> John Nolan, Senior Policy Advisor

Louisiana Office of Financial Institutions

Michael Stevens, Senior Vice President and Director of Regulatory Affairs, Conference of State Banking Supervisors

<u>Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions, and Professional Registration</u> Todd Sells, Director, Financial Regulatory Services

Executive Session

The Chairperson called the executive session of the meeting of the Financial Stability Oversight Council (Council) to order at approximately 2:01 P.M. (EDT). The Council convened by teleconference to discuss financial markets and infrastructure as Hurricane Sandy approached the Eastern Seaboard.

The Chairperson led a discussion regarding financial markets and infrastructure. The Council received briefings regarding conditions in equity, bond, swap, commodities, and futures markets; bank and federal savings association office closings in areas affected by the storm; and Treasury auctions that had occurred earlier that day. After the briefings, members of the Council had a discussion. The Chairperson said that Council members should stay in close communication as the situation developed.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at approximately 2:33 P.M. (EDT).