Visit the US Department of Justice
National Institute of Corrections
Corrections Community
A place where all corrections professionals can interact and collaborate.
You are not signed in! To post comments and participate in discussions you need to sign in or create a free account.

Spanish for Corrections Staff

rated by 0 users
This post has 4 Replies | 3 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Level 1 MVP
Points 274
Matt Luitjens Posted: Mon, Jan 17 2011 7:59 AM
Does anyone have any training information on Spanish for Corrections Staff? Thank you.
Matt Luitjens
Training Officer
Scott County Jail
Not Ranked
Points 5
Hello, My name is Gaspar Mendez, I work for Ingham County Sheriff's Office in Mason Michigan. I have 17 years law enforcement experience. I have worked in Corrections and am currently assigned to our training division. I am a corrections training coordinator. I also run my own training consultant business. I teach courses on Latin Culture and Language. I speak, read and write Spanish fluently. The course is designed for Law Enforcement and Corrections personnel. I have other courses that have been endorsed by Homeland Security and MCOLES. Please feel free to contact me by email: so_mendez@ingham.org or tx. (517) 676-8355 Thanks Gaspar Mendez
Top 75 Contributor
Level 3 MVP
Points 631

There is an on-line course called Spanish on Patrol that has a correctioins module.  Also, there is a "Speedy Spanish for Corrections Personnel," published by BAJA Books, Box 4151, Santa Barbara, CA 93140.  Lastly, there are "Command Spanish"  in class for corrections also.

Deanna Axland
Top 500 Contributor
Level 1 MVP
Points 274
Thank you!
Matt Luitjens
Training Officer
Scott County Jail
Not Ranked
Points 5