

Minutes Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee Meeting September 9, 2008

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's (FMCSA) Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee (MCSAC) met on September 9, 2008, at the L'Enfant Plaza Hotel in Washington, DC. In accordance with the provisions of Public Law 92-463, the meeting was open to the public. Mr. Larry Minor served as the FMCSA Designated Federal Official (DFO) and called the meeting to order at 12:00 pm. The following individuals attended the meeting:

COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

John Bauer, Director of International Transportation, Kohl's Corporation Clyde Hart, Senior Vice President of Government Affairs, American Bus Association Michael Irwin, Director, Michigan Center for Truck Safety Terry Maple, Superintendent, Kansas Highway Patrol David Osiecki, Vice President for Safety, Security and Operations, American Trucking Associations Stephen Owings, President, Road Safe America David Parker, Senior Legal Counsel, Great West Casualty Company Robert Petrancosta, Vice President of Safety, Con Way Freight Robert Powers, Captain, Michigan State Police Lester Sokolowski, Director of Division Services, National Safety Council J. Todd Spencer, Executive Vice President, Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association Judith Stone, President/Executive Director, Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety Roger Vanderpool, Director, Arizona Department of Public Safety

FMCSA REPRESENTATIVES:

Jesse Fonner, Program Specialist, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division Karen Lynch, Management and Program Analyst, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division Gary Middleton, Management and Program Analyst, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division Jeffrey Miller, Chief, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division Larry Minor, Associate Administrator for Policy and Program Development

OTHERS PRESENT FOR ALL OR PORTIONS OF THE MEETING WERE:

Steven Blust, Institute of International Container Lessors Charity Coleman, Chenega Advanced Solutions and Engineering Warren Dunham, Warren B. Dunham Associates, LC Eric Ickes, Arizona Department of Public Safety Patrice Kelly, U.S. Department of Transportation Georgia Schul, ICF International Ryan Thompson, ICF International Joan Tilghman, ICF International Elizabeth Turner, Volpe National Transportation Systems Center Gary Yoshida, ICF International



REVIEW OF AGENDA

The Committee reviewed the agenda.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The Committee made a correction to item 3 under workgroup report 08-01 to state that the "Committee took no action." The Committee approved the minutes, as amended, of the June 2008 Committee meeting.

WORKGROUP REPORTS

Workgroup 08-01 (Surface Transportation Reauthorization): The workgroup presented a supplemental report to the Committee on reauthorization proposals that were tabled at the June 2008 Committee meeting. The Committee deliberated and approved the supplemental report and recommendations.

Workgroup 08-02 (Regulatory Effectiveness Reviews): The workgroup presented a report to the Committee on motor carrier regulations that the Agency should consider for regulatory effectiveness reviews. The Committee deliberated and approved the report and recommendations.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

The public comment period was scheduled for 3:00 pm; however, no member of the public signed up to provide comments.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned by the DFO at 1:00 pm on September 9, 2008.

CERTIFICATION

The minutes were approved by the MCSAC on December 10, 2008.

We hereby certify that, to the best of our knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete.

//signed//

David R. Parker Chair Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee

//signed//

Larry W. Minor Designated Federal Official Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee