

## Minutes Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee Meeting June 8 – 10, 2010

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's (FMCSA) Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee (MCSAC) met June 8 – 10, 2010, in Alexandria, VA. In accordance with the provisions of Public Law 92-463, the meeting was open to the public.

Mr. Larry Minor, the FMCSA Designated Federal Official (DFO), called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. on Tuesday, June 8, 2010. The following individuals attended the meeting:

## **COMMITTEE MEMBERS:**

John Bauer, Director of Global Transportation, Starbucks Coffee Company LaMont Byrd, Director, Health and Safety Department, International Brotherhood of Teamsters Bill Dofflemyer, Captain, Maryland State Police (Wednesday and Thursday only) Scott Hernandez, Lieutenant Colonel, Colorado State Patrol Thomas Jacques, Master Patrol Officer, Pittsburgh Police John Lannen, Executive Director, Truck Safety Coalition Terry Maple, Superintendent, Kansas Highway Patrol Jane Mathis, Board of Directors, Parents Against Tired Truckers Kevin O'Brien, Director, Office of Safety Programs, New York State Department of Motor Vehicles David Osiecki, Senior Vice President for Policy and Regulatory Affairs, American Trucking Associations (Tuesday and Wednesday only) Stephen Owings, President, Road Safe America Peter Pantuso, President and CEO, American Bus Association (*Tuesday only*) David Parker, Senior Legal Counsel, Great West Casualty Company Robert Petrancosta, Vice President of Safety, Con Way Freight Robert "RC" Powell, Master Trooper, Virginia State Police Robert Powers, Captain, Michigan State Police Danny Schnautz, Operations Manager, Clark Freight Lines, Inc. Lester Sokolowski, Senior Vice President of Sales and Marketing, Strategic Safety Solutions, LLC J. Todd Spencer, Executive Vice President, Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association Judith Stone, President/Executive Director, Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety FMCSA REPRESENTATIVES PRESENT FOR ALL OR PORTIONS OF THE MEETING:

Anne Ferro, Administrator, FMCSA William Bronrott, Deputy Administrator, FMCSA Larry Minor, Associate Administrator for Policy and Program Development Shannon Watson, MCSAC Liaison, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division Ralph Craft, Crash Data Analysis Division Tretha Chromey, Policy, Plans and Regulation Division Terri Hallquist, Research Division Bryan Price, Enforcement and Compliance Division



## OTHERS PRESENT FOR ALL OR PORTIONS OF THE MEETING:

Bryon Cook, DriveCam Sarah DuBose, OSHA Robert Elliott, National Propane Gas Association Eric Feldstein, DriveCam Chris Guidry, OBD Edge, LLC. Mirna Gustave, MacroSys Dan Hanowski, Virginia Tech Transportation Institute Henry Jasny, Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety Alex Jendzejec, Booz Allen Hamilton Aaron Leftwich, OSHA D. Lurie, DriveCam Chris Monk, FHWA Bill Patrolia, Iteris, Inc. Alan Potter, Booz Allen Hamilton Don Powers, OBD Edge, LLC Holly Schoch, OOIDA Frank Tai, Katasi Georgia Thu, ICF International Scott Tibbitts, Katasi Joan Tilghman, ICF International Elizabeth Turner, Volpe National Transportation Systems Center Liza Wallis, ICF International

**INTRODUCTION OF NEW MEMBERS:** David Parker introduced the new MCSAC members: LaMont Byrd, Bill Dofflemyer, Tom Jacques, John Lannen, Jane Mathis, Kevin O'Brien, Peter Pantuso, and Danny Schnautz.

**REVIEW OF RULES:** David Parker reviewed the process for the next three days including how recommendations are reached, votes are taken, and public comment periods.

TASKING: The Committee unanimously accepted Task 10-02: "Combating Distracted Driving".

## **PRESENTATIONS:**

Rich Hanowski, Director of Virginia Tech's Transportation Institute's Center for Truck and Bus Safety presented "The Naturalistic Study of Distracted Driving".

Bryon Cook, Vice President of Operations and Analytics, and Eliot Feldstein, Vice President of Business Development, DriveCam, Inc., presented "DriveCam Analytics and Data Findings Related to In-Cab Driver Distraction".

Ralph Craft, FMCSA's Crash Data Analysis Division presented "Distraction/Inattention in Large Truck and Passenger Vehicle Studies".



Tretha Chromey, FMCSA's Policy, Plans and Regulation Division presented "Strategic Planning Discussion".

Bryan Price, FMCSA's Compliance and Enforcement Division presented "CSA 2010 Update".

**TASK 10-02 DISCUSSIONS:** The committee discussed Task 10-02 possible recommendations throughout the three day meeting.

**ADMINISTRATOR'S REMARKS:** FMCSA Administrator Anne Ferro spoke to the Committee on Tuesday, June 8, welcoming new members and updating the Committee regarding ongoing FMCSA rules, regulations, and policies. Administrator Ferro and the members participated in a question and answer period.

**DEPUTY ADMINISTRATOR REMARKS:** Deputy Administrator William Bronrott addressed the Committee on Thursday, June 10, thanking the members for their service.

**PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD:** One public comment was made on Thursday, June 10: Don Powers of OBD Edge, LLC in Baton Rouge, LA, spoke before the Committee thanking them for the time and commitment they have given to this very important issue of safety on our nation's highways. Mr. Powers' organization has a patent pending on a device that will restrict the ability of the driver to use electronic devices while vehicles are moving and found the discussions held by the members very informative. Mr. Powers thanked the committee for allowing the public to participate.

ADJOURNMENT: The meeting was adjourned at 3:30 pm on Thursday, June 10, 2010.

We hereby certify that, to the best of our knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete.

\_//signed//\_\_

David R. Parker Chair Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee //signed//\_\_\_\_\_

Larry W. Minor Designated Federal Official Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee