U.S. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

# Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (ECA)

# MICHIGAN

# FAST FACTS

International students contributed an estimated **\$705.7 million** to the Michigan economy in the 2010–11 academic year. **1,562** citizen diplomats in Michigan volunteered to host international students, scholars, and visitors in their homes and communities.

446 citizens of foreign countries participated in ECA's academic, youth, professional, and cultural exchange programs in Michigan.

279 Michiganders participated in ECA's academic, youth, professional, and cultural exchange programs in foreign countries.

## Higher Learning

Michigan is ranked **#9** in the U.S. for the number of international students in its colleges and universities.

University of Michigan-Ann Arbor 2. Michigan State
University 3. Wayne State University 4. Western Michigan
University 5. Eastern Michigan University

Michigan universities with the most foreign students.

1. China 2. India 3. S. Korea 4. Canada 5. Saudi Arabia

Leading places of origin for foreign students in Michigan during 2010–11.



## exchanges.state.gov



### Notable ECA Alumni

#### Roger Lee Reynolds

Pulitzer Prize for Music, 1989 (Fulbright U.S. Student Program 1962)

#### Theodore Roethke

Pulitzer Prize for Poetry, 1954 (Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program 1955)

#### Mike Roger

U.S. Representative for Michigan's 8th Congressional District, 2001–Present (American Council of Young Political Leaders 1997)

#### Bill Huizenga

U.S. Representative for Michigan's 2nd Congressional District, 2011–Present (*American Council of Young Political Leaders* 2007)

#### Fric Friedman

Pulitzer Prize for Beat Journalism, 1994 (*Fulbright* U.S. Scholar Program 2001)

#### ary Peters

U.S. Representative for Michigan's 9th Congressional District, 2009–Present (American Council of Young Political Leaders 1995)

#### George Crumb

Pulitzer Prize for Music, 1968 (Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program 1984)

#### Hansen Clarke

U.S. Representative for Michgan's 13th Congressional District, 2011–Present (American Council of Young Political Leaders 2004)