

# Minutes Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee Meeting September 13-14, 2007

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's (FMCSA) Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee (MCSAC) met on September 13-14, 2007, at the U.S. Department of Transportation, Washington, DC. In accordance with the provisions of Public Law 92-463, the meeting was open to the public. Mr. Larry Minor served as the Designated Federal Official (DFO) and called the meeting to order on September 13, 2007, at 1:00 pm.

#### **COMMITTEE MEMBERS:**

John Bauer, Director of Transportation, Kohl's Corporation

Michael Greene, General Manager, Columbia Machine Works, Incorporated

Clyde Hart, Senior Vice President of Government Affairs, American Bus Association

Michael Irwin, Director, Michigan Center for Truck Safety

Terry Maple, Assistant Superintendent, Kansas Highway Patrol

David Osiecki, Vice President for Safety, Security and Operations, American Trucking Associations

Stephen Owings, President, Road Safe America

David Parker, Senior Legal Counsel, Great West Casualty Company

Robert Petrancosta, Vice President of Safety, Con Way Freight

Robert Powers, Captain, Michigan State Police

Karen Sain, New Entrant Safety Auditor, North Carolina Highway Patrol

Lester Sokolowski, Director of Division Services, National Safety Council

J. Todd Spencer, Executive Vice President, Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association

Judith Stone, President/Executive Director, Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety

Roger Vanderpool, Director, Arizona Department of Public Safety

#### **FMCSA REPRESENTATIVES:**

Richard Clemente, Transportation Specialist, Driver and Carrier Operations Division

Michael Griffith, Director, Office of Research and Analysis

Amy Houser, General Engineer, Technology Division

David Hugel, Deputy Administrator

Eugene Johnson, Management and Program Analyst, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division

Jeffrey Loftus, Transportation Specialist, Technology Division

Karen Lynch, Management and Program Analyst, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division

Larry Minor, Associate Administrator for Policy and Program Development

William Quade, Associate Administrator for Enforcement and Program Delivery

Robert Schultz, Transportation Specialist, Driver and Carrier Operations Division

Jeff Secrist, Chief, Technology Division

Terry Shelton, Associate Administrator for Research and Information Technology

Scott Valentine, Management and Program Analyst, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division

Martin Walker, Chief, Research Division

Tom Yager, Chief, Driver and Carrier Operations Division

#### OTHERS PRESENT FOR ALL OR PORTIONS OF THE MEETING WERE:

Reshan Beal, National Transportation Safety Board

Steven Blust, Institute of International Container Lessors

Warren Dunham, Warren B. Dunham Associates, LC

Deborah Hersman, National Transportation Safety Board



# Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee

Eric Ickes, Arizona Department of Public Safety
Rafael Marshall, National Transportation Safety Board
Bruce McMillan, Trac Lease, Incorporated
Michele McMurtry, National Transportation Safety Board
Julie Nixon, Volpe National Transportation Systems Center
Julie Perrot, National Transportation Safety Board
Courtney Stevenson, Volpe National Transportation Systems Center

#### **REVIEW OF AGENDA**

The Committee reviewed the agenda.

#### APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The Committee approved the minutes of the May 2007 Committee meeting.

#### **FY 2008 COMMITTEE MEETINGS**

The Committee agreed to meet on the following dates during fiscal year 2008:

- December 6-7, 2007 (Washington, DC)
- March 11-12, 2008 (Arizona Tucson area)
- June 3-4, 2008 (Michigan Ann Arbor area)
- September 9-10, 2008 (Washington, DC)

#### **PRESENTATIONS**

William Quade provided the Committee with a briefing on the status of the Mexican motor carrier demonstration project.

Jeff Loftus provided the Committee with an overview of the Commercial Motor Vehicle Roadside Technology Showcase, which was held August 2007, in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Deborah Hersman provided the Committee with an overview of open safety recommendations issued to FMCSA and highlighted the findings of high profile motor carrier crashes investigated by the National Transportation Safety Board.

Robert Powers and Michael Irwin provided the Committee with an overview of the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance.

#### WORKGROUP REPORTS

Workgroup 07-01 (NTSB Recommendation: FMCSA's Safety Fitness Methodology) presented the work completed to date to the Committee. The workgroup agreed to present its final report at the December 2007 meeting.

Workgroup 07-02 (Commercial Motor Vehicle Non-Regulatory Best Practices) presented the Committee with recommended commercial motor vehicle non-regulatory best practices, but agreed to further refine the best practice statements and present a final report at the December 2007 meeting.

#### **TASKINGS**

The committee accepted two tasks and created two workgroups to respond. The DFO approved the members to the workgroups.

Task 07-03: Safety Technologies

Task 07-04: Employer Notification Service



# Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee

## Work Group Task 07-03

Stephen Owings, Chair John Bauer Michael Greene Robert Powers Judith Stone

## Work Group Task 07-04

Robert Petrancosta, Chair Clyde Hart Michael Irwin Terry Maple David Osiecki David Parker Karen Sain

Lester Sokolowski J. Todd Spencer Roger Vanderpool

## **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting was adjourned by the DFO at 4:00 pm on September 14, 2007.

#### **CERTIFICATION**

The minutes were approved by the MCSAC on December 6, 2007.

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete.

//signed//

.....

Larry W. Minor
Designated Federal Official
Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee