

Minutes Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee Meeting May 22-23, 2007

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's (FMCSA) Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee (MCSAC) met on May 22-23, 2007, at the Hilton Alexandria Mark Center Hotel, in Alexandria, Virginia. In accordance with the provisions of Public Law 92-463, the meeting was open to the public. Ms. Pamela Pelcovits served as the Designated Federal Official on May 22, 2007 and convened the meeting at 8:00 am. Mr. Larry Minor served as the Designated Federal Official on May 23, 2007.

Committee Members:

John Bauer, Senior Manager of Domestic Transportation, Target Corporation

Michael Greene, General Manager, Columbia Machine Works, Incorporated

Clyde Hart, Senior Vice President of Government Affairs, American Bus Association

Michael Irwin, Director, Michigan Center for Truck Safety

Terry Maple, Assistant Superintendent, Kansas Highway Patrol

David Osiecki, Vice President for Safety, Security and Operations, American Trucking Associations

Stephen Owings, President, Road Safe America

David Parker, Senior Legal Counsel, Great West Casualty Company

Robert Petrancosta, Director of Safety and Environmental Compliance, Con Way Freight

Robert Powers, Captain, Michigan State Police

Karen Sain, New Entrant Safety Auditor, North Carolina Highway Patrol

Lester Sokolowski, Manager, Motor Transportation and Highway Traffic Safety Division, National Safety Council

Todd Spencer, Executive Vice President, Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association

Judith Stone, President/Executive Director, Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety

Roger Vanderpool, Director, Arizona Department of Public Safety

Facilitator

Warren B. Dunham, Warren B. Dunham Associates, LC

FMCSA Representatives:

John H. Hill, Administrator

David Hugel, Deputy Administrator

Rose McMurray, Assistant Administrator and Chief Safety Officer

Pamela Pelcovits, Acting Associate Administrator for Policy and Program Development

William Quade, Acting Associate Administrator for Enforcement and Program Delivery

Terry Shelton, Associate Administrator for Research and Information Technology

Larry Minor, Office Director, Bus and Truck Standards and Operations

J. Greg Parks, Acting Chief, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division

Gary Woodford, CSA2010, Office of the Assistant Administrator

Mary Pat Woodman, Special Assistant to the Associate Administrator for Field Operations

Karen Lynch, Management and Program Analyst, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division

Others present for all or portions of the meeting were:

Judy Yahoodik, Volpe National Transportation Systems Center

Eric Ickes, Arizona Department of Public Safety



MOTOR CARRIER SAFETY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Dave Potts, American Trucking Associations
Francisco Gomez, American Trucking Associations
John Wislecki, American Trucking Associations
Phil Ramos, Philatron International
Steve Keppler, Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance
Stephen Campbell, Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance
Jake Jacoby, National Industrial Transportation League
Jerry Donaldson, Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety
Colin McLaurin, Manufacturers Housing Association
Pete Kotowski, National Transportation Safety Board
Sue Lawless, McMillan Metro

OPENING

John Hill, Administrator, FMCSA, welcomed the MCSAC and provided the members with his priorities and expectations for the Committee. Warren Dunham, Facilitator, provided a précis of his background as well as his career as consultant and facilitator. Karen Lynch, FMCSA, provided a brief overview of the briefing book provided to each Committee member. MCSAC members provided brief self-introductions and summaries of their expectations. Warren Dunham, Facilitator, provided the MCSAC with a hand-out on successful teamwork and discussed ground-rules for the Committee:

- Members get an equal chance to speak.
- Members should take risks in speaking. Share thoughts and ideas.
- Participate freely and fully.
- Make certain that quiet voices get heard.
- Share experiences.
- Appreciate the views of others.
- Be easy on the person be hard on the problem.
- All ideas will be considered valid and be recognized.
- If a side conversation is warranted, make a request to the facilitator.
- Make use of the 100 mile rule and do not leave the room unless absolutely necessary/use specified breaks.
- The facilitator will stop excessive digression and/or war stories.
- Have some fun while you work.

PRESENTATIONS

Rose McMurray, Assistant Administrator and Chief Safety Officer, FMCSA, provided an overview of FMCSA.

J. Greg Parks, Acting Chief, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division, FMCSA, provided a briefing on the Federal Advisory Committee Act and the roles and responsibilities of Committee members.

Pamela Pelcovits, Acting Associate Administrator for Policy and Program Development, FMCSA, provided a program overview of the Office of Policy and Program Development.

David Hugel, Deputy Administrator, FMCSA, provided a briefing on major issues and challenges facing FMCSA.

Terry Shelton, Associate Administrator for Research and Information Technology, provided an overview on datadriven strategies to improve motor carrier safety.

Mary Pat Woodman, Special Assistant, Field Operations, represented the Associate Administrator for Field Operations and outlined the functions of the office.



William Quade, Acting Associate Administrator for Enforcement and Program Delivery, provided a briefing on key enforcement and compliance issues.

Gary Woodford, CSA 2010 Program Manager, Office of the Assistant Administrator and Chief Safety Officer, FMCSA, provided an overview of the Comprehensive Safety Analysis 2010 initiative.

NEXT EXECUTIVE MEETING

The Committee agreed to meet on September 13-14, 2007, in Washington, DC.

TASKINGS

The Committee accepted two tasks and created two work groups to respond to the taskings.

1. Task #07-01: National Transportation Safety Board Recommendation (NTSB): FMCSA's Safety Fitness Methodology.

Stephen Owings

2. Task #07-02: Commercial Motor Vehicle Non-regulatory Best Practices.

The Designated Federal Official approved three non-MCSAC members as members of the Work Group for Task #07-01. The taskings are attached for the record.

Work Group Work Group Task #07-01 Task #07-2 Clyde Hart. Chair Robert Petrancosta, Chair Roger Vanderpool John Bauer David Osiecki Lester Sokolowski Stephen Owings Karen Sain Judith Stone **Todd Spencer** Robert Powers **David Parker** Michael Greene Michael Irwin Non-MCSAC Members (Approved by DFO on 5/23/07): Terry Maple Gerry Donaldson, (AHAS) David Osiecki

ADJOURNMENT

David Potts, (ATA)

Norm Littler, (ABA)

The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m. on May 23, 2007.

CERTIFICATION

The minutes were approved by the Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee on September 13, 2007.

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete.

//signed//

Larry W. Minor

Designated Federal Official

Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee