

Minutes Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee December 10, 2008

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's (FMCSA) Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee (MCSAC) met on December 10, 2008, at the U.S. Department of Transportation in Washington, DC. In accordance with the provisions of Public Law 92-463, the meeting was open to the public. Mr. Larry Minor served as the FMCSA Designated Federal Official (DFO) and called the meeting to order at 1:00 pm. The following individuals attended the meeting:

COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

John Bauer, Director of International Transportation, Kohl's Corporation

Clyde Hart, Senior Vice President of Government Affairs, American Bus Association

Michael Irwin, Director, Michigan Center for Truck Safety

Terry Maple, Superintendent, Kansas Highway Patrol

David Osiecki, Vice President for Safety, Security and Operations, American Trucking Associations

Stephen Owings, President, Road Safe America

David Parker, Senior Legal Counsel, Great West Casualty Company

Robert Petrancosta, Vice President of Safety, Con Way Freight

Robert Powers, Captain, Michigan State Police

Lester Sokolowski, Director of Division Services, National Safety Council

J. Todd Spencer, Executive Vice President, Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association

Judith Stone, President/Executive Director, Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety

Roger Vanderpool, Director, Arizona Department of Public Safety

FMCSA REPRESENTATIVES:

Loretta Bitner, Acting Chief, Commercial Passenger Carrier Safety Division

Karen Lynch, Management and Program Analyst, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division

Jeffrey Miller, Chief, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division

Gary Middleton, Management and Program Analyst, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division

Larry Minor, Associate Administrator for Policy and Program Development

John Van Steenburg, Director, Office of Enforcement and Compliance

Gary Woodford, CSA 2010 Program Manager, Office of the Assistant Administrator and Chief Safety Officer

OTHERS PRESENT FOR ALL OR PORTIONS OF THE MEETING WERE:

Charity Coleman, Chenega Advanced Solutions and Engineering

Barbara Czech, National Transportation Safety Board

Warren Dunham, Warren B. Dunham Associates, LC

Phil Hanley, Consolidated Safety Services, Inc.

Eric Ickes, Arizona Department of Public Safety

Henry Jassney, Obama-Biden Transition Team

Andrew Kaufmann, ICF International

Pete Kotowski, National Transportation Safety Board

Megan Mabee, Booz Allen Hamilton

Julie Perrot, National Transportation Safety Board



MOTOR CARRIER SAFETY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Danielle Roeber, National Transportation Safety Board Georgia Schuh, ICF International Joan Tilghman, ICF International Brad Watkins, Consolidated Safety Services

REVIEW OF AGENDA

The Committee reviewed the agenda.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The Committee unanimously approved the minutes of the September 9, 2008, Committee meeting and the December 1, 2008, Committee conference call.

MCSAC MEETINGS

The Committee approved the MCSAC meeting dates for fiscal years 2009 and 2010 as follows:

Fiscal Year 2009

- December 9-10, 2008
- March 16-18, 2009
- May 18-20, 2009
- August 31–September 2, 2009

Fiscal Year 2010

- December 7-9, 2009
- March 8-10, 2010
- June 7-9, 2010
- August 30-September 1, 2010

PRESENTATIONS

Mr. Gary Woodford provided the Committee with a presentation on the Comprehensive Safety Analysis 2010 Initiative.

Mr. John Van Steenburg provided the Committee with a presentation bus safety.

Mr. Jeffrey Miller provided the Committee with a presentation on the status of FMCSA's recommendations.

WORKGROUP REPORT

Workgroup 09-01 (Developing a National Agenda for Motor Carrier Safety): The workgroup determined that the newly proposed economic stimulus package would present a unique opportunity to improve the safety of the Nation's transportation infrastructure and that the new Administration should make safety a core value in infrastructure development and revitalization. As part of Task 09-01, the workgroup prepared a supplemental report titled, "Highway Infrastructure Stimulus Package: Safety Must Be the Core Value," for submission to the DOT Presidential Transition Team. The Committee approved the supplemental report, as amended, and agreed to submit a comprehensive report on Task 09-01 at the March 2008 meeting, and scheduled a conference call meeting on January 6, 2008, to work on the report.



Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

The public comment period was scheduled for 3:00 pm; however, no member of the public provided comments.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned by the DFO at 5:00 pm on December 10, 2008.

CERTIFICATION

The minutes were approved by the MCSAC on March 18, 2009.

We hereby certify that, to the best of our knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete.

//signed//
David R. Parker
Chair
Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee
//signed//
Larry W. Minor
Designated Federal Official

Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee