

Minutes Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee Meeting December 6-7, 2007

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's (FMCSA) Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee (MCSAC) met on December 6-7, 2007, at the U.S. Department of Transportation, Washington, DC. In accordance with the provisions of Public Law 92-463, the meeting was open to the public. Mr. Larry Minor served as the Designated Federal Official (DFO) and called the meeting to order on December 7, 2007, at 1:00 pm. Ms. Pamela Pelcovits served as the DFO on December 7, 2007.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

John Bauer, Director of Transportation, Kohl's Corporation Clyde Hart, Senior Vice President of Government Affairs, American Bus Association Michael Irwin, Director, Michigan Center for Truck Safety Terry Maple, Assistant Superintendent, Kansas Highway Patrol David Osiecki, Vice President for Safety, Security and Operations, American Trucking Associations Stephen Owings, President, Road Safe America David Parker, Senior Legal Counsel, Great West Casualty Company Robert Petrancosta, Vice President of Safety, Con Way Freight Robert Powers, Captain, Michigan State Police Karen Sain, New Entrant Safety Auditor, North Carolina Highway Patrol Lester Sokolowski, Director of Division Services, National Safety Council J. Todd Spencer, Executive Vice President, Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association Judith Stone, President/Executive Director, Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety Roger Vanderpool, Director, Arizona Department of Public Safety

FMCSA REPRESENTATIVES:

Jesse Fonner, Program Specialist, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division Michael Griffith, Director, Office of Research and Analysis Amy Houser, General Engineer, Technology Division Emily Kaplan, Transportation Specialist, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division Karen Lynch, Management and Program Analyst, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division Gary Middleton, Management and Program Analyst, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division Larry Minor, Associate Administrator for Policy and Program Development Greg Parks, Acting Division Chief, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division Pamela Pelcovits, Office Director, Policy Plans and Regulation Jeff Secrist, Division Chief, Technology Division Scott Valentine, Management and Program Analyst, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division

OTHERS PRESENT FOR ALL OR PORTIONS OF THE MEETING WERE:

Deborah Bruce, National Transportation Safety Board Warren Dunham, Warren B. Dunham Associates, LC Phil Hanley, Consolidated Safety Services Eric Ickes, Arizona Department of Public Safety Maureen MacDonald, National Transportation Safety Board Rafael Marshall, National Transportation Safety Board Bruce McMillan, Trac Lease, Incorporated Julie Perrot, National Transportation Safety Board



Elizabeth Turner, Volpe National Transportation Systems Center Brad Watkins, Consolidated Safety Services

REVIEW OF AGENDA

The Committee reviewed the agenda.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The Committee approved the minutes of the September 2007 Committee meeting.

MCSAC MEETINGS

The Committee agreed to hold the March 2008 and June 2008 meetings in Washington, DC, so the Committee could fully utilize FMCSA's technical staff while working on the reauthorization tasking. The Chair asked the Committee to consider adding an additional day to the March 2008 and June 2008 meetings to work on the reauthorization tasking.

PRESENTATIONS

Captain Daniel D. Meyer of the Kansas Highway Patrol provided the Committee with an overview of the Trucks on Patrol for Safety (TOPS) program.

Mr. J. Greg Parks provided the Committee with a presentation on reauthorization.

WORKGROUP REPORTS

Workgroup 07-02 (Commercial Motor Vehicle Non-Regulatory Safety Practices) presented the Committee with a report on commercial motor vehicle non-regulatory safety practices. The Committee approved the report for submission to the FMCSA Administrator.

Workgroup 07-04 (Safety Technologies) presented the Committee with a report on safety technologies. The Committee returned the report to the workgroup for further review.

TASKING

The Committee accepted Task Statement 08-01, Federal Surface Transportation Reauthorization, and created a workgroup of the whole Committee and three sub-workgroups to address the tasking. The DFO approved the members to the workgroups as follows:

Workgroup 08-01	Workgroup 08-01A	Workgroup 08-01B	Workgroup 08-01B
John Bauer	Terry Maple, Chair	Judith Stone, Chair	David Osiecki, Chair
Michael Greene	Clyde Hart	J. Todd Spencer	John Bauer
Clyde Hart	Michael Irwin	Michael Greene	Roger Vanderpool
Michael Irwin	David Parker	Robert Petrancosta	Stephen Owings
Terry Maple	Lester Sokolowski	Robert Powers FMCSA Technical Representative:	Karen Sain FMCSA Technical Representative:
David Osiecki	FMCSA Technical Representative:	Scott Valentine	Gary Middleton
Stephen Owings	Emily Kaplan		
David Parker			
Robert Petrancosta			
Robert Powers			
Karen Sain			
Lester Sokolowski			
J. Todd Spencer			
Judith Stone			
Roger Vanderpool			



ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned by the DFO at 5:00 pm on December 7, 2007.

CERTIFICATION

The minutes were approved by the MCSAC on March 12, 2008.

We hereby certify that, to the best of our knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete.

//signed//

David R. Parker Chair Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee

//signed//

Larry W. Minor Designated Federal Official Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee