

The NSSAB Welcomes New County Liaisons

In December 2012, the <u>Nevada Site Specific Advisory Board (NSSAB)</u> welcomed four new liaison representatives to the board. County commissioners from Lincoln, Elko, Esmeralda, and White Pine Counties join 11 current liaisons* representing various organizational and community stakeholders in Nevada.

The volunteer advisory board is expanding to gain representation from all the counties involved in the Emergency Preparedness Working Group (EPWG). The EPWG's <u>community grant program</u>, supported by the U.S. Department of Energy, National Nuclear Security Administration Nevada Site Office, distributes an annual grant among these six counties, as they serve as important transportation routes for low-level and mixed low-level radioactive waste** shipments destined for the Nevada National Security Site (NNSS). The grant, accumulated via a fixed waste generator fee, allows the counties to acquire various emergency preparedness resources such as ambulances, fire trucks, training, communication equipment, etc.

Like full board members, liaison representatives have the opportunity to participate in regularly-held NSSAB meetings, during which the group discusses and makes recommendations on Environmental Management (EM) programs at the NNSS. During meetings, liaisons are invited to report on the perspectives of their affiliates as they relate to EM activities, which range from groundwater characterization, to soil cleanup, to low-level waste operations. Voting on agenda items, however, is reserved for the 15 full board members, who represent the Las Vegas, North Las Vegas, Henderson, Pahrump, Beatty, Amargosa Valley, Panaca, and Mesquite communities.



NSSAB members made a stop at the historic Sedan crater on their most recent tour of the Nevada National Security Site, which took place in November 2012.

New liaisons, Nancy Boland (Esmeralda Co.), Kevin Phillips (Lincoln Co.), Charlie Myers (Elko Co.), and Mike Lemich (White Pine Co.), will serve alongside current county liaison representatives, Phil Klevorick (Clark Co.), John Klenke (Nye Co. Nuclear Waste Repository Project Office), and Joni Eastley (Nye Co.). They will have the opportunity to make their first report at the next full board meeting, held on January 16, 2013, at 5pm at the National Atomic Testing Museum (755 E. Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV). All meetings are open to the public.

For more information on the NSSAB, please contact nssab@nnsa.doe.gov or visit www.nv.energy.gov/nssab.

*Liaison representatives on the NSSAB: DOE, State of Nevada Division of Environmental Protection, Clark County, Elko County Commission, Esmeralda County Commission, Lincoln County Commission, Nye County Commission, Nye County Nuclear Waste Repository Project Office, U.S. National Park Service, West Career and Technical Academy (Clark County School District), and White Pine County Commission.

Low-level waste is radioactive waste that does not fall under the high-level waste, spent nuclear fuel, transuranic waste, or radioactive by-product categories. **Mixed low-level waste contains low-level waste and hazardous materials.