AMEDD Virtual Library: Databases

ACP Medicine (via STAT!Ref)	MEDLINEplus
ACP PIER (via STAT!Ref)	Mosby's Nursing Consult
Anatomy.tv	Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
CINAHL Plus w/Full-Text	Natural Standard
ClinicalTrials.gov	New Engl J of Medicine
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews	NLM Databases
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source	NLM Gateway
DeployMed ResearchLINK	OvidSP (MEDLINE, etc.)
EBM Reviews (via OvidSP)	PreMEDLINE *(See* In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations) via Ovid**
Entrez, The Life Sciences Search Engine	PsycINFO (via OvidSP)
Journals@Ovid Full Text (via OvidSP)	PubMed
Lexi-Comp ONLINE (Drug / Clinical Information)	STAT!Ref (Remote Access Requires AKO CAC)
Lexi-Comp ONLINE for Dentistry	TOXNET (includes TOXLINE)
Lexi-Comp ON-HAND	Travax EnCompass (restricted to .mil)
MD Consult	UpToDate (Remote Access Requires AKO CAC)

Go to Army Knowledge Online (AKO) My Library to access the following online commercial databases that have been purchased by the U.S. Army Family & Morale Welfare & Recreation Command (formerly Community & Family Support Center) Library Program:

A-Z Journal List ~ To quickly locate a specific magazine or newspaper
Academic OneFile
Army Audio eBook Library
Army Times & Other Military Publications
Auto Repair Reference Center
Biography Resource Center
Britannica Online
Business & Company Resource Center
Chilton's Auto Repair
College Blue Book thru Gale Virtual Library
Consumer Health Complete
CountryWatch
Culture Grams
DoD MWR Libraries Educational/Life Long Learning Resources
Ebook/Audio Book Collection Hosted by EEBSCOhost (formerly NetLibrary)
Gale Virtual Library
General OneFile
General Reference Center
Grzimek's Animal Life
HeritageQuest
History Reference Center
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
Home Improvement Reference Center
Junior Edition K-12 OneFile
Kids Infobits
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
LibFinder
Literature Resource Center
Masterfile
Military & Education Research Library Network (MERLN)
Military & Intelligence Database
Morningstar
Morningstar Alternate Site
NetLibrary Audio & e-books now EBSCOhost
Novelist
Novelist K-8
Online Academic Skills Course (OASC)
Opposing Viewpoints
ProQuest Newspapers
Safari Books Online
Science Resource Center
Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Student Resource Center
Teacher Reference Center
Tumblebook Library
Tumblebook Readables
Tumblebook Audiobook Cloud
Tutor.com
Videohound Golden Movie Retriever thru Gale's Virtual Library
What Do I Read Next?
World History Collection
WorldCat - Find A Book in a Library Near You

Forgot your AKO Password? Click here

ACP Medicine

A comprehensive, evidence-based reference for fast, current answers on the best clinical care. Sections cover the internal medicine disciplines, as well as dermatology, neurology, and psychiatry. Continually updated, with approximately 15 new and revised chapters incorporated each quarter.

ACP's PIER

Decision-support tool designed for rapid point-of-care delivery off evidence-based guidance for physicians. Modules focus on the diagnosis and treatement off diseases.

Anatomy.tv

Anatomy.tv is a suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy. Combines the Complete Human Anatomy Series - Head & Neck, Spine, Shoulder, Hand, Thorax & Abdomen, Pelvis & Perineum, Hip, Knee and Foot & Ankle with Interactive Functional Anatomy.

CINAHL Plus w/Full-Text

CINAHL®, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, is the most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. CINAHL® with Full Text provides full text for more than 600 journals with full-text coverage dating back to 1981. CINAHL® with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

ClinicalTrials.gov

ClinicalTrials.gov provides patients, family members, health care professionals, and members of the public easy access to information on clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions. The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), through its National Library of Medicine (NLM), has developed this site in collaboration with all NIH Institutes and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).ClinicalTrials.gov offers up-to-date information for locating federally and privately supported clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions. A clinical trial (also clinical research) is a research study in human volunteers to answer specific health questions. Interventional trials determine whether experimental treatments or new ways of using known therapies are safe and effective under controlled environments. Observational trials address health issues in large groups of people or populations in natural settings. ClinicalTrials.gov currently contains approximately 31,700 clinical studies sponsored by the National Institutes of Health, other federal agencies, and private industry. Studies listed in the database are conducted in all 50 States and in over 130 countries.

DeployMed ResearchLINK

DeployMed ResearchLINK displays information from federally funded research programs to safeguard the health of service members before, during and after deployment. This Web site is updated as new deployment medical research information becomes available and will include information on the current military deployments. The DeployMed ResearchLINK is part of the Department of Defense's commitment to the force health protection and readiness of every deployed soldier, sailor, airman and Marine. Information previously located on Medsearch about illnesses related to the 1990-91 Gulf War has been incorporated into this DeployMed ResearchLINK.

Entrez, The Life Sciences Search Engine

This meta-search engine searches any or all of the National Library of Medicine's Entrez databases with one click. The databases include clinical literature (PubMed MEDLINE), population and experimental data sets (PopSet and GEO DataSets), sequence databases (Nucleotide and Protein), online books, PubMed Central for free full-text journals, and more!

Lexi-Comp ONLINE (Drug / Clinical Information)

Lexi-Comp ONLINE provides clear, concise and point-of-care clinical information. Updated daily, Lexi-Comp ONLINE contains 15 clinical databases providing physicians, pharmacists, and nurses with the most current drug information available anywhere.

Lexi-Comp ONLINE for Dentistry

Lexi-Comp ONLINE for Dentistry provides dental professionals with dental specific pharmacology information, a drug interaction analysis tool, and clinical references to ensure medication safety in the dental clinic. Now combined with the Lexicomp's Online for Oral Surgery product, this single dental database compilation provides fast access to the depth of pharmacology content required by general dentists and dental specialists as well as the disease and diagnostic information included in Harrison's Practice (from the editors of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine). Also included is a dental reference database collection that addresses dental conditions, clinical dental procedures, management of dental office emergencies, and information regarding diagnosis, planning, and therapy for dental disciplines.

Lexi-Comp ON-HAND (Download PDA / Mobile Device Software)

Lexi-Comp ON-HAND PDA and mobile device software provides portable access to Lexi-Comp's clinical information. Available for the iPhone™ and iPod® touch, Android, for mobile smartphones, including BlackBerry® and Windows Mobile®, as well as for Palm®, and Pocket PC devices.

MD Consult

Full-text clinical content from more than 80 medical medical reference books, over 100 journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient education and continuing medical education.

MEDLINEplus

Consumer health information organized under the following categories: health topics, drug information, dictionaries, directories, and other resources--MEDLINE, publications/news, and more!

Mosby's Nursing Consult

Mosby's Nursing Consult is an electronic, full-text clinical resource that brings together leading resources for nurses in one integrated online subscription service. It's designed to help efficiently find answers to clinical questions and plan patient care in one easy search. Nursing Consult provides access to more than 28 nursing reference books, 23 professional nursing journals and clinics in PDF, patient education monographs, the latest drug information, care planning tools, evidence-based content, current news, and more!

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database

Updated daily, Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database provides evidence-based answers on thousands of natural medicines, including herbs, dietary supplements, sports supplements, minerals, and vitamins as well as alternative therapies. This database answers questions on safety, effectiveness, adverse reactions, drug interactions, and more!

Natural Standard

The authority on integrative medicine. The Natural Standard Research Collaboration is an international, multidisciplinary research group founded by clinicians and researchers. It aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies.

New England Journal of Medicine

Access current and past issues of the New England Journal of Medicine, a weekly general medical journal that publishes new medical research findings, review articles, and editorial opinion on a wide variety of topics of importance to biomedical science and clinical practice. Includes full-text articles back to 2000.

NLM Databases

Select from a broad range of NLM Databases & Electronic Resources to search. Short descriptions of the databases are provided.

NLM Gateway

"One-stop searching" for an increasing number of the information resources of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). A single interface that searches in multiple retrieval systems, Simultaneously search multiple National Library of Medicine retrieval systems--MEDLINE/PubMed, OLDMEDLINE (1957-1965 journal citations), LOCATORplus, MEDLINEplus, DIRLINE, AIDS Meetings, Health Service Research Meetings, Space Life Meetings & HSRProj.

OvidSP

Search MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, HealthStar, PsycINFO integrated with over 170 full-text journals (Journals@Ovid Full Text)! Includes EBM Reviews and Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews ~ full-text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.

PubMed

National Library of Medicine's (NLM) database of more than 19 million bibliographic citations & abstracts + full-text articles at participating publishers' Web sites.

STAT!Ref

Collection of 60 full-text medical specialty textbooks.

TOXNET

Network of NLM databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

Travax EnCompass

Travax EnCompass is a preventive medicine, travel health resource. It provides concise summaries of health and safety concerns and necessary preventive measures, including immunizations and malaria chemoprophylaxis, for each of 230 countries.

UpToDate

Full-text clinical resource providing instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked questions in clinical practice. Access peer-reviewed, fully-referenced topical reviews in primary care, internal medicine, family practice, ob/gyn & women's health, plus the following subspecialties: cardiovascular medicine, endocrinology & diabetes, gastroenterology & hepatology, hematology, infectious disease, nephrology & hypertension, neurology, oncology, pulmonary & critical care medicine and rheumatology.