

Minutes Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee Meeting June 4, 2008

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's (FMCSA) Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee (MCSAC) met on June 4, 2008, at the U.S. Department of Transportation in Washington, DC. In accordance with the provisions of Public Law 92-463, the meeting was opened to the public. Mr. Larry Minor served as the FMCSA Designated Federal Official (DFO) and called the meeting to order at 8:00 am. The following individuals attended the meeting:

COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

John Bauer, Director of International Transportation, Kohl's Corporation

Clyde Hart, Senior Vice President of Government Affairs, American Bus Association

Michael Irwin, Director, Michigan Center for Truck Safety

Terry Maple, Superintendent, Kansas Highway Patrol

David Osiecki, Vice President for Safety, Security and Operations, American Trucking Associations

Stephen Owings, President, Road Safe America

David Parker, Senior Legal Counsel, Great West Casualty Company

Robert Petrancosta, Vice President of Safety, Con Way Freight

Robert Powers, Captain, Michigan State Police

Karen Sain, New Entrant Safety Auditor, North Carolina Highway Patrol

Lester Sokolowski, Director of Division Services, National Safety Council

J. Todd Spencer, Executive Vice President, Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association

Judith Stone, President/Executive Director, Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety

FMCSA REPRESENTATIVES:

Chris Flanagan, Technology Division

Jesse Fonner, Program Specialist, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division

Mike Griffith, Director, Office of Research and Information Technology

Richard Gruberg, Statistition, Office of Research and Information Technology

Amy Houser, Engineer, Technology Division

Mokbul Khan, Analysis Division

Karen Lynch, Management and Program Analyst, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division

Gary Middleton, Management and Program Analyst, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division

Jeffrey Miller, Chief, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division

Larry Minor, Associate Administrator for Policy and Program Development

Tina Morgan, Analysis Division

Pamela Pelcovits, Director, Office of Policy Plans and Regulation

Jeff Secrist, Division Chief, Technology Division

Scott Valentine, Management and Program Analyst, Analysis Division

Shannon Watson, Intergovernmental Affairs Specialist, Office of Intergovernmental Affairs

OTHERS PRESENT FOR ALL OR PORTIONS OF THE MEETING WERE:

Dan Blower, University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute



MOTOR CARRIER SAFETY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Charity Coleman, Chenega Advanced Solutions and Engineering
Selden Fritschner, American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators
Phil Hanley, Consolidated Safety Services
Andrew Kaufman, ICF International
Robert Mulholland, ICF International
Leah Naar, Truck Safety Coalition
Steve Parker, Consolidated Safety Services
Jim Sayer, University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute
Georgia Schull, ICF International
Ryan Thompson, ICF International
Joan Tilghman, ICF International
Elizabeth Turner, Volpe National Transportation Systems Center
Gary Yoshida, ICF International

REVIEW OF AGENDA

The Committee reviewed the agenda.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The Committee approved the minutes of the March 2008 Committee meeting.

PRESENTATIONS

Dr. Daniel Blower provided the Committee with a presentation titled, "Three Stories from the LTCCS: Using the LTCCS for Safety Research."

Dr. Jim Sayer provided the Committee with a presentation titled, "Integrated Vehicle-Based Safety System (IVBSS) for Commercial Vehicles."

WORKGROUP REPORTS

Workgroup 07-04 (Employer Notification Service): The workgroup presented a report to the Committee for approval. The Committee unanimously approved the report.

Workgroup 07-01 (Safety Fitness Methodology): The workgroup presented a report to the Committee for approval. The Committee unanimously approved the report.

Workgroup 07-03 (Safety Technologies): The workgroup presented a report to the Committee for approval. The Committee deliberated and approved the report with changes as follows:

- 1. Consider a "corrective tax" for non-users of proven safety technologies.
 - Committee unanimously rejected the recommendation and the recommendation was removed from the report.
- 2. The MCSAC strongly urges FMCSA to accelerate the adoption of electronic on-board recorders (EOBRs) for tracking hours of service and other purposes.



MOTOR CARRIER SAFETY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

The Committee voted 5 (concur), 2 (non-concur), and 3 (abstention) to modify the language of the recommendation. The recommendation was modified to "The MCSAC strongly supports the voluntary use of EOBRs for tracking hours of service and other purposes." The modified language passed with a vote of 9 (concur), 1 (non-concur), and 2 (abstention).

Workgroup 08-01 (Surface Transportation Reauthorization): The workgroup presented two reports to the Committee for approval. Report 1 addressed open recommendations from the Government Accountability Office, the Department of Transportation Office of Inspector General, and the National Transportation Safety Board. Report 2 included recommendations for Agency consideration for surface transportation reauthorization planning. The Committee deliberated and approved the reports and recommendations with changes as follows:

1. Mandate sleep disorder screening for all CMV drivers.

The Committee tabled the recommendation until the September 2008 meeting and requested expert consultations on this issue.

2. Allow hair-follicle drug testing in combination with urine testing for CMV drivers.

The Committee tabled the recommendation until the September 2008 meeting and requested expert consultations on this issue.

3. Mandate EOBR use.

The Committee took no action on the issue.

4. Allow only adaptive cruise control systems on new CMVs.

The Committee tabled the recommendation until the September 2008 meeting pending further research and data on the issue.

The Committee agreed to consider a supplemental report at the September 2008 meeting, which may include new recommendations. The Committee asked FMCSA to provide additional data, research, and expert consultations in order to complete the supplemental report and address the issues that were tabled until September 2008.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

The public comment period was scheduled for 3:00 pm; however, no member of the public provided comments.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned by the DFO at 3:50 pm on June 4, 2008.



Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee

CERTIFICATION

The minutes were approved by the MCSAC on September 9, 2008.

We hereby certify that, to the best of our knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete.

//signed//

David R. Parker

Chair Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee

//signed//

Larry W. Minor Designated Federal Official Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee